RSS Feed

Sweet Vs. Savory

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”

– Matthew 5:14,16

Sometimes I know exactly what I’m craving for breakfast.

Spinach Bolani with Cedar’s Cucumber Garlic Tzatziki (introduced to me by Julie!) with a greek yogurt bowl on the side topped with 1 tbsp. SF cherry preserves and 1 scant handful Fiber Bran cereal

Other days I walk to the fridge, open up the door, and stare into the abyss considering all my options:  sweet vs. savory being my main dilema. 

I can never decide…soooo I had a little bit of both.

Since lunch on weekdays is always eaten at my desk, I have a hard time packing for what I’m hungry for.  After all, I can’t anticipate what will sound good to me a whole 24 hours later!

1 Butterleaf salad (yes it’s under there!), diced veggies: yellow pepper, red pepper, orange pepper, cukes, snap peas, carrots, and tomatoes topped off with a 1/2 Helen’s Kitchen tofu steak

It’s like a rainbow in a dish! 🙂  I wasn’t totally impressed with the tofu steak (not too much flavor), but I was sent coupons to try some Helen’s products and this was one of three items that our store carried-the stats are pretty good too!…I’m gonna keep an eye out for the Chik’n Gardensteaks!  Anyone else have suggestions on what to try from Helen’s Kitchen?

Along with my salad, I had half of this container of Pumpkin Bolani, saving the rest for dinner between my workout & class.  The green stuff on the bottom was a scoop of Basil Pesto sauce from the company too!  Thanks so much to Saleem for hooking me up 😉

After work I hit the gym.  On the car ride there, I munched on this incredibly sweet gala apple.

The workout had to be somewhat quick, since I wanted to get in a little extra study time for my exam. 

  • Cross Ramp 35 min.-avg. HR 148
  • 3 sets of 1 min. planks
  • 3 sets of 25 in-and-outs
  • 3 sets of twisting obliques
  • 5 min. quick sprints on the dreadmill
  • 5 min. quick uphill sprints on the Cross Ramp

Shower & studying were done after eating parts of dinner in my car, which was a plethora of roasted provisions 🙂

Okra, carrot & green bean fries with reduced sugar ketchup.  I roasted these babes in the oven, a la Kath.

Roasted stuffed peppers filled with Fantastic Foods refried beans, salsa, and fat free sour cream, along with a sliced mozarella cheese stick

Not sure how my exam went…I went into it fairly confident, but I’m nervous about the results!  There were a lot of things I was unsure of…I think I second guess myself tooo much.  Math does that to me!  I hate it..

When I got home, I began the unpacking/repacking process, yet again!  By this time, it was about 8PM, but my beau wanted to see me, so he came over and we watched Underdog together 🙂 

Before he got there, I made some Banana SS and had a snack of some Manna Bread (unpictured because my camera battery was exhausted).  Review to come!  I cannot wait.  It is DELICIOUS!  I tried 4 different flavors last night!

FREE FOR ALL FRIDAY!

Ask me anything 🙂

I’ve got a few for you all, first!

Sweet or savory?  Sweets for me!

What class made you nervous in school?  Definitely MATH for me.

XOXO.

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE tzatziki sauce! It is the most delicious sauce! Great breakfast!

    Reply
  2. yayyyyyy i’m SO glad you got the cedars!! i just restocked yesterday haha i love dunkin my veg’s in there 🙂

    Reply
  3. I am sure you kicked butt on that exam! That Bolani looks incredible! Sorry for the lack of emails- things have been rough lately. I will update you soon. Is he officially your BEAU? I am so happy for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I trust your taste, so IF he has any intelligent older brother’s/friends…. lol
    XOXO
    Have a lovely weekend!
    Barbara

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Fantastic Foods! « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

