RSS Feed

The Sun’ll Come Out Tomorrow..

Posted on

It was a b-e-a-utiful day yesterday, with a high of 80º!  Today is supposed to be just as warm but with a little less sunshine.  I heard a last minute forecast that we’re supposed to have scattered thunderstorms.   Oh well!  Beats snow, right?!  🙂

The verse of the day today comes from 1 John:

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.”

– 1 John 3:16

When I got home yesterday, I made myself a protein cake a la Janetha.  This was my FIRST successful cake!  The others flopped miserably.  Guess you just have to have the magic touch!

 

Carrot protein cake with cream cheese frosting?

Isn’t it stunning?  I used Dixie Diners’ Carrot Cake Muffin Mix (2 Tbsp.), Optimum Nutrition Cake Batter Protein (3/4 scoop), 1 egg white, and some cinnamon & splenda.  Then for the icing, I melted a Sonoma Jack’s cheese wedge with some splenda and spread it ontop.

It made perfect pre-workout fuel.  I changed out of my work clothing and hit the gym.  I wanted something low impact, so I opted for an hour on the elliptical [600 calories].  Then I went to the weight room to do a little ab & back work.  I stopped at the grocery store on the way home so I’d have veggies to pack for my lunch! 

I was hungry for dinner when I got home and decided on some sugar snap peas with a protein shake & a sweet tater.  While I was waiting for my steamfresh veggies to be finished in the microwave, I snacked on a few sourdough pretzels dipped in this Vermont Co. Store pure raw honey. 

heavenly!

OMG.  Try this combo.  Honey dipped pretzel.  Sweet & salty perfection.

Before I knew it, my meal came together:

Mashed sweet tater with SF syrup & cinnamon.

Steamed sugar snap peas.

”]

For the protein shake, I used Optimum Nutrition Oats & Whey Chocolate protein powder and it turned out fantastically thick & rich.  It really blended well with the strawberry flavor!  I may or may not have had a spoonful of Sugar Free Fat Free Vanilla Ice Cream for dessert.  You really can’t beat the stats though!  It’s Walmart brand.  It has 70 calories per 1/2 C. along with 5g protein & 4g fiber!  🙂  What more can you ask for when it comes to ice cream?  The taste is awesome too.   It reminds me of the Pillsbury canned vanilla frosting!

After this feast, I packed my lunch.

Plain Greek Yogurt w/ SF Syrup, Fiber One for topping, and a big tub of veggies!

In the veggie tub we’ve got a few all-stars including yellow pepper, cucumbers, tomatoes, & carrots.

 

Nom, nom.

The greek yogurt + cereal combo keeps me full for eeeeeever since it’s got so much protein and fiber. 

The flavors remind me so much of french toast!

So there you have it.  Happy Tuesday, ya’ll! There’s an awesome giveaway over at Teri’s blog for some Bob’s Red Mill products!  It’s only for the next FIVE days, so make sure you get to check it out!

Talk to you soon 🙂

2 responses »

  1. GLORIOUS CAKE! wow! i need to get some of that protein powder in my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

