RSS Feed

‘Tis The Season…For Family Reunions.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.”

– Matthew 24:35

Sooo after work on Friday, I hit the gym for about 45 minutes of cardio on the elliptical followed by abs & back stuff on the mats.  I’ve been loving all the new moves I learned in abs class.  Totally simple ways for me to mix up my routine. 

My reward?  Dinner.

1 microwave baked sweet potato topped with 2/3 C. ff cottage cheese & drizzled with sugar free syrup + sprinkled with cinnamon.

Steamed California blend vegetables: carrots, broccoli, & cauliflower.

Then I did some prep work for the next morning, which I knew would be rushed.  We had a family reunion for my Mom’s side of the family at Knobel’s Grove in Elysburg beginning at lunchtime.  It takes about an hour to get there, so if I wanted to go to the gym in the morning & sleep in a little bit, I had to have everything ready to go, food wise.

In the morning I hit the gym after a hearty, fueling breakfast.

Three egg whites sprinkled with salt & pepper drizzled with reduced sugar Heinz ketchup alongside a bowl of instant cinnamon apple oats with extra cinnamon added & cooked in water + sf vanilla syrup.

The super mix of carbs + protein allowed for an energizing workout of 50 minutes cardio on the elliptical between levels 7-9 & some plyometrics on the floor mats.  I knew I’d be doing a lot of walking throughout the day, so I didn’t go too crazy 😉

When we finally got to the park around 12:30PM, everyone had already dug into lunch, so we didn’t hesitate to join the crowd. 

Lunch was filling and gave me some more liveliness for the day ahead in the park.

veggie & fruit plate: celery, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, baby carrots, & watermelon.

Crunch Clif Honey Oat Granola Bar (holy yum!) crumbled into a greek yogurt (Oikos style)

followed by this AWESOME recipe by one of my fellow foodies in the family.

My cousin’s wife, Abbie made this delicious combination of the following ingredients:

  • diced veggies: cucumber, purple onion, tomato
  • fresh herbs: dill & thyme
  • extras: Truvia & apple cider vinegar

How simple is that?  And seriously it was phenom.  I think I might add fresh mint to the medley as well?  I think it would really punch up the flavor even more.

You better believe I had a bowl (or two…or three… :D) throughout the day.

After feasting, we were on to the rides!

Ironically, many of the rides that I took photos of were NOT the ones I rode.

I can appreciate the roller coasters & thrill rides a little more like the Power Surge:

[source]

and the Fandango

[source]

Of course, there are the roller coasters, too.

[source]

After an entire day of walking, riding, & laughing together we took a break for dinner.

How cute are they?

I had steamed some edamame the night before to bring along for some protein at the park.  We always pack our meals at amusement parks to save money.  Not to mention, I’d take my food over park food any day of the week 😉 

Tribe Roasted Red Pepper Hummus for veggie dipping

Red pepper & cuke slices

+ more fresh cantaloupe & honeydew.

I was seriously in produce heaven this entire weekend

Annnnnnd back to the park we went!

Todd & Dad playing in the bumper cars.

On the way to the flume!

Random, but the sap on this tree just looked SO photogenic.  Haha. 

Okay…back to the rides.

At about 9PM, we decided to call it quits after riding everything we wanted to in the park & ended the evening with some ice cream!  The kids got Dip n’ Dots, while I hit The Loaf for some fat free fro yo.

They had TWIST.  I was so pumped.  I’m sad now that I don’t have a photo because my camera was in the car at that point, but I can promise you it was absolutely dreamy.

And that my friends, was Friday & Saturday.

Next post: Sunday & Monday!

XO.

3 responses »

  1. is that cracker barrel i see? haha, awesome!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunshine & Summertime. « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  3. We just had our company picnic at Knobles but I didn’t go! I haven’t been to this park in ages! Is it still free? Now that I hear they have some killer fro-yo, I just might have to make a trip. 🙂

    Sounds like a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

