RSS Feed

All Twisted Up.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,”

– James 1:19 

Wow.  It’s so funny how God knows exactly what we need to hear and always shows us what He wants us to work on.  This verse really hits home for me because I know I can be irritable sometimes and quick to anger.  I’m not an angry person by any means, but I let little things annoy me, causing me to lack showing God’s love to others.  I get especially impatient behind the wheel!

That being said, I hit the road yesterday morning with a perfectly satisfied belly. 

SOC = Smoothie Over Cereal.

Fiber Select (the generic brand of Fiber One at our local store) has been unstocked the past THREE times I was at the store.  What the heck, Giant Foods?!  I guess God is giving me opportunities to work on being slow to anger 😉  Haha.  It just stinks paying about $1 more per box for the “Fiber One” brand label when the nutritional stats for the cheaper stuff are even better! 

Before I knew it, lunch time rolled around and I had this savory packed dish waiting for me in the fridge at work to be eaten at my desk.

Scrum-diddly-umptuous.

Aren’t you proud?!  It’s not the typical raw veggies with homemade honey mustard & a Light Flat Out, as per my usual packed lunch!  These salmon burgers from SeaPak are inspirational, I tell you 😉 

upclose&personal.

I just cooked one up on the stove, steamed a bag of broccoli slaw in the microwave, laid a base of some fresh spinach, and topped the whole dish with a mix of sugar free syrup + soy sauce…asian inspired?  SO delish.  For my whole grains, I packed 1/2 of a Fabulous Flats whole grain sandwich flat and some SF Blackberry jam + fiber for spreading.

About the time I arrived home from work, I was ready for my carby protein snack and missed my beloved greek yogurt in my diet this weekend.

gala + oikos & sf cinnamony syrup.

This snack fueled me through a good 9 miles on the elliptical at levels 7-9 burning 713 calories (or so the machine told me ;)) over a total of 65 minutes.

After cardio, I did some lifting & floorwork:

  • 3 sets of 25 hip abductors @ 115 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors @ 90 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 35 “in-and-outs”
  • 3 sets of 1 min. Supermans
  • 2 sets of 15 & 2 sets of 12 sit ups on the incline bench to each side (total: 162)
  • 3 sets of 15 lat pull downs @ 45 lbs.

When I got home, I got to work on the party foods for girls’ night including THESE braided twists!

pre-baking.

They’re basically pastries that come with frosting packets (one cream cheese & one chocolate).  The insides of the pastries are filled with either boston cream (for the chocolate sauce) or strawberry (for the cream cheese sauce).  They looked pretty neat, but the nutritional stats were pretty ugly, so I stayed away.  My Mom actually bought them from a school fundraiser, so they weren’t homemade.  They came in frozen plastic wrappers!  Not my style 😉 

 For dinner, I whipped together a quick salad.  I used a Quorn Chick’n Cutlet that the company sent me, cooked up on the stove top in salsa & taco seasoning.

chicken taco salad.

Next, I heated up some ff refried beans in the microwave (not quite a whole serving), and mixed it with a touch of greek yogurt.  I used the rest of the yogurt cup for dressing, which I mixed with a little more salsa and some Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning packet. 

close up 😉

I piled the goodies onto a bed of Mache Mix from Epic Roots along with some diced cucumber & orange pepper for veggie power.  I topped it all off with an extra dollop of salsa & chowed down.  There will DEF. be a repeat of this salad.  Mmmm.

I prepped the rest of the food for this Girls’ Night spread:

fruit, veggies, pastries, chips, crackers, & cheese.

The braided twists came out pretty well!  

ooeyy, gooey.

So far on The Bachelorette, I’ve got TWO picks:

Roberto & Jesse.

They both seemed totally genuine, but weren’t trying “too hard“.  Roberto was smooth with the salsa dancing, and I’m a total sucker for a man with dimples 😉  Jesse was just adorable and had that prince charming thing about him.  I was SOOOO glad to see JASON go.  He was a jerk the entire night!

1 Sugar Free/Calorie Free Baja Bob's Margarita mix + ice + SF Raspberry syrup + Lime Clear Splash Water.

I made a mocktail to sip on while watching the show, and munched on a ton of celery & fruit. 

The white parts are the BEST!

MOSTLY watermelon, strawberries, & blubes. THREE CHEERS FOR SUMMER FRUIT!

Exciting news!  My Sweet Pea Shiitake Risotto recipe is being featured on Trading UP Downtown, where Tina (the NuVAL expert) kindly wrote about the smart tradeoffs for a smarter, nutritionally sound version! Thanks, Tina!

It’s two question Tuesday!!

  1. If you watch the Bachelorette, who are your favorites/least faves?
  2. What’s your favorite summertime fruit?

XO.

 

5 responses »

  1. HEY i used to collect OSF glasses when i was a kid. i love that place! that braided bread looks awesome, how did you make it?!

    Reply
  2. LOVE james-one of my fav books!
    DANG girl thats a lot of cardio.. i get bored after 30 min! so i stop.. haha!
    love your eats!

    fav summer fruit-CHERRIES

    Reply
  3. hahah. i wonder how i missed that part about them not being home made?

    Reply
  4. Hey! Thanks for the comment on my blog the other day 🙂
    Ooh I have no idea what Bachellorette is, but favourite summer fruit is blueberries or raspberries 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

