RSS Feed

Becoming A Protein Powder Guru.

Posted on

I recently received a lot of mail asking about all the mentioned protein powders that I use.  I know that it can be confusing as to when to use which type of protein and what all of the differences are between them, so I decided to dedicate a post to just that 🙂  Thankfully, when I had questions, my buddy at Optimum Nutrition, Tim, could help me out!  He knows his stuff and this company has ALWAYS served me well in the past.  Their products are great!

Personally, I am a huge fan of protein powders.  They make it possible to enjoy low calorie dessert-like foods like protein ice cream, protein cookie dough, and protein brownie batter, without the extra fat and cholesterol.  Not to mention, they’re great for muscle repair and maintenance.  At times, I was unsure about which types to use when.  There are so many different options!  Tim explained to me that the differences between proteins are mainly the rate at which they are digested.

Casein, Whey, Soy, Egg, and Brown Rice protein powders are all out there.

Whey protein is the most commonly used protein powder and is fast acting, releasing amino acids almost immediately.  Derived from milk, Whey provides amino acids to the body for 2-3 hours.  Use is typical for a quick protein fix to renew muscles immediately following a workout.  My favorite?  Cake Batter from Optimum Nutrition!

Casein Protein is a much slower digesting protein source that continues to release amino acids for up to 7 hours!  It’s nickname, “PM Protein” is commonly used because it’s recommended to use before bed to prevent the breakdown of our muscle tissue while we sleep!  Casein proteins are also pH sensitive and gel in the acidic environment of the stomach.   It’s much thicker than whey protein, which I loved!  I have yet to try a flavor that I’m absolutely smitten with, but Cookies N’ Cream from Optimum Nutrition isn’t bad! 

 

Soy Protein is a great option for vegetarians and women in particular.  Optimum Nutrition’s is specifically formulated to meet the FDA’s heart-healthy claim for soy in just one serving.  It is lactose and cholestrol free along with being non-GMO.  You can use it in protein pancakes and baked goods to up the protein!  I have yet to try Optimum Nutrition’s, so I can’t rave about any of the flavors.

Egg Protein is another one on the market that is great for baking, but is also wonderful simply mixed with a spoon & water or milk.  One serving of Optimum Nutrition’s Egg Protein is equivalent to seven whole egg whites and provides a complete profile of Essential Amino Acids, Branched Chain Amino Acids and Glutamic Acid.  Great for those of your watching your carbs!

Here’s a nutritional comparison for all those in question!

Looks to me, like Casein is superior, with egg protein coming in a close second!  I can’t wait to try it in other flavors so I have a favorite to report back to you all! 

Any more questions?  Don’t be afraid to ask!  If I don’t know the answer, I’ll bet Tim does!  He’s the best 🙂

5 responses »

  1. xthefinalcountdownx

    I love ON Oats & Whey Chocolate 🙂 I got a sample from one of my friends and I just ordered some online.

    Reply
  2. actorsdiet

    thanks for the tutorial! i love the convenience of protein powders but i rarely make smoothies anymore – protein cakes, pancakes, and oatmeal instead!

    Reply
  3. Katherine: What About Summer?

    wow you certainly are the yoda of protein

    Reply
  4. Great review of Casein !Casein protein is a great protein to satisfy hunger. We use it as a meal replacement, it has to be in certain relationship to increase efficiency.

    Nutreas Casein Protein
    http://www.nutreas.de/shop/de/casein-protein.html

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Link Lovin’ « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

