RSS Feed

Sunshine & Summertime.

Posted on

Typically I’m not a fan of Mondays, but this one was an exception.  We had off work for the 4th of July, which meant a “sleep in” morning until about 8AM & an early gym sesh before festivities commenced.

Greek yogurt mess with Fiber Select + sf apricot jam

I was feeling uncreative with breakfast, but knew exactly what I wanted to wash it down with.

Not exactly sure why I decided to post this, but you get the picture (literally).  It was liquid crack cawwwffffeeee, black with sf vanilla syrup.

It was pretty lame at the gym, considering I did the SAME workout as usual, consisting of 45 minutes on the elliptical followed by abs & pushups.  As I said before, I’ve been trying the new ab stuff I’ve learned in abs class.  Simple stuff, but it makes a difference in the muscles used.  There are SO many different ways to use the yoga balls in ab workouts!  I like to do situps with them over my head and touch my toes with them while sitting up.  Then, I straighten one leg and keep one in sit-up position (bent) for 3 sets of 15 with each leg.  Then there are always planks, side planks, 6 inches, and v-ups.

When I got home, I showered and got ready for the rest of the day.  We were picnicking with family & friends at our house, so there was a lot to be done. 

My gram brought me some zucchini, so I made some chips sprayed with a little PAM and sprinkled with some garlic salt, roasted in a 350° oven for about 1/2 hour.  Thanks, Gram!

It was soon lunchtime, and I was overwhelmed by the amount of food at our fingertips! 

pasta salad

EVERYONE brought SOMETHING.  It was enough to feed 4 armies, I’m pretty sure.

baked cheesy potatoes

broccoli salad

I stacked my plate high with these things mostly:

Here’s my plate!

Broccoli, tomato, carrots, cukes, onion, grilled chicken, homemade honey mustard, & Stephie’s bean dip all over a bed of leafy greens.

Again, I have a BLOCKBUSTER recipe from the picnic!  The lovely Stephanie provided this fabulous recipe, which is absolutely simple (MY STYLE!)  She is a reader of the blog & has had quite an incredible journey herself, losing a total of 103 pounds!  She looks absolutely wonderful (I’ve always thought she was beautiful) and is on the road to being one FIT chica!  We had a great time talking about the benefits of organic foods & sharing favorite snacks.  Anyway, on to her recipe!

4 Bean Dip

  1. You’ll need four cans of your choice in beans.  She suggests: 1 can chickpeas, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can black beans, and 1 can kidney beans.
  2. Create a “dressing” of balsamic vinegar, EVOO, spicy mustard, fresh lemon juice, and salt+pepper
  3. Toss beans with “dressing” & add diced onion.
  4. All the ingredients (other than the beans) are basically “to taste”, so you just mix enough of everything to coat them.

IT IS SOOOOOOO GOOD.  She actually said it goes really great with corn chips too! Pleeease try it.

For lunch dessert, I could NOT resist all the fresh fruit & helped myself to profuse helpings of fresh cantaloupe & watermelon

Cheese danish bars

Because there were so many other desserts (that I obviously passed on) that people ate up at the picnic, there was actually a lot of left over fresh fruit that I will happily enjoy throughout the week!

Pretzel Cream Cheese Grape Dessert

Walnut Topped Brownies

I guess nothing really appeals to me the way fresh produce does!  Watermelon screams refreshing on a HOT day.  Not to mention, all the sugar in the other desserts would’ve left me feeling sluggish and yucky all day….we can’t have that! 🙂

We enjoyed the deck lounging while the kids played in the pool all day!

My Dad set it up for them since he knew they loved it on Memorial Day.  Plus, it was supposed to get up to like 97° and he wanted them to have an easy way to stay cool.

We played games all afternoon!  There was Bananagrams & Scattegories!  I really wanted to start up a game of volleyball in the yard, but everyone was tooooo hott.

By the time dinner rolled around, no one was starving so we mainly just munched on leftovers from lunch.  I had another salad, and also ate my zucchini chips & more bean dip!

OF COURSE it was a Monday, so girls’ night was at our house!  We closed off the basement in dedication of the event, and we set a record with the amount of guests!  Haha.

The spread was made of compounded leftovers from the picnic. 

There was indoor s’mores, strawberry pie, ritz cracker pudding, chips & salsa, and veggies + dip.  My diet was lacking dairy that day, so I dug into my stash of the best sugar free vanilla ice cream ever.  Although, it didn’t compare to the fat free fro yo from Knobel’s 😉

I wasn’t real sad to see Ty go, but I didn’t DISLIKE him.  At this point, I think she’s in a win-win situation with the remaining guys.  The best part of the show was EASILY the end, featuring the interview with Jake & Vienna!! Who’s with me? 🙂  I’m not even sure what to make of that interview.  I definitely saw a side of Jake that I didn’t like.  If you ask me, they are BOTH very immature…then again…it is “The Bachelor”.  I’m excited to see the new show “The Bachelor Pad” which has been advertised recently.  Danica (love this girl!) tipped me off to this website called Reality Steve which I’ve been LOVING ever since she told me about it!  Soooo funny.

1. Have you checked out all my weekend recaps & entered my two exciting givewaways?

2.  What was your favorite part of the holiday weekend?

3. Who are you rooting for on The Bachelorette?

 

XO.

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Next Post « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  2. Pingback: Pill Poppin’ « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

