RSS Feed

Five Star Foodies!

Posted on

Thanks so much to Valerie and Five Star Foodies for sending me some of their nifty vegan and vegetarian friendly, 100% natural, ready-to-eat products for me to review!  They provide quick, easy meals for convenience in order for foodies like myself to have a great option when they’re on the go or just too lazy to cook!  It even tastes homemade!  I also love that their company is kind to the environment, promoting recycling, and making sure that their company leaves the smallest “environmental footprint” possible.  I got to try the Gourmet Grillers, Artichoke Burgers, Tofu Egg Salad, Save A Chicken Salad, and the Vegetarian Sloppy Joes!

I cannot tell you the last time I was able to enjoy a classic Sloppy Joe!  As a kid I loved barbeque sandwiches!  I had sworn them off due to the high fat content in the ground beef and the brown sugary sauce that came with the mix.  I really liked this stuff!  With ingredients like whole wheat flour, tomato paste, green peppers, and onions, how much more wholesome can Sloppy Joes get?!  They tasted just like the real thing, too, thanks to the savory blend of Southwestern spices !  I never would’ve known the difference.  Not only did it taste great, but I could feel confident that I was fueling my body with 12g protein and 190 calories for each 3 1/2oz. serving!

Another diet “no-no” was brought back to life in my diet thanks to Five Star Foodies!  Tofu Egg Salad!  Living in a small town with country home-cookin’ on the menu, egg salad was an option at almost every family get-together I’ve been to.  It IS mighty delicious, but usually fat laden with mayonaise and egg yolks making it exceptionally bad for cholesterol levels and heart health, not to mention the waist-line.  I never imagined that I could find something SO close to tasting homemade that is also MUCH more nutritious! 

150 calories in a 3 1/2 oz. serving of this creamy, sweet egg salad will give you 8g of protein and just 9g fat (3g saturated).  Not only that, it’s also very high in Calcium (10% DV) and Iron (10% DV), plus, 0 Cholesterol!

These robust Gourmet Grillers were another savory treat from the Five Star Foodie line. I really, really enjoyed them and consider them one of the MOST flavorful (if not the MOST flavorful) veggie burgers I’ve ever tasted.The taste was bold and smokey with a touch of sweet BBQ taste? Each burger was only 100 calories and contained 2.5g fat (.5g saturated)! I also liked that this product could be frozen to keep its shelf life for longer. They could even be prepared in the microwave for convenience! Mine was totally plump and juicy.  Like a steak in burger form 😉 

I tried a few combos that I really fell in love with!  I tried them on WW bagel thin and WW english muffins (both of which were awesome!).  Some of my favorite toppings included reduced sugar ketchup, pickles, grilled pineapple, salsa, Sonoma Jack’s Pepperjack Cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion, BBQ sauce, and roasted red peppers!

 I’m not sure I cared for these gluten-free, cholesterol free Artichoke Burgers too much.  The taste wasn’t bad, but for me I’m not sure they were worth the whopping 240 calories, 16g of fat (3g saturated),  and just 7g protein.  Granted, there were 3g of fiber, but for stats like these, I would’ve much rather eaten a spoonful (and then some!) of peanut butter 🙂 The burgers were pretty huge in size and I’ll give them props for using quality, nutritious ingredients, but I wasn’t a huge fan.  Comprised of artichoke hearts, cashew nuts, and brown rice as the first three ingredients, it’s becoming clearer as to why the fat content is so high.  Like I said, not bad tastewise, but not my cup of tea.

Unfortunately, this Save a Chicken Salad had the same kind of taste as the Artichoke Burgers?  Not surprisingly, I checked the ingredients list, and whaddya know?! 

Same ingredients! 

Thank you, Five Star Foodies for helping me realize that I do not care for the combination of artichoke hearts & cashews! The stats for this stuff aren’t bad, and as you can see, wholesome ingredients are a plus.  For 1/2 package, you’ll get  180 calories, 5g protein, 9g fat (3g saturated), and 10% each of your DV Vitamin C & Iron. Cholesterol Free, too! 

You can buy Five Star Foodie products online! Or check them out in your local grocery store!  Thanks again, Valerie!

Leave a Reply

