RSS Feed

Daddyless 10 Days.

Posted on
Verse of the Day:

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.” 

– James 3:17-18 

The airport.

So I woke up an hour early so I could see off Daddy to Nicaragua this morning.  He is going down with three other men + two guides on a missions trip with our church to help build roofs for the needy.  I have been dreading this since I heard about it, but admire his desire to serve the Lord.  He is SUCH a good man [understatement of the year]. 

all packed up.

 He will be able to text and email us, but phone time will be limited.  I got several texts assuring me that he was alright and that they made it safely, which I was grateful for.  I’m digging his Indiana Jones hat, how about you?! 

Love birds.

Momma FF was playing tough guy, and didn’t show much emotion until it was time to say goodbye, but I could tell she was nervous.  We’re a tight-knit family, so when one of us is missing, especially as vital as a person as my Daddy, we don’t feel complete.  I just keep telling myself he’ll be back in 10 days!  Please keep the guys in your prayers!! 

Breakfast was packed since I was going straight to work from the see-off.  I brought a protein shake (cake batter from Optimum Nutrition) & some Fiber Select. 

SOC packed.

Got to work around 8:20AM and lost track of time.  Before I knew it, it was time for lunch! 

  
At 12:15 PM, I dug into my packed treasures.

 

 

Mixin' it up!

I finally decided to switch up my lunch.  It’s still got a nice balance of whole grains, low-fat dairy, protein, and veggies, but I figured you’d hate me if I let you see another identical lunch.
  
We’ve got 1/2 C. egg whites mixed with 1 Tbsp. reduced sugar ketchup, minced onion, and sliced mushrooms to be wrapped up in a Light Italian Flat Out spread with Sonoma Jack’s.

 

Not real photogenic?

Along side some freshly steamed broccoli sprinkled with some GARLIC GOLD nuggets (available in my shop!!) that the company sent me to review.  Totally in love with these nuggets.  You’ll see why in my review post 😉 

gorgeous greens.

With some necessary Reduced Sugar ketchup on the side for dippage.After work, I was feeling sluggish but I knew I wanted to get in a GREAT workout seeing as how I missed going to the gym for my Monday routine due to the good-bye Fiesta.

I carbed up using this orange friend

Sweet tater mash.

Complete with sugar free vanilla syrup & cinnamon.

I changed clothes and left for the gym.

Here are my moves:

  • 65 minutes on the elliptical trianer @ levels 7-10 (about 9 miles)
  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors (115lbs.)
  • 3 sets of 25 hip abductors (85 lbs.)
  • 1 Superman
  • 3 sets of 30 in-and-outs
  • 3 sets of 15 sit ups on the incline bench each side (total: 135)

I was feeling really tired, so I went home and whipped up some dinner, hoping that refueling would help my energy level.

My body wanted protein, but my heart wanted chocolate.  The solution?  Milk Chocolate Navy Bean Brownie Batter.

Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa Powder is uhmazing.

 This time, I used NAVY beans instead of garbanzos & 1 tbsp. of cocoa powder instead of two.  Same stats as far as protein & fiber, but 30 less calories per serving.

Green beans.

I roasted some green beans after coating them in some Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce + SF Log Cabin (aka, I washed them, threw them in a bag with these two ingredients, and shook the crap out of the bag :)) Roasted at 380° for about 25 minutes.

perfect!

 Can you spot the snap pea that snuck into the green bean bag??

While those were roasting, I cooked up some Fiber Gourmet pasta.

Holy Fiber.

 Just 1 serving has 72% of your DV!  And seriously, who eats just 1 serving of this stuff?  It’s delish!

Clocking in.

See what I mean?!

I had about 1.5 servings mixed with red marinara sauce & some Splenda.  It tasted like Momma FF’s sweet spaghetti!

al dente noodles = carby heaven.

For dessert, I had a few bites of  SF, FF Vanilla ice cream.  Straight from the container because I’m classy like that 😉  I also sprinkled in some cocoa powder!

vanilla bean.

Twas a nice night, ended on a good note watching the Biggest Loser with da Momma.  She misses Poppa FF already…so do I!

Does anyone have any hummus recipes without using tahini that they’d mind sharing?

Happy Hump Day!

Check out this awesome Element Bars Giveaway from Hillary!

XO.

5 responses »

  1. Jenna (Hello, I Love You)

    So great what your dad is doing! You must be one proud daughter! 🙂

    Reply
  2. i never use tahini. ever. and i always make hummus! just leave it out~ i promise you wont miss it!

    some favorite recipes:

    susan’s sunflower seed hummus: http://thegreatbalancingact.com/eats/Sunflower%20Hummus/

    sun dried tomato basil hummus: 1 can garbz+3-4 TB sun dried tomato pesto from target

    Reply
  3. HEY BEAUTIFUL!!
    wow soo awesome about your daddy!! i LOVE THAT VERSE! you are awesome!! i dont know how to make a GOOD hummus yet-let me know if u find anything girl!

    Reply
  4. Wow! Your dad is amazing to go to Nicaragua to help others. I bet it will feel like a long 10 days, but hopefully it will go quickly and he will be safely home soon with lots of stories to share!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

