RSS Feed

A New Day.

Posted on

Before I begin this post, I want to thank all of you who wrote notes of encouragement to me regarding yesterday’s post.  I didn’t mean to be such a downer, it was more of a venting session for me that I thought some people may be able to relate to!  Things aren’t always so touchy, it was just a rough day. 

Verse of the Day:

“And do not seek what you will eat and what you will drink, and do not keep worrying. For all these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things.”

-Luke 12:29-30

How in the world, do you tell a foodie “not to seek what you will eat & drink?!”  I know, bizarre, right?  Well, Momma FF actually sent me this awesome devotional this morning from the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, that after reading, I signed up as a subscriber.  It’s pretty awesome.  Today’s devotional was all about our bodies as temples.  She knew I had been struggling as I was “gaining healthy weight back” from the days of being “too skinny” and I was becoming VERY self-conscious.

As Christians, we are told over and over again that our bodies are the temples of the Lord, meaning that our physical bodies are the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit. First Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV) says, “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.” It’s a truth that we should take seriously, and we should let it motivate us to care for our physical bodies, keeping them in good health. As athletes and coaches, we usually don’t have a problem with this since it’s part of our nature and our daily routine.

Where we can get tripped up, however, is when we lose sight of why we keep our bodies in shape. Take a look at the verses from Luke above. Yes, our bodies are to be cared for, but we are not to worry about food and drink as the world does. Think about that for a second. When was the last time you watched “The Biggest Loser” or looked at a fitness model in a health magazine and thought, “I need to look like that.” Folks, that’s missing the point.

When God asks us to care for our bodies, He wants us to do so out of a desire to maintain His temple and to be healthy in order to serve Him. He has no concern with whether or not we look like Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper. He didn’t ask us to train our bodies in order to keep up with the world. That’s actually a sinful distraction if we believe what Jesus said. Instead, we are to discipline our bodies and care for them in order to glorify the Lord with them.

Today, if you find yourself focusing on or even obsessing over your physical appearance, stop and confess it to the Lord as a harmful distraction. Ask Him to give you a pure and peaceful heart and to guide you to wisdom in physical health and wellness. He created your body and knows how it is to best operate according to His plan for you. Don’t chase after the things of the world; chase after the things of God. Both may involve treadmills, but only one will lead to eternal blessings.

That being said, here are the meals 😉

Breakfast was with something light and refreshing in mind.

1 C. blended frozen strawberries + 1 tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder poured over 5.3 oz. plain greek yogurt & 3/4 C. Fiber One cereal

The fruit & yogurt parfait was exactly what I was craving.  It wasn’t as sweet as I’d like (I think it would’ve been better with frozen banana soft serve!), so next time I think I’ll add some Splenda.

My packed lunch consisted of the typical suspects

Cucumber fries, snap peas, cherry tomatoes, mini bell peppers, baby carrots, sweet bean dip (1/2 C. navy beans mashed with SF syrup), and a light flat wrap with Sonoma Jacks.

I love having this kind of lunch that I can munch on in the afternoon.  All of the nutrients from the veggies give me exactly what I need to finish off the workday.

When I got home from work, I think maybe Poppa FF saw my blog post and he greeted me with a huge hug, which put a smile on my face for the rest of the night.  For the first time in a LONG time, we just sat and chatted in the kitchen together while, I snacked on this juicy navel orange.

He told me about how work was going, and we had a NORMAL conversation.  It felt like a miracle.  He had to leave soon to take the youngest FF sister to softball practice, but those few minutes were the highlight of my day. 

At that point, my fruit void hadn’t been filled quite yet, so I also made some banana soft serve sprinkled with cinnamon before I hopped on the stationary bicycle.

Tastes just like fro-yo, I tell you.  Life changing 🙂

Around 5:30 PM, I realized Momma FF wasn’t home from work yet and she would probably be hungry once she arrived.  The middle FF sister was home too, and hadn’t eaten dinner yet either so I decided to cook for them so they wouldn’t have to fend for themselves

I made them each a plate of chicken and vegetable stirfry with rice, starring some Tribal Moose BBQ sauce that I basted the mix with while cooking.  They both LOVED the dish and were very appreciative.  There were quite a few dishes to do afterward, but it was totally worth it to see them enjoy something so much.  There was even some leftover for my sister to pack in her lunch for today.  While they were eating, I cleaned up and around 6ish I sat down to eat my dinner.

1 bag of broccoli slaw steamed with noochy cheese sauce (2 tbsp. nutritional yeast powder + minced garlic, minced onion, & water)

After dinner, I packed my lunch and got dressed to go with Momma FF to graduation.  I had plans to go to the gym, but didn’t want her to go to the ceremony by herself. 

Unfortunately, the pictures got eaten from my camera of all the graduation festivities.   There were some great speaches made about how we need to live in the “now” and enjoy the little things life has to offer.  It was also about balance & how to recover from the inevitable failures of life.  You know it’s a good message when Dr. Seuss is quoted several times 😉

When I got home, I realized I was seriously lacking in the protein & carbs department, so I had a bedtime snack of a mint chocolate protein milkshake & vitatop. [photos of which where also eaten with grad pics!]

**PS!  Don’t forget to take advantage of the 10% off coupon for Dads & Grads in my SHOP for some Garlic Gold Nuggets!!  You’ll also get a free batch of my indoor s’mores along with 2 fave recipes!

XO.

2 responses »

  1. your stir fry looks AWEESOME! love the verse too-as always!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

