RSS Feed

Foodie Fail.

Posted on

I’m going to apologize ahead of time.  My camera is officially dead.  I dropped it yesterday and am in search of a new one.  Anyone have a suggestion of good “point & shoot” cameras that they use for food photography?  I’d like one with quick shutter speed & at least 10mp and 10x optical zoom.  I do have a Cannon Rebel, which I LOVEE, but can’t take it with me places the way I can a more compact digital.  I’m so afraid something will happen to it!  I’m hoping to have a new one by tonight. 

Anyway, enough blabber.  Here’s the Verse of the Day:

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”

– James 5:16

Prayer IS pretty amazing.

I’ve decided to copyright my breakfast, using this term.  Since it’s going to be the “usual”, I figured I better come up with a witty term for it.  Every heard of “SOS” (Sh*t on Shingles)?  Well, let me introduce you to my “SOC” (Smoothie over Cereal)!

Strawberry shortcake - like!

1 scoop Optimum Nutrition cake batter whey protein + 4 ice cubes + water +5 frozen strawberries all poured over 1 C. Fiber Select 

You may notice my new serveware!  It is quite exciting.  Cali bowls have forever changed me.  Aside from the fact that they come in some adorable colors:  Charger Blue, Fire Truck Red, Lime Green, Retro Aqua Blue, Sunflower Yellow, and Surf Wax White, they’ve also got an incredibly ergonomic, award winning design

Here’s how it works:

See how cool the shape is?

You can get the Cali Bowl in my shop!  It’s one of my newest FAVES

Anyway, on to the next meal.  Betcha can’t guess one of my lunch components!

rainbow veggies!

Cucumber fries, cauliflower, yellow pepper, carrots, & cherry tomatoes.

For protein & carbs, I packed this yummy mix.

Fat free cottage cheese + SF blackberry jam topped with Fiber Select

Allll stirred up. 

All together at my desk.

Homemade honey mustard on the side for dippage 😉

This was when I dropped my camera.  RIP little pink Casio.

After work, I had my gala apple & greek yogurt mixed with cinnamon & sf syrup around 4:30PM when I got to my Mom’s softball game.  We were all meeting there and afterward, we left to pick up my seester from college.  She was joining us for dinner with Dad for his birthday.  He loves the appetizers from Applebee’s, so that was our destination. 

The family ordered a bunch of appetizers including the Sampler (Mozzarella Sticks, Spinach & Artichoke Dip, Cheese Quesadilla Grande, and Boneless Buffalo Wings)

None of this even looked good to me!

[source]

 Chili Cheese Nachos (Crisp corn tortilla chips covered with spicy chili, cheese, sour cream, lettuce, pico de gallo and jalapeños), and some soups.  I didn’t have any appetizers, mainly because none of it was appealing to me.  When it came time to deliver our orders, I asked the waiter if he could throw together sometihng not on the menu for me 😉  You’d be surprised how accommodating and sweet they are when you kindly request specifics.  I asked him if he could get the chef to throw together a salad of all the fresh veggies in the back and top it off with some deli turkey (since I saw that they had a turkey club sandwich).  He happily obliged, and I was super impressed with what he came out with!

  Myranda, who got an iPhone for her birthday in April, kindly allowed me to use it for some food photography. 

Dinner.

Broccoli, cucumber, greens, onion, red pepper, and turkey topped with some vinegar mixed with Splenda for my own dressing.

There was a little drama to start the night, but we ended up laughing together and having a good time once we were settled and relaxed.  I think Daddy-o had a nice time and a full belly after his birthday dinner.  He got the Cowboy Burger and said he was absolutely STUFFED afterward! 

I packed my lunch when we got home and made a green monster before bed.

It was another God-given, good day 🙂  PS-TOMORROW IS FRIDAY!

XO,

8 responses »

  1. Why do our electronics have to be so darn sensitive. We drop things all the time – they should be prepared to deal with that. 🙂 God speed on getting a new one as I really enjoy reading your posts and the pictures are a big part of that.

    Those bowls do look pretty cool, I have to admit. But I also have to say that whoever wrote that ad copy could probably sell ice to Eskimos! Is there anything those bowls can’t do? 🙂

    Reply
    • I know!! One little drop and they’re done for! As expensive as they are, you’d think they would be a little more durable, too! 😉 Thanks! I’m headed out on my lunch break in search of a new one! I feel naked without it! Haha.

      They really are cool bowls! I don’t EVER write up paid posts, so when I say I really like something it’s my total and honest opinion! I try not to make it sound like an advertisement, because I just really enjoy them and get excited to share! Hehe.

      Reply
  2. sorry to hear about the camera — good luck getting another one quickly!

    AMEN to tomorrow being a Friday! can’t wait 😉

    Reply
    • thanks, doll! i already ordered one online! haha until then I will be at the mercy of my dad’s old school 10 pound olympus (barely) digital camera! lol

      hope you have an awesome weekend, shannon! 🙂

      Reply
  3. So sorry to hear about your camera! What a bummer! I have a Canon point and shoot and really like it!! Have a great Friday tomorrow! I’m so happy that Friday is almost here!

    Reply
    • That’s alright…just gives me an excuse to get a new one 🙂 haha. Anyway, thank you for the camera advice!! I actually ordered one last night, so it should be here by the 13th! Can’t wait! Hehe. Happy Friday to you too, doll!

      xo.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Redeemed! « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  5. Pingback: Happy Belated! « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

