RSS Feed

GoodOnYaBars.

Posted on

With a motto like “Every Ingredient Matters“, you can expect that Kris Fillat, founder of theGoodOnYabar, knows the importance of wholesome foods as part of balanced diets.  After all, her background playing field hockey for the US National Team for 11 years, has led her to create these Organic Nutrition Energy Bars in three different flavors back in 2001.  I also really enjoyed reading the Fat Vs. Sugar page on their site! SO true.

Each of these is made with 100% Organic materials!  They’ve got a Breakfast Bar made with blonde flax seed, hemp seeds, brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, raisins, dark chocolate, oats, pure maple syrup, olive oil, vanilla, and sea salt

I was REALLY impressed that just one bar could give you 18% of your DV Iron!  Not to mention the great fiber & protein stats with all the healthy fats included!  Check out the amount of Potassium in one of these babies!

I NEVER lie on my reviews, so I’ve got to say, this flavor wasn’t my favorite.  It just tasted a bit bland to me?  I’m not sure why, because the ingredients list is stellar, but it just wasn’t my “cup of tea”.  I LOVED the texture though, it was very chewy and dense, with WHOLE raisins and dark chocolate chips packed in.  For 276 calories, though there are a few things I’d rather eat than this bar…

Next up for the review is the Peanut Butter Honey Bar which is a medley of Valencia peanut butter, raw honey, oats, hemp seeds, flax seeds, vanilla, sesame seeds, and celtic sea salt.

This bar had just 6 fewer calories than the Breakfast Bar, but the rest of the stats were pretty similar.  A bit less fat and fiber and a bit more protein.

This bar tasted a bit sweeter, which is odd because there’s actually LESS sugar, but I think it may have been due to the Valencia peanut butter.  I liked this variety a bit more, but still nothing spectacular in the flavor department.  Again, you cannot argue with the wholesome ingredients, though! 

Lastly, there was the Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Bar.  The first thing that came to mind when reading this ingredients list, was a Reece’s (sans flax seed ;-)) made healthy! 

 Valencia peanut butter, honey, oats, hemp seeds, dark chocolate, flax seeds, vanilla, seseame seeds, celtic sea salt.

I was a little disappointed in the taste of this one, but it wasn’t bad.  You know those bars that you can TASTE aren’t the real genuine article, but you give the benefit of the doubt because they are SO much more nutritious?  That’s my take on theGoodOnYabar.  It certainly wasn’t a peanut butter cup, but all things considered it was pretty good.  I think my problem may have been that I’m VERY much a sweets kind of girl, but if you like the more savory treats out there, you should try them!  I could really taste the flax in them!

The good news is, they’re convenient, affordable, and totally wholesome!  Also, they’ve got a $5 flat shipping rate for all online orders! You can check to find a retailer near you, here.

One response »

  1. Pingback: GOMacro Bars! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

