RSS Feed

Sunshine is my anti-drug.

Posted on

I’m not sure about you guys, but this weather is rockin’ my socks off.  Seriously, no matter how crappy the day in the office is, when I step outside into those rays, all is right with the world.

These little words of encouragement from the Bible are pretty uplifting too 😉

Verse of the Day:

“For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to Him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through His life!”- Romans 5:10

Last night was the same routine that has been going down for the past few days.  I got changed & went for something gourmet to fuel my workout at the gym:  

 

Granola Gourmet Berry Bar!

Plus, a Green Monster comprised of these ingredients:

Diet V8 Splash, frozen mixed fruit, & spinach

I was completely out of fresh baby spinach, and I found a box of frozen Giant brand chopped spinach in our freezer!  It works GREAT in green monsters and I highly recommend  it!  Not to mention, it’s WAY cheaper than fresh & will have a much longer shelf life

Green Monsta lovin'

I was soooo energized after this drink.  I think the mix of complex carbs from the fruit & granola bar were working already!  I did an hour (8ish miles) on the elliptical at resistance level 7 and then 9 for the last 20 minutes.  After the cardio, I did some hanging oblique exercises & lower back machine work.  I also did the hip abductor and hip adductor machines each at 100lbs. for 3 sets of 25 reps.

I stopped at the grocery store on my way home to pick up some fresh veggies & Clear Splash water.  I had loaded up on ridiculous amounts of produce.  What can I say, I love my veggies!  I grabbed two bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, baby carrots, broccoli & cauliflower, snap peas, and shredded lettuce.  PLUS two bags of California blend (carrots, broccoli & cauliflower) frozen veggies.  I snagged two ripe looking Gala apples as well, one of which I chomped on during the drive home.  I was jamming out to this awesome album by Sidewalk Prophets, which I’m completely in love with.

 BUY THIS NOW! It just might change your life 😉

Anyway, I got home and made some dinner.  Again, I was craving my beta carotene, and again, it was glorious. 

Sweet Tater.

Oompa loompas better watch out.

+PLUS loads of greens & proteins [I wanted to rhyme :D]:

Cukes, tomato, orange pepper, shredded lettuce, turk, raspberry balsamic vinegar.

Don’t you just love my Zak Designs bowl?  It’s MASSIVE and I love it to make hugh jasses, even though it’s technically a mixing bowl 🙂

Note to self * BUY MORE OF THIS STUFF:

Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar

Leonardo Roberto's Gourmet Blends!

Uhhmazzzing on salads.  Turkey salads, even more so.  I was sad to use it all up!  But that just means you guys will soon be getting to read about it in the review!  The Pomegranate is magnificent as well.

Anywho.  Here’s another shot of this lip-smakin’ salad:

Nom, nom.

After this, I decided to make my lunch so I could let my stomach settle a tad to make room for dessert.

Sorry for the lameness in the sameness of each lunch.  I’m trying to eat up these protein packed egg whites that we have left over from Easter!  Hope you’re not getting too sick of seeing them because look how many more we’ve got in the fridge!  No one else wanted to take them home [CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!?], but you can bet your bottom dollar, I did!! Kind worked out since they were all at our house for the hunt anyway.

Don't worry, only 4 more cartons to go! 🙂 HA.

Sooooo here’s lunch:

Egg whites, veggies, & flat out with cheese.

I’m not gonna lie, it’s not getting old for me!  I look forward to lunchtime, knowing that’s what is waiting for me in my little pink lunch tote 😀  Ittttt’s the little things.

The yellow sloosh in the egg white tub is another honey mustard dressing home concoction of these two ingredients:

French's & Log Cabin SF.

Whatever would I do without my trusty Log Cabin?!

I figured I also better prep my breakie since the kitchen was already a mess from the veggie chopping, dressing mixing, and flat out packing. 

Cake batter Optimum Nutrition protein powder + Fiber One.

This protein powder is seriously yummy.  It really does taste like a rich, creamy, buttery cake batter mix.  In the morning, I just add some water, 4 ice cubes, and blend!  Then I dump my Fiber One in the blender cup and eat it like a typical bowl of cereal.  Making sure I get some of the shake by itself to savor the yumminess.  It only racks up to about 200 calories, but it’s packed with 25g protein, 30g fiber, and 2g fat!  Keeps me full til lunch!

After packing lunch & breakfast, I knew exactly what I wanted for dessert.  My breakfast was making me crave it!  Soooo I whipped up a Cake Batter Protein Shake!

Not much for the camera, but sooo delish.

After this, I showered and relaxed watching NCIS with my Momma & Pops for the rest of the night.  I was in bed by about 10PM, and it ’twas a great day.

It’s already Thursday, guys!  The weekend is only a day away!  Have a goodie! Oh, and don’t you dare win these Larabars, because I am keeping my fingers crossed that I’m the lucky recipient! 😉 PLUS Vitatops are having a giveaway on Katie’s blog!

7 responses »

  1. WOW that is a lot of eggs! i have one carton like that. YAY one more day til the weekend 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yay! Another Christ-loving food-loving blogger. 🙂
    The bible really uplifts me, too…I need to start reading them every morning…I usually get “too busy” to read them before I start my day.
    Haha! You do have a ton of eggs….my fridge is never short of eggs, either, Easter or not!

    Reply
    • I know! I love finding new Christian food blogs, too! Yours was a nice surprise! 😀 I agree with you! I am HORRIBLE at remembering to read my Bible, which is why it’s nice that I get the Verse of the Day in my inbox everyday. I also have Daily Devotionals that I absolutely LOVE. I bought the book from the WOMEN OF FAITH conference we go to every year in Philly!

      Reply
  3. eggalicious!!

    fiber one, sweet taters, flat outs! i like your style!

    Reply
  4. random comment of the day: the color of the green monster is the *best* green ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

