RSS Feed

Rest Days.

Posted on

Everyone knows that sometimes you just need a rest day.  I had been doing about 8-9 miles everyday for the past 10 days and my body was starting to give me a hard time.  My hips, especially were tight and achy.  I felt as if I had arthritis!  Anyway, I proclaimed Thursday my rest day.  NO GYM for this girl. 

The day started out like any other day.  Filling & crunchy.

Fiber Select + cake batter protein milk.

 I don’t know what it is about this breakfast that satisfies my soul.  Maybe because I used to ALWAYS eat cereal as a kid.  It’s like for the first meal of the day, I’m back in a time when I had no worries or responsibilities…Cereal does it for me!  Granted, then it was more like Lucky Charms or Fruity Pebbles, but you get the picture 😉  What’s your favorite childhood cereal?

 Speaking of childhood, I brought my little pink lunch tote to work containing all of the following goodies:

Packed lunch.

A veggie tub filled with a rainbow of color

Orange pepper, cherry tomatoes, celery, cucumbers, & carrots.

Swimming in some apple cider vinegar mixed with Splenda.

Two dogs.

Hebrew National 97% Fat Free Hot dogs @ 40 calories apiece and 6g protein!  That’s a pretty good calorie to protein ratio if you ask me!

Flat Out Light with Sonoma Jacks Light Pepperjack cheese wedgie.

My snackTAXI is CLEAN!  Finally getting to use it.  No more ziplock baggies for me!! I’m working on getting these in MY SHOP.

Over my actual lunch break, I managed to hit the grocery store & the farmer’s market!  I prefer to buy farmer’s market produce because it’s usually much cheaper than at the grocery store. 

Here’s a shot of what I rounded up!

Fiber Select, Gardenburger veggie patties, 2 gala apples, 2 orange peppers, Walden Farms calorie free chocolate syrup, cherry tomatoes, portabello mushroom caps, Thomas light whole wheat high fiber english muffins, & sugar snap peas.
L-R: head of cauliflower, cantaloupe, strawberries, broccoli, cucumber, alfalfa sprouts, imitation crab meat, & light tofu.

When I got home from work, I put away all the groceries and made myself a snack.

1 gala dipped in 1 Oikos plain + 1/4 C. sf syrup + cinnamon.

Art in a bowl?

tasty.

Next on the agenda was to go support my Mom’s softball team in a home game at my alumni.  It was a beautiful day for a game!  When I arrived, they were in the 4th inning, losing 1-2.

blue skies!

Can anyone spot Momma Freckled Foodie????!

Yep! There she is!

They ended up making a killer comeback and winning the game 10-2.  I think I was the good luck charm because they were losing until I got there 😉  Momma Freckled Foodie agreed.

After the game, I headed home and made some dinnah.

Doesn't this look like an egg mc muffin?

I guess looks are deceiving!  This sandwich is actually a Gardenburger veggie patty with Sonoma Jacks & reduced sugar Heinz ketchup on a whole wheat light english muffin!

Along side my delish burger, I had some peas [& thank you].

vibrant!

I used to have serious pea issues.  Like any other kid, peas & I were enemies at a younger age.  What was an enemy food of yours growing up?

With my dinner, I drank the last of my iced birthday cake coffee.  Time to make another pot!

Okay, so I know I said today was a rest day, but I was antsy.  No one was home and I was bored, so I decided a little LIGHT biking was in order.  No harm in that, right?  Biking is a lot less hip rotation, so it didn’t bother me one bit.  I went downstairs and ended up doing this

bike stats.

while I watched the most recent One Tree Hill episode & facebooked.  So glad Brooke & Julian are back together.

I got a shower, packed my lunch for today, and had dessert.

dark chocolate banana baby.

After consumed, I hit the hay a happy camper. 

Happy Friday, loves!  To start it off on a sweet note for you, let’s announce the Golden Moon Tea winner!

Congrats, Barbara!  Please email me with your mailing address & contact info so I can send you your teas!!  If you DIDN’T win this giveaway, you can still try these awesome flavors, all of which are available in MY SHOP!

 

2 responses »

  1. First I had to laugh at the picture with the red circle and arrow. Cute! 🙂

    And yes on the rest day. As much as my brain tells me to go-go-go sometimes my body screams, “Gimmie a day, will ya?” I’ve found that the day off actually helps.

    And I don’t think I’ve ever seen an apple look quite so decadent before! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’d say you totally deserve a rest day after all of those miles! You just gotta listen to your body some days! Your farmer’s market finds look AMAZING!! Ours don’t open until tomorrow, so I am very anxious to be able to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

