RSS Feed

All I Need Is You.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights. For the director of music. On my stringed instruments.”

– Habakkuk 3:19

You know, sometimes weakness is a good thing.  It forces us to rely on God.  The only thing we can ALWAYS depend on.  As often as I write about family events, trips, and gatherings, there are just as many times that I feel completely alone.  When my Dad was in Nicaragua, I felt closer to him than I do now that he’s home.  It’s like a non-existent relationship and I absolutely hate it.  Yes, I see him everyday, but interactions are very limited.  I feel like it’s harder than pulling teeth just getting him to say “hello” to me when I come home.  Sometimes he doesn’t say anything at all.  I don’t think he realizes how much it hurts me that we have that kind of relationship.  I know he’s busy and I understand he doesn’t do it on purpose.  There’s just so much more that I want out of a relationship with my Dad than THAT.  There’s no question in my mind that he loves me, it’s just hard to get past the fact that he’s okay with not being involved in what’s going on in my life.  I miss the days that I felt like he was being intrusive, because at least I knew he cared then.  I know it’s not all about me.  This post isn’t meant to sound selfish.  Just something that bothers me regularly, and I thought that maybe some of you could relate?  It made me realize that I’m striving to have a relationship with my Dad the way God strives to have a relationship with us.  Instead of wasting time searching out EARTHLY relationships, I should be putting time and effort into my relationship with GOD, my heavenly Father.  The song that really hit me hard on the radio this morning was “You” by Britt Nicole.  It says 

I’ve been looking for love in another’s eyes
Searching for water, but I come up dry
Thought that I could find
Happiness in the world’s applause
Peace of mind in a worthy cause
Take me back, take me back
Go to trust in the simple truth
Got to trust all I really need is You
I’m coming back to You
The only thing I know worth living for
Will You take this heart and make it more like You
I give it back to You
It’s obvious no one could love me more
I’m Yours

 Only HE can fill the void that I feel in my heart.  Anyway…this IS a food & fitness blog, so let’s get down to business.

Breakfast was classic.

icy cereal.

The very last of my Optimum Nutrition Cookies N’ Cream Casein Protein shakes poured over Fiber One cereal served in a Cali Bowl.  So sad to see it go.  Can’t wait to try the other flavors & review them for you!

washed down with the rest of the shake.

Work was really slow.  Everyone has been out for a conference and I am left to hold down the fort. 

Lunch was highly looked forward to and devoured around 12PM.

Easy Lunchboxes & Snack Taxis.

 1/2 C. FF cottage cheese + veggies (snap peas, carrots, orange pepper, & cherry tomatoes) for dipping in homemade honey mustard + 1 Light Flat Out + 1 low fat mozarella cheese stick.

The afternoon at work was just as tedious and I couldn’t wait to unwind at the gym afterward.  Come 4PM I skidaddled home to get out of my dress clothes & into some mesh shorts & a t-shirt.  After changing I had one snack on the brain.

Chocolate & bananas.

Chocolate banana softserve & a deep chocolate vitatop.

YUM.  Light & refreshing…not to mention, energizing!  I hit the gym with enthusiasm and didn’t seem to skip a beat with the usual routine.  Here’s how it went down:

  • 45 minutes on the elliptical at levels 7-9 intervalling [if that’s a word?]
  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors @ 115lbs.
  • 3 sets of 15 sit ups on the incline bench to each side (totaling: 135)
  • 20 min. on the elliptical (same intervals at levels 7-9)
  • 3 sets of 20 hip abductors @ 100 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 30 in-and-outs
  • 3 sets of 15 v-ups

Okay, so at least it wasn’t like a REPLICA of my usual workout, right?  Baby steps 🙂

For dinner, I roasted some leftover kebab veggies in a tin foil contianer made by yours truly.

shroomies, squash, red onion, peppers, minced onion, a dash of soy sauce, chili powder, & minced garlic.

I left them roast for about 20 minutes at 400° while I sat down to course #1

Microwaved sweet potato with 1 tsp. Naturally More.

I can’t believe I never tried this combination before.  I think I had sweet potato & peanut butter dreams last night because it was so incredible.  Try it.  You won’t believe it til you do.

Oikos + Cinnamon & Splenda.

I knew I needed some protein in my life for muscle repair after my workout, so I went with Greek Yogurt Old faithful.

Soon, my veggies were done!

b-e-a-utiful.

I also added in some steamed sugar snap peas.

After clean up, I showered and headed out to girls’ night with the ladies in the family, which was at my Aunt’s house this week.  My camera battery was charging, so there aren’t any photos, but you can bet I ate my weight in watermelon, cantaloupe, & strawberries.  They are SO sweet right now!

The Bachelorette was great last night.  I’m not sure I’d like Ty to stay much longer.  I just feel like he’s a trouble-maker.  I haven’t seen anything on the show to make me believe that Justin, aka “Rated R” is there for the wrong reasons.  Just because he’s a pro wrestler doesn’t mean anything.  Then again, the producers only show you what they want you to see.  I mean he DID walk the whole way to Ali’s house to see her ON crutches.  That’s gotta get some kind of points, right? 🙂 

When I got home, I packed my lunch & tried a new snack before bed.

Nutridel sent me some Pecan cookies to try!  The stats are pretty great for a cookie, if you ask me!  Unofficial review: YUM.  Crunchy, subtly sweet, & dessert-like.

Some excitement in the blog world is taking place over at Gliding Calm with her Almond Milk giveaway!  Check it out 😉

Two QuestionTuesday:

  1. Do you ever feel like a relationship with a family member is hollow? How do you deal with it?
  2. Do you watch the Bachelorette?  What’s your take on Justin (Rated R)?
6 responses »

  1. Your lunch looks like my lunch today. hehe and you know how I feel about relationships in my family. I would like them to be better yes. I deal with them by talking to someone about it or writing out my feelings. love you!

    Reply
  2. girl i LOVE what you said at the beginning!!! I know exactly what you mean. I just have to give that to the Lord and have faith.

    GIRL make SURE you are eating enough calories for your activity level!!! I know i know i sound like a mom, but i eat about 3 times as much as that. haha!

    Have a GREAT DAY!

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s nice to have a believer read, comment, and relate to what you’re feeling.

      No, you don’t sound like a Mom! 🙂 Just a friend who cares! I appreciate your concern, actually, but I should start adding a “licks, bites, & tastes” section for each post, because there’s no way those are the only things I’ve eated during the day. Haha. I never post EVERYTHING that passes my lips, because I either don’t have my camera accessible, or just don’t feel like photographing 🙂

      Hope you have a wonderful week as well, darling!

      XO.

      Reply
  3. My dad has worked 12 hour shifts , 5 to 7 days a week since I was in 2nd grade. Before that, I was a self-proclaimed Daddy’s girl. Our relationshp is not as close as I would like. I live 5 hours away now so he calls every few months to check in. I have lived out of state for 4 years and he has visited TWICE. Nice. My mom is another story. I inherited her craziness lol. I wish I was closer to my lil sis too! She’s 8 years younger and preparing for things like prom and cheerleading 🙂 Wow …didn’t mean to pour my heart out on your blog!

    Reply
    • Awh….Isn’t it crazy how things change? It’s like before we know it, everyone is going their seperate ways…I get really jealous of the kind of relationship my parents have with my sisters. I realize, at the same time, it’s because they still depend on them for things like money, transportation, and care, and I don’t, but I almost wish I still had to, just to spend some time with them…Maybe I care way too much, but it really weighs on me. I can’t imagine living 5 hours away from my family! That would be really tough for me. I guess when you start your own family, that would change 🙂

      No apology necessary! I’m glad you “poured your heart out”. It’s nice to feel like someone can relate to what you’re going through 🙂

      Reply
  4. Wow- You have NO idea how I relate to the beginning of your post. My dad NEVER makes the effort to call me and refuses to make any effort to RELATE to me, or show interest in what is going on in my life. He keeps saying ‘It’s not him’. It hurts so much and runs deep. I have told him so many times that I just want to be around him- I’ll go to the Hardware store etc. He always replies ‘That doesn’t make sense’. I show interest in things he likes as a way of relating to him- showing a commonality etc. I love my dad more than anything and totally want that relationship with him. Daddies little girl etc. Nope- not happening and I need to stop trying to make him be something he is not. The more I try, the harder he pushes me away and does the opposite in order to ‘lower my expectations’. You had such a good point- I’m striving and putting to much effort in with the wrong Father! Thanks sweetie!
    I loved this post!!!!
    B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

