RSS Feed

Boost Your Metabolism!

Posted on

This weekend made me realize something…Personally, I get frustrated sometimes at how unfair it seems that my metabolism and my younger sisters’ metabolisms are SO incredibly different.  Watching the girls wolf down cheeseburger subs with gooey cheese, greasy beef, and buttery rolls made me a little green with envy while I munched on my dry lettuce leaves, tomato, and cucumbers.  They can eat LITERALLY whatever they want, and not gain an ounce, which led me to one conclusion: that metabolism has a LOT to do with the way your diet affects your body.  Don’t get me wrong, I probably would not take up their eating habits even if I could without gaining, because I don’t like the way foods that they eat sometimes make me feel after eating “clean” for so long, but it would be nice to enjoy dessert here and there without worrying about how it’ll affect my thighs.  

I was reading up on some ideas for boosting my metabolism and thought I’d share them with you all, incase you’re in the “same boat”.

[source]

1.  MOVE YOUR BUTT.  Staying lean and staying active go hand in hand.  The minute you start to get lazy, your metabolisms slows immensely.  Try to aim for at least 3 cardio sessions a week for about 40 minutes a piece.  Even if it means walking the stairs at work instead of the elevator, getting out in the sunshine on your lunch break for a stroll around the block, or joining a “walking” group for some post-work day adventures instead of hitting happy hour…DO it.

 [source]

2.  PUMP SOME IRONToo many women are scared off at the thought of “bulking” up by lifting weights.  What they don’t understand is how important strength training can be and how many more calories your body burns when muscle starts to replace fat cells.  It doesn’t have to be a 50 pound dumbell set, but something is better than nothing! 

[source]

3.  EAT!  Don’t think for ONE SECOND that you need to stop eating so much to lose weight.  Your body cannot afford for you to skip meals.  In fact, the more frequently you eat, the better.  Your metabolism will constantly be working with the fuel you’re giving it.  Just make sure whatever you’re fueling with is nutritious!  Healthy & balanced are KEY.

[source]

4.  NEVER, NEVER, NEVER SKIP BREAKFAST.  Breakfast truly is the most important meal of the day.  Your level of cortisol, a hormone that helps you use calories to build muscle, is highest right before you get up in the morning. When you eat breakfast, your body is primed to turn those calories into muscle immediately!  Not only is it critical that you not skip it, but that you fill up on whole grains, protein, and healthy fats  to fuel your morning.  It’s true that a well-rounded breakfast is the key to any healthy day of eats. 

[source]

5.  HIT THE SHEETS EARLIER.  Sleep deprivation is seriously dangerous for the metabolism.  The less shut-eye you get, the more cortisol your body produces due to stress on your system, causing your body to trigger appetite.  Sleep is also extremely important for the body’s rest and recuperation!  When you rob it of that crucial time, bad things happen! 

[source]

6.  SCHEDULE AN EVENING WORKOUT.  Doing an intense cardio workout for about 30 minutes is a great way to rev your metabolism for the rest of the night!  On average, a woman’s metabolic rate decreases 15% when she sleeps, but if you hit the gym about 2 1/2 hours before bedtime, you’ll only be down to 5%!  Even a brisk walk with the dog or the hubs after dinner will support the cause.

[source]

7.  DITCH THE MEDS.   Unfortunately, if you’re in my situation, taking levothyroxine for thyroid simulation, you can’t afford to toss the drugs, but if you’re on something like birth control, it might be a good idea!  In any case, you’ve got to weigh the alternative, but just as a heads up, many contraceptive drugs cause weight gain and metabolism slowing!  Check with your doctor!

[source]

8. DRINK UP.  Drinking cooold water and other beverages keeps your body flushed and hydrated.  Drinking approximately 17 ounces of water, the metabolic rates, of the subjects tested, increased by 30% for both men and women. The increases occurred within 10 minutes of water consumption and reached a maximum after about 30 to 40 minutes.

 Who would’ve thought speeding your metabolism could be so simple? 🙂

XOXO.

8 responses »

  1. great post girl 🙂 thanks for the tips! i don’t think i could ever go a day without breakfast haha

    Reply
  2. I am new to your blog and love it! This past year has been a year of changes for me and one of the things that I have been working on is my health…including a big change in our everyday diet and exercise (which I still am not consistant with). I love your blog and your product ideas and tips…they have been great.
    And on the metabolism….I have yo-yo’d all my life, losing weight and then it coming back (with friends) when my eating went back to more normal ranges. This has made it so frustrating. About a month ago, my doctor did a metabolism test for me and what an eye opener. I can actually eat far more calories than I would have ever thought…but they need to come from the right sources of fruits, veggies and grains for my systems to work as it should. (in other words, drop the fast foods, too many colas and junk food). I have felt so much better since starting to make these changes and even with the increase in calories, I am steadily losing the weight!

    Reply
  3. Those are all such great tips. The metabolism does have such a big impact. I think it is great that you eat so healthfully. Although I must say that I’m sure you could fit in an indulgent dessert here and there with no worries too. 😉

    And I totally didn’t mean to forget you! My bad!

    Reply
  4. Great tips! As a morning exerciser, the one about exercising at night was really interesting to me. I may consider taking more walks around the neighborhood after dinner..

    Reply
  5. Great tips! I don’t think I knew the one about working out at night. I always work out first thing in the morning but it does make sense that you would burn more calories when you are most sedative.

    Reply
  6. lovely posts! so true and so easy to forget

    Reply
  7. nutritionedge

    I think that another point should be love and self acceptance! Fearing weight gain shouldn’t cause us to miss out on cake and enjoying foods we want! God made us as we are. As long as we treat ourselves and others with respect, then that’s all that matters! I somehow don’t think God cares about our thigh size! I used to worry a lot more and spend to much energy on what I should and shouldn’t eat. I finally put things into perspective and realized I am NOT going to be on my death bed regretting eating cake in my 20’s and lamenting the fact that I enjoyed a brownie! I think I’ll be saying something like “what was I thinking!!??” I have been trying so hard to focus on the things in life that matter. I’m not saying that I still don’t feel bad for eating certain things when I’m stressed- but I’m getting better at moving on and forgetting about it! I really liked your list: eat, move, drink and hit the weights! Great post Sammie!
    XO
    Barbara

    Reply

Leave a Reply

