RSS Feed

Layers.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.”

– Acts 20:24 

with a shake of cinnamon.

You know it’s going to be a good day when your morning starts off with a bowl of noodles 🙂  Plus, I love these colors together [orange + teal]

breakfast pasta.

 It may be a stretch for some of you, but it hit the spot this morning!  For the sauce, I combined: 1/2 C. FF cottage cheese + 1 1/2 Tbsp. SF apricot jam in my blender with a splash of SF Vanilla Bean Torani syrup.  Then, I cooked up some Fiber Gourmet rotini noodles and layered them in the bowl, stirring in the cottage cheese sauce.  I diced up some cantaloupe to throw in, and VOILA!  It was kinda like baked unbaked peach cantaloupe keugel?!

Lunch time rolled around and I was ready to devour my packed sustenance.

Easy lunch boxes rock.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 1 Quorn Turk’y Burger (sliced) + steamed veggies (snap peas, peppers, broccoli, & carrots) layered over fresh spinach + 1/2 sandwich flat with Sonoma Jacks & SF blackberry jam for mini sandwich making!

Around 3Pm my belly was growling, so I opted for some black coffee with Splenda sipped at my desk.

looking thrilled to be at work.

After work, I scrounged up a last gala apple & some oikos for pre-gym.

typical.

The workout was the same 65 minute cardio routine on the elliptical at levels 7&9 (720 calories) followed by these moves:

  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors @ 90 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 25 hip abductors @ 115 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 15 situps on the incline bench (each side; total: 135)
  • 3 sets of 35 “in-and-outs”
  • 3 sets of 10 pushups
  • 3 sets of 30 mountain climbers
  • 3 sets of 20 lat pulldowns @ 45 lbs.

Post gym, I hit up the grocery store to restock some goodies (aka water & gala apples).

As soon as I got home I started on dinner, where layers were key 😉

First, I cooked up 1 Applegate Farms Apple Chicken Sausage & some frozen veggies (broccoli, red pepper, onions, & mushrooms) on the stove top in 1/4C. Light Ragu.

layer 1: fresh spinach; layer 2: Fiber Gourmet rotini; layer 3: veggies & sausage; layer 4: 1/4 C. Light Ragu!

This dish was loaded with Fiber Gourmet pasta, fresh and cooked veggies, and a tasty source of protein!  The flavors and textures were soooo yummy together!  You’ve gotta try it 😉

ick.

Weird quirk about me?  I don’t like the casing/skin on the sausages, so I peeled it off where I could see it!  haha. 

I cleaned up, packed lunch, washed some dishes, and showered up!  It was soon time for the next Skype date with Pops & I had exciting news for him!

While we were waiting for him to get online, I whipped up some dessert, which was breakfast inspired!

dark chocolate raspberry mousse.

I just blended 1C. FF cottage cheese + 1 1/2 Tbsp. SF Blackberry Jam + Calorie Free Walden Farms Chocolate syrup + ice and sprinkled with a dash of Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa powder.

Skyping!

 Since I got to share the good news with the family first, I’ll fill you in!  On my way to work yesterday morning, my favorite radio station, The Word FM was working on a project with Compassion International to get needy children from 3rd world countries sponsored by donations in hopes of giving them opportunities that they may have never gotten to have.

I just felt like God was convicting me so much that I needed to check out the website and see what I could do to help.  For $38 a month, or $1 a day, you can sponsor your very own child.  You’ll be able to write to and be in contact with this child throughout the entire process and can really develop a close relationship.  I clicked on the page to find out more information, and a handsome little boy from NICARAGUA popped up on my screen.

Christopher.

God was clearly speaking to me, so I can officially say that I am his sponsor! 🙂  I can’t wait to start writing to him and was thrilled to share the news with my Dad.  The info said that he lived very close to where my Dad is working down there, so Pops is going to ask around to see if anyone knows him!! How cool is that?!  If you think you could possibly help one of these children out, please check out the website for more info or even just to get a glimpse into the lives of the kids.  I thought of it this way:  If I can spare $1 a day for a Diet Mt. Dew out of the vending machine at work, I can CLEARLY afford to set aside that money for a child, instead 🙂

It’s almost Friday, guys!!  Start your weekend right by winning some Oikos from Healthy & Sane! Have a goodie!!

XO,

2 responses »

  1. sounds to me like i need to get my hands on some of these fiber gourmet noodles!

    Reply
  2. That Fiber Gourmet pasta looks yummy. Make me some? lol I think its great that your getting to talk to your dad. I know if I were you I would be missing my dad. I also, think it’s awesome that you’re sponsoring a child. You rock! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

