RSS Feed

My Weekend With Zorro & Giveaway Winner!

Posted on

First, let me just start by saying, I got to spend most of my weekend staying with my Aunt, spending time with this handsome little devil.

Zorro!

 But I’ll start at the beginning and keep you in suspense until the end of the post when I’ll anounce the Oxygenfit winner! 😉

Friday night, I went straight to the gym after work.  I packed a granola bar to fuel me through it.  Running on the elliptical for about 8 miles (650 calories) at levels 7 &9.  After the gym, I headed home for a shower and prep before the high school spring musical that my cousin had a role in. 

Once Upon A Mattress: The REAL Story of the Princess and the Pea.

It started at 7:30PM, so I had to hustle a bit, causing me to forget about my life as a food blogger and eat a bowl of cereal & protein milk that was not only boring, but also went unpictured, along with my sweet veggie soup, apple, & light cheese.

The play was fantastic.  The kids really did a nice job.  Very cute!  I have a video I’m hoping to upload tonight!

Saturday morning, I woke up around 7AM and went to the gym after I ate 1/2 granola bar.  I did the typical hour on the elliptical,  then came home starving.  I made a cake batter Optimum Nutrition protein shake & got a shower.  The camera was charging up for my trip to Lancaster, so I don’t have any photos because I’m a slacker.   Right before I left, I had a green monster with frozen spinach, 1/2 C. frozen berries, & 8oz. diet V8.

Good thing I did, because I didn’t end up eating anything until about 2 PM after I got to my aunts, was greeted by these cuties:

Coleman.

+

Jack.

 settled in, and went to destroy the local Giant’s salad bar.

Baby spinach, cucumber, peas, onion, beets, chickpeas, imitation crab, cantaloupe, watermelon, honeydew, cauliflower, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, & mushrooms.

I was famished after the cardio that morning and it was catching up to me!

My Uncle Ed’s parents were also coming to visit them, and we all went to dinner together after relaxing & catching up  for most of the day, around 5:30PM. 

I highly recommend if you’re ever in the Lancaster area that you try this restaurant.  At Scooter’s, our waiter was sooo accomodating and patient with us.  He even managed to get me EXACTLY what I was craving for dinner!  Not to mention, the place had quote decor all over the walls to keep us entertained.

 

The table got some appetizers to share which included these three things.  I wasn’t really into them, and didn’t partake, but they didn’t look bad!

Philly Cheesesteak Egg Rolls
Mozzarella Sticks

For my entree, I ordered 1 lb. of steamed shrimp from the appetizer menu

I could only eat about 1/2 of this plate and saved the rest for the next day at lunch!

 and asked our waiter to hook me up with a salad, not on the menu.  One with just a boatload of veggies on it served with balsamic vinegar on the side

Baby spinach, cauliflower, carrots, onion, steamed green beans, mushrooms, broccoli, cucumber, & tomato!

 Twas EPIC.  He did a PERFECT job.  Sorry for the blurriness.  The quality of produce in Lancaster county is absolutely awesome.  Seriously, they’ve got tons of options for groceries, too.  Lots of organic/wholesome markets!  Oregon Dairy, Stauffer’s, etc.

Cherry, cream cheese, and chocolate chip cookies.

For dessert for the gang, we stopped at Giant and picked up some pastries to eat with coffee when we got back to the house.  I’m not a fan of them, but Uncle Ed’s parents seemed to like them!

Coffee set up!

Instead of pastries, for my dessert I ate a little cup of SF, ff vanilla ice cream with my coffee.  Probaby 1.5 servings for 105 calories.

dessert!

I also had a Deep Chocolate Vitatop since I was lacking in the whole grains department!

Sunday morning, I went to church at The Worship Center with an old friend.  An ex-boyfriend, actually.  Ha.  Oh how things have changed…Before I went, I ate this yummy bowl of Fiber One + Muscle Milk light from the 100 calorie packs I got from the Easter Bunny.

Simplicity.

Anyway, I really, really enjoyed the service.  The church was very contemporary and friendly.  The praise portion was AWESOME.  I loved the songs we sang, and the energy was consuming.  They had a guest speaker, RT Kendall, who preached on forgiveness and used the story of Joseph & his brothers as his example in the Bible.  It helped me realized that there are some people in life that I guess I haven’t TRULY forgiven yet.  Even though I said, “I forgive you”, my heart wasn’t completely submissive to the idea.  There were several steps in the process that I missed.

Check out the podcast!

After church, we went to the grocery store, I ate this baby apple before we left.

gala.

We made lunch upon our arrival home.  I had my leftover shrimp & a big ole’ salad.  I had to take advantage of all the awesome Lancaster county veggies while I still could!

YUM-O!

I topped this with 1 calorie per spray honey mustard & ate a Deep Chocolate Vitatop for lunch dessert 🙂

After lunch, we took another adventure to Jenn’s Pottery Den!  Cole had been itching to go there, and I was pretty excited too! I love these paint your own pottery places.  After much consideration of what to paint, thinking about all the different options that I would be able to use on the blog, I decided on a giant bowl.  Figuring I’d use it for many concoctions in the future.

My stuff.

I painted the base layer lilac and on the outside used a black crackle paint so the purple underneath would show through.  On the inside, I did deep purple & black polka dots with a rim around the top of sponged black & deep purple.  I can’t wait to see what it’ll look like!  We should have  them back in about a week. 

Jen’s also had the option of throwing your own pottery on the wheel and creating glass or gem mosaics.  I can’t wait to go back!  I’m DEFINITELY going to try my luck at the pottery wheel.  The last time I got the opportunity to do that was in college!  I LOVED art class.

Afterward, it was about 5:00PM and we headed to the store because I was telling my Aunt about how awesome Skinny Water is, and she really wanted to try some flavors!  Full review here 😉

When we got home, my Aunt cooked up some chicken for on top of salad for dinner:

Isn't she adorable!? I love her so much!

while Cole & I conquered the world.

Two peas in a pod.

Guess we worked up an appetite!

Chicken, sauteed shroomies & onions, cukes, carrots, baby spinach, yellow pepper, & tomatoes.

glorrrrrious.

Dessert? yes please!

Cantaloupe, honeydew, & watermelon.

This redefines fruit cup 😀

Plus a chocolate Vitatop agaaaaaain.  Is it possible for chocolate to NOT taste good? I think not.

After a fun filled weekend, it was time to head back to good old Halifax.

I got home, unpacked, packed my lunch:

L to R: honey mustard, greek yogurt + sf syrup & cinnamon, veggies, + Fiber Select.

Veggies included:

Baby carrots, baby zucchini!!!, cauliflower, cucumber, & yellow pepper.

ANNNNNNNND now.  For the moment you’ve all been waiting for. The winner of the Oxygenfit Toning system issssssssss………………….

ELISE!  Congratulations!  Please email me your mailing address so I can get you your Oxygenfit prize!!!

Have a great Monday, everyone!  Hope your weekends were as fun-filled as mine was!

3 responses »

  1. okay, your food looks delish, but those boys definitely steal the show on this post 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have that same lunchbox! LOL. Aren’t they great??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

