RSS Feed

Pet Peeves.

Posted on

Pet Peeve #1: When people are pushy about religious topics & manage to shove their opinions down your throat.

With that being said, I give you the verse of the day.  These verses are posted everyday to give an encouraging word and start your day off on a positive note.  It’s just an aspect of my life that I find valuable and want to share with you, for no other reason but that.

VOD:

“I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end He will stand upon the earth.”

– Job 19:25

Breakfast was an old classic filled with fiber & protein.

Greek yogurt + SF Log Cabin with Fiber Select for crunchy topping.

Lately on the way to work, I’ve been hitting crazy amounts of traffic.  I’m not sure why because I haven’t had issues since winter when the weather conditions weren’t so great.  There have been no accidents, rain, or anything else that would hinder the flow of traffic, but somehow people FORGET how to merge onto the highway. 

Pet Peeve #2:  Drivers who are NOT passing but are content to drive in the left lane, staying even with the people in the right lane & allowing NO one to pass. I lie.  Pet peeve #2 is simply drivers with no common sense in general.

Desk lunch.

 Can you tell I ❤ Fiber Select?  It’s like honey, cinnamon, crunch, and oatmeal flavor all rolled into one filling cereal.

I packed a typical veggie tub of cucumber fries, cherry tomatoes, orange pepper, cauliflower, & 1 single celery stick (from the middle of the bunch, the whitest of the white!) with some homemade honey mustard for dippage.  Then I blended some chocolate mint protein milk (Optimum Nutrition Chocolate Mint + water/ice) for eating with my cereal come lunch time. 

Pet Peeve #3: Being called a “vegetarian” at work because I eat healthy.  Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely nothing against vegetarians or vegans or any type of eater for that matter, but it’s annoying when the foodie-uneducated just make assumptions and even after CORRECTING them, continue to call you the “vegetarian-weird-health-food-eater“.  Hellooooo, do I get on YOUR case for eating McDonald’s everyday for lunch? No?!  Then leave my veggies, protein shake, & cereal alone, please! Thanks. 

Orange snacky.

These two partners in crime were consumed after work before hitting the gym.

Cinnamony & microwaved.

At the gym, I tried really hard to stay focused on interval work while I was on the elliptical to get the most out of my workout .  I stayed on that sucker for about an hour and 3 minutes doing about 9 miles & burning 710 calories.  No, I don’t aim for a calorie burning goal, more like a distance goal.   

Pet Peeve #4: The girls at the gym who do ABSOLUTELY no work.   They simply walk around sipping their water bottles, talking to all the guys or yapping on their cell phones.  DRIVES ME NUTS!  Who can afford to pay for a gym membership and not even TRULY use it?! Anyone else feel my pain on this one?

After cardio, I hit the machines for a quick circuit:

  • 4 sets of 15 sit ups on the incline bench
    (totals: 60 right elbow to left knee, 60 left elbow to right knee, & 60 middle)
  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors (110 lbs.)
  • 3 sets of 25 hip abductors (110 lbs)

By the time I got home, I was craving veggies as usual.

I sliced up some cauliflower, sprayed a non-stick baking sheet with Pam, re-sprayed & sprinkled with garlic salt & pepper.  I popped the tray in the oven for about 25 min. at 375º.

  

roasting action.

 

While it was roasting, I ate the last little bit of my noodles (less than a serving!) 

 

Fiber gourmet rotini with Light Ragu.

and threw together a kitchen-sink salad as Iowa Girl would say, with all the veggies I could find in my fridge.

 

topped with homemade honeymustard.

 I found this gorgeous bowl in the cupboard and decided it was DEFINITELY blog worthy. 

 

gorgeous!

Later on, I found out that the bowl was my Mom’s great grandma’s and that if I ever touched it again, I could consider myself crucified. Note to self:  don’t blog bowl search within the FF household.

Before I knew it, a “ding” went off in my head to check the cauliflower.  Perfect timing!

holy deliciousness.

I washed it down with a shamrock shake chocolate mint protein smoothie. Optimum Nutrition strikes again!

Chocolate Mint.

Using the xanthan gum that THIS doll sent me, this shake was so thick and creamy.  Janetha B.  YOU ARE THE GREATEST.  Thanks so much.  I will be ordering this. 

Then, I packed my lunch & my girl Mandy came over to watch past OTH episodes and catch up since it had been awhile since she saw it last.  We watched the episode when Hailey’s mom passes away & it ended in tears for us. 

What to do when you’re feeling sad?  HAVE DESSERT, of course 😉

I made Mandy a thin mint milk shake with vanilla ice cream, girl scout cookies, & some peppermint syrup + milk.  For myself?  Why, I TOO indulged in a girl scout cookie flavored dessert 😉

Boo yahh.

Deep chocolate Vitatop topped with a mixture of Oikos greek yogurt + Walden Farms calorie free chocolate syrup + SF peppermint syrup.  Duhh.  Heavenly.

Sooo guysssssss that was my night….now, tell me…

What are some of YOUR pet peeves?

One response »

  1. I like your new header! Or if its not too new, this is the first time I’ve noticed it and I like it.

    I totally relate the gym pet peeve. I workout in a gym that is part of a residential hoity toity community and most of the people when I go are the rich, snobby stay at home moms that just walk around in their cute outfits talking to each other and not doing anything. Drives me nuts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

