RSS Feed

Optimum Nutrition

Posted on

Thanks to Tim from Optimum Nutrition, I got the chance to try some awesome new-to-me powerhouse protein products.  This company has seriously got it goin’ on.  I thought I’d never find a protein powder that I loved as much as Jay Robb & BSN Dessert protein, but these tasty blends have officially proved me wrong.  I got to try three different protein products that the company provided:  100% Gold Standard Whey, 100% Natural Oats & Whey, and Lift Bars

Let me start out by saying that I HATE chalky, chemical tasting protein powders with no taste.   You end up having to create your own mix of ingredients just to get the stuff to taste edible.  I only vest interest in the protein powders that I can mix with simply ice & water, but the combo still makes my tastebuds smile.  I was SO glad to be able to do that with each and every variety that I was sent from Optimum Nutrition.  It was SO easy to work protein into my diet with these delicious shakes.

Lift Bars

The Lift Bars were definitely a winner in my household.  Luckily, Tim sent an entire box of these babes, because my sisters would take them as snacks to school!  Even after the Easter bunny came and they had TONS of goodies to choose from, they opted for MY Cookies and Cream Lift Bars.  This seriously speaks VOLUMES for the taste of these bars, being that my sisters are in NO way eating them for their health benefits.  It’s a total treat!  Basically, it’s a creamy cookies n’ cream filling coated with a sweet cocoa exterior.  It even looks like a candy bar!  I loved that it ULTRA-THIN and easy to eat.  Not huge and bulky due to the 20g of hefty premium protein, like many other bars I’ve tried.  It gave me sustained, balanced energy for a long time!  Check out these great stats, too!

20g protein, 4g fat (3 saturated), 3g fiber, 25% DV Vitamin A,  50% DV Vitamin C, & 50% DV Vitamin E!  Not to mention all the other fantastic vitamins & minerals blended in!  The only thing that made me a little weary, was the fact that it does contain 22g sugar…then again, comparing to a candy bar, that’s nothin’.  They make convenient on-the-go meals or after-workout muscle repair and come in chocolate peanut butter, cookies and cream, and quadruple chocolate!  I reccommend freezing them!  As they melt in your mouth, they taste just like the ice cream flavor!

100% Gold Standard Whey

This product was probably my favorite.  It’s got 90% of the purest, most expensive isolate protein on the market.  Somehow, they manage to pack 24g of muscle-building protein into just 120 calories, 1g fat (.5g saturated), and 10% of your DV Calcium.  Not to mention, many protein powders out there have quite a bit of sugar.  NOT this one!  Only 1g sugar per serving!  I am in loveee

breakfast shake materials.

It’s got fast-acting HYDROWHEY whey peptides, more than 5 grams of BCAAs, and over 4 grams of glutamine & precursors !  Honestly, no other proteins I’ve tried could measure up to this stuff.  Before trying it, I was skeptical that something with such great stats wouldn’t be so hot in the taste and flavor department, but again, I was proven wrong.  Tim sent me Chocolate Mint & Cake Batter!  HOLY YUM.  You don’t even need a creamy liquid added for it to taste delectable.  You can keep the shakes low-cal by simply adding a splash of water & some ice cubes.  I don’t, however recommend making protein pudding with this stuff.  It’s fairly concentrated taste-wise.  The final result of the shake is a frothy dessert-like beverage that tastes perfectly blended.  After blending, you can freeze the mix for protein ice cream, too!  For the ice cream, I would probably use almond milk as opposed to water, though.  I adored both flavors!  Chocolate Mint was just like the girl scout cooke flavor and the Cake Batter was buttery and sweet.  I used my Capella flavor drops to really spice things up and create banana split, cinnamon bun, and caramel cake shakes in addition. 

protein cake with laughing cow cheese frosting.

Optimum Nutrition powders are very versatile, too!  I used them to ake low-carb protein cakes as little desserts for myself!  Incredible!  It can be bought in sooo many different flavors, too! I can’t wait to try some more!  They’ve got Banana Cream, Caramel Toffee Fudge, Chocolate Malt, Cookies and Cream, Delicious Strawberry, Double Rich Chocolate, Extreme Milk Chocolate, French Vanilla Cream, Mocha Cappuccino, Rocky Road, Strawberry Banana, Tropical Punch, and Vanilla Ice Cream!

100% Oats & Whey

Last but not least, we’ve got the 100% Natural Oats & Whey powder.  For all you oats lovers out there, this protein powder is for you!  Made with no artificial sweeteners or flavors, no synthetic colors, and whole grain oats, this powder supplies you with 4g of dietary fiber per serving along with the 24g of premium whey protein.  This stuff is a tad thicker than the Gold Standard, but just as smooth & rich.  The oats simply add slow-burning complex carbohydrates and hunger-filling dietary fiber to the protein mix.  I actually made myself some protein hot chocolate with this stuff and it was fabulous!  After a workout, this stuff is great for replenishing your carb & protein counts.

100% Natural Oats & Whey is available in Milk Chocolate & Vanilla Bean

I am definitely a fan of Optimum Nutrition and you can count on seeing their products in my posts on a regular basis.  They’ve also got other options for more serious athletes such as Platinum Hydro Whey, Nitro Core 24, 100% Casein Protein, 100% Egg Protein, and 100% Soy Proteins.  Make sure you check out their website where you can learn more about the benefits of their high quality proteins and buy them online!

Thanks again Tim!  You’ve got a rockin’ company on your hands!

 

Leave a Reply

