RSS Feed

Being Hurt.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

– Colossians 3:13

Everyone knows that being hurt by someone you love is probably the worst feeling in the world.  Forgiveness is probably the last thing that you’re thinking about.  I usually don’t have a hard time forgiving people.  Especially if it’s a first offense and they apologize.  But, God doesn’t give circumstances when He tells us to forgive others, He just says to forgive them…regardless of anything else (even if they don’t ask for it)!  It was a GREAT reminder that I definitely needed after my morning at home.

Now that summer vacation is in full force and both of my sisters are out of school, living at home is becoming stressful.  I can’t just get up and make my breakfast without being thought of as inconsiderate for making noise. 

bottom layer= 1/4 C. oats microwaved in water.

I feel like one big inconvenience a lot of times.

layer 2: 5.3 oz. plain Oikos + 3 sliced strawberries & 2 pineapple cubes.

Not to mention all the mean comments about my “blog stuff” taking up too much space in the house.

layer 3: 1/2 C. Fiber One.

Yes, it hurts my feelings…just as much as it hurts my feelings when I get nasty looks when I whip out my camera at dinner or make a special request for an order.

Even at night when I’m packing my lunch

Baby carrots on a bed of alfalfa sprouts, cherry tomatoes, sliced red & orange pepper, cucumber fries, and squash slices for dipping in spicy turkey hummus.  A whole wheat flat wrap with Sonoma Jack’s for spreading.

When I accidentally miss a seed on the counter when I’m cleaning up, or miss the trash can with a rind or peel that I threw away.  These things make me a “slob” and a terrible “example for my sisters”. 

When I come up with a new recipe that everyone looks down upon even though they’ve never tried it.

Turkey Hummus:

  • 3 slices Lite deli turkey slices
  • 1/4 C. diced orange pepper
  • 2 tbsp. Salsa

Blended until creamy & smooth and pack in your lunch like I did.

When I get home from work and don’t get a “hello” from anyone.  From now on, I’m going to be mute until someone says something to me first.  That way I avoid bothering anyone.

When they make me feel badly about taking up “too much room” in the freezer & fridge with my healthy snacks for before my workouts.

 

Oikos & Vitatop.

When the only place I can go to escape is the gym.

When they call me after I’ve already left for the gym to ask if I want to eat dinner with them.

When I get home and make myself something to eat, only to hear complaints about how much what I’m making “stinks” up the house & how disgusting it looks.

1 Bag of broccoli slaw, 3/4C. Light Ragu, 2 FF Hebrew National hot dogs cut up, a few canned sliced button mushrooms, a sprinkling of nooch.

When I’m so hungry that I’d like to wait until AFTER I sit down to eat before I clean everything up.

When I use the blender for two minutes, to whip up a green monster while they’re trying to watch TV, causing them to blare the volume, making their point.

3/4C. frozen spinach, a handful of alfalfa sprouts, 5 frozen strawberries, 8 oz. Diet V8, & a splash of SF Raspberry syrup.

When I “mmmmm!” outloud and they roll their eyes.

When I get hungry for dessert two hours later because I haven’t had enough protein after my 800-calorie-burning workout, which means using the blender again…

 

1 cup navy beans + 1 tbsp. hershey’s cocoa powder + 1 frozen banana + Organic Zero

These deep chocolate Vitatops were definitely a comfort food for me…And so was this giveaway on Danica’s Daily!! 

Can anyone relate to feeling like this?  Is your family totally supportive of your eating habits & lifestyle?

 

Xo.

9 responses »

  1. Hello,

    I am a fairly new subscriber and reading this post made me feel sad for you. I love your blog and I think that you should never have to feel the way that you feel. Being healthy definitely is not always the most popular thing but stick with it! Your family will probably come around with time. When I first started to eat healthier (ex: skim milk instead of 2%) at age 15, my parents thought that I was anorexic. Uhhh…no! Anyways I hope everything goes better for you and you stop getting in trouble for everything!

    Amanda

    Reply
  2. oh that’s not nice that they say that. i wonder what they would say if they read this post.

    Reply
  3. hey beautiful!! Im sorry about that- have ou told your fam how you feel? maybe they just dont know and you are being defensive- i used to be super defensive and then just let it go.. they mean well love!

    Reply
  4. awhh girlll your doing great how your eating and your food looks delicious, they are prob jealous! you should talk to them about it though and give them your point of views and maybe they will understand why you want to eat and exercise the way you do. dont let them bring ya down!

    ah vitatops = love<3

    Reply
    • Hey Nicole-

      Thanks so much for your comment! You’re such a sweetheart. I know they don’t mean to hurt me like that, it’s just hard when I have tried talking to them about it and feel like it’s gotten me no where. Don’t get me wrong, some days are better than others, so it’s not ALWAYS picking at me on a daily basis, but that day it was more than I could take! Haha. I know they care about me and love me, they just don’t think about how their comments and actions affect me sometimes.

      Hope you have a great weekend, darling!

      XO.

      -Sami

      Reply
  5. I’ve gotten some comments about putting my daughter and me on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. Since my daughter is growing, they think it is “too restrictive”. What they fail to understand is it is helping her digestive tract heal so that some day hopefully she can eat whatever she wants and not have to worry about it. We’ve seen amazing results in less than a month and I feel strongly this is the right thing to do.

    I hope your family can see how what you’re doing is helping you. Having two sisters myself, I know how it can be sometimes. I’ve found things have gotten better as we get older though!

    Reply
  6. I haven’t seen my mom for about 6 years due to this. I won’t go to my ‘old’ house and visit my family, and they haven’t been to my apartment. I have such a horrible relationship with my mom- and believe me I have tried- and still do DAILY! I email, call, send her presents etc.
    Why don’t you try saying ‘HI’ first, instead of waiting for them to say ‘hi’ to you? I know this pain all to well, and it is debilitating! Take charge and lead by example. Tell them how you feel! You have such a wonderful family! I know it depends on your mood/perspective (I can be so sensitive, and then totally fine the next day!), but know that they love you, and most of all GOD loves you for who you are and truly wants the best for you! Maybe your family just worries that you are taking things ‘too far’ and they don’t know how to show it other than irritation? I am so sorry you are going through this! You are in my thoughts! For what it’s worth, I am here for you if you need a friend!
    XOXOXO
    Barbara

    Reply

Leave a Reply

