RSS Feed

Well, Hello July.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it? “I the LORD search the heart and examine the mind, to reward a man according to his conduct, according to what his deeds deserve.”

– Jeremiah 17:9-10

The craziness is FINALLY slowing down.  Vacation was almost a whole week ago, yet it has taken until now for me to feel settled again!  I’m back into my routine and have some super exciting news.  If you’ve ever read my “About Me”, you know that I was unable to finish college because at the time, my thyroid was out of control causing my body to malfunction in all kinds of different ways.  I dealt with things the best way I knew how and looked for alternative life paths, landing a job with the State & making decent money with great benefits.  What more could I ask for without a college education?  Buuuuuuuut, I’m finally ready to take the leap again.  Sure it’s scary, and I don’t know exactly what to expect, but I do know that I’m stronger now than ever and I feel like God is really leading me to do this!  My first class starts on TUESDAY already.  Not only will I be able to pay for classes as I’m taking them (keeping my full-time job), but also after work, I’ll have time before class to get a nice workout in at the GYM on campus, which I plan on taking FULL advantage of.  No more $40 gym membership for this girl!  I’m anxious for it all to start and NEVER thought I’d find myself excited to be back in a classroom, but I am.  Ever since I signed the registration form, I’ve had a new spring in my step and feel extra bubbly 🙂

I’ve ever branched out from my boring breakfast cereal with protein milk to try new things!

1 light whole grain english muffin, 1 wedge light Sonoma Jack’s pepperjack cheese, 1 tbsp. sugar free Polaner + fiber jam, & 1/2 C. egg whites. (200 calories)

I’ve decided that this stuff is uhmazeeee on anything.

Behold, the sweet apricot cream cheese egg white breakfast sandwich.  Totally simple & satisfying. 

Along with some Campfire S’more’s iced coffee!  Nothing says summertime like a campfire s’more 😉

There has been a lot to catch up on at work since our sections are merging.  Employee Health & Safety is combining with Benefits to create “Workplace Support”.  Boooooring. Anyway, lunch saved me from my coma.

1 can jumbo lump crab, cherry tomatoes, 1 can green beans + 1/2 can sliced mushrooms, 1 la tortilla factory low carb high fiber wrap with sonoma jacks for spreading.

Soo I guess I kinda fibbed when I said I had my seafood fix.

One week away from the sandy shores & I was already craving some crab 🙂

My sodium intake was probably totally ridiculous.  But no worries, I drank water like a camel at my desk all day.

After a long day of work, I arrived home to a wonderful surprise.  My Vitatop order had come while I was away and I was excited to try the new Apple Crumb version.

There is no better way to fuel for the gym than Apple Crumb vitatops a la mode, so naturally, I whipped up some banana soft serve to accompany my whole grain snack.

holey moley.

I was really feeling good about driving to the gym because I was ready for another AWESOME AB class, which was supposed to start at 5PM.  I got there at about 4:45PM only to be disappointed when the white board outside the fitness room read “AB CLASS CANCELLED JULY 1” 😦  BOOOOO.  I ended up doing the entire workout (or what I could remember of it) by my lonesome in the mat room.  It’s just not as motivating when you go at it alone!  After abs, I strapped down to the elliptical for a good 50 minutes, did some push ups, and left.

I had one thing on the brain for dinner and made myself JUST that.

1 bag broccoli slaw topped with 1/2 C. ff cottage cheese, 1/2 C. light Ragu, 1/2 C. lima beans, and 2 tbsp. roasted red pepper hummus;  1 Light flat out + sonoma jacks & sf apricot jam on the side.

Please excuse the horrible shadows.

It was like breakfast in a different form!

After dinner, there was a little biking on the stationary, only because I had to upload some pictures on my laptop and get antsy sitting still.  I ended up facebooking & uploading for about 40 minutes.  Afterward, a shower was taken & lunch was packed.

And then there was desssert:

1 carrot smothered in 1 heaping tbsp. Naturally More

I LOVEEEE Naturally More.  My fave peanut butter, easily.  I think it’s the flax seed that does me in!  Or maybe the 10g of protein per serving 😉

A heaping spoonful of Sugar Free Fat Free Vanilla Ice Cream.

Twas the perfect ending to my eats for the day.  It’s actually Walmart brand and tastes EXACTLY like Pillsbury vanilla frosting.  Not to mention, I watched my main squeeze on the television for the last hour of my consciousness.

Failure to Launch was on the tele and I couldn’t resist…

HAPPY FRIDAY Bloggies 🙂

Don’t forget to enter my FAT FIGHTING giveaway to win yourself some Galaxy Granola!

1. What is your favorite nut butter? Naturally More!

2. Do you have a celebrity crush?  If so, who?? Matthew McConaughey, Adrian Grenier, Justin Bartha, McDreamy, etc…

 

XOXO.

5 responses »

  1. That’s so awesome that you’re going back to school! It is tough but so worth it in the long run. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. i love naturally more, too, but my favorite has to be justin’s maple almond butter.

    have a happy 4th!

    Reply
  3. danggg girl you are a workout machine!! thats SO COOL about school!! so exciting girl!!

    Reply
  4. Sami I am so proud and happy for you! You inspire me and and I am so excited! I wish you only happiness, love and health and support you no matter what you choose! Have a great long weekend and CONGRATULATIONS again!

    Reply
  5. DiningAndDishing

    Congrats on the return to college! I’d do college over and over again if I could :). Best time ever!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

