RSS Feed

An Ode To La Tortilla Factory

Posted on

No wonder the folks at La Tortilla Factory are so great at baking the greatest tasting wraps and tortillas;  After all, they’ve been doing it for THREE generations!  Unlike other tortilla companies, “there is not a single drop of partially hydrogenated or fully hydrogenated oils anywhere in our manufacturing plant,” which means there are absolutely NO trans-fats in any of their products!

Check out all the innovators’ accomplishments!

Among my favorites are the Large Whole Wheat, High Fiber Tortillas by the company, which Laura kindly had sent to me so I could share with you guys some of my favorite ways to enjoy them!

Here are some reasons why I love them so much!

  • 52% DV recommended fiber!
  •  Only 80 calories!
  • HUGE in size!
  • Wholesome ingredients!
    Ingredients: water, oat fiber, whole wheat flour, soy flour, vital wheat gluten, expeller pressed canola oil, contains less than 2% of each of the following: baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate), sea salt, guar gum, citric acid, yeast, xanthan gum, l-cysteine, to maintain freshness (sorbic acid, calcium propionate).
  • Cholesterol & saturated fat free!

Not only do they come in original, but also Garlic & Herb and Green Onion!  I’ve never gotten to try those two, because they aren’t carried by any grocers in my area, but I can only imagine they would be JUST as amazing as the Whole Wheat!

Runner-up of my favorites from the company, are the 100 Calorie Whole Wheat Wraps.  With the same great texture and taste as the original tortillas, these babies also have added fiber, Omega-3 rich flax seeds, and added calcium!  Not to mention the 20g of whole grains!

These also come in a “Traditional” white version.

The possibilities with these wraps are totally endless.  I’ve made everything from Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla Chips in the oven to Baked Enchiladas, to Chocolate & Berry Filled Crepes.

I’ve just discovered their fabulous recipe section of the website, too and cannot WAIT to recreate Vegetarian Tortilla Lasagna, Low-Fat Asian Shrimp Rolls, and Ground Turkey Sloppy Joe Tacos!

La Tortilla Factory has ALSO launched a new product!  The Handmade Style Corn Tortillas!  I can’t WAIT to try them!  Perfect for summer Mexican Meals!

Thanks, Laura!

2 responses »

  1. I adore the La Tortilla Factory tortillas. Out of all the ones I’ve tried, I always come back to these. Whole Wheat is definitely my favorite too but I just saw that they make the 100 cal corn. Can’t wait to find them!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE those tortillas! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

