RSS Feed

Summer Lovin’

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.”

– Psalm 119:130

Breakfast was unexpectedly a total treat.  You’d be amazed what a little cinnamon mixed with oats can do for the texture of Peach Chobani 😉 

1/3 C. raw old fashioned oats & cinnamon sprinkled over 1 Peach Chobani

It reminded me of a chilled peach cobbler!  A great start to my morning at work, not to mention quick & convenient with barely any prep work which was only appropriate considering I didn’t even take the time to do some of the essential grooming steps due to time constraint.  But breakfast?  There’s ALWAYS time for breakfast 🙂

Lunch WAS prepared ahead of time.

All packed up in my Finlandia lunch box, I had a large veggie salad (a bed of spinach, sliced baby peppers, cherry tomatoes, carrots, snap peas, and cukes) drizzled with Leonardo Roberto’s balsamic vinegar (THE BEST)

I also packed 1/2 of this sandwich made with 2 slices of Manna Organic Bakery Sunny Sourdough bread, sliced turkey breast, 1 Sonoma Jack’s cheese wedge, some Sweet Jalapeno sauce from Bolani, spinach and 1 tomato slice.

Work.was.unbearably.slow.  Thankfully, I had some of my favorites to rescue me from boredom. 

Oh yeah, and I did some studying over my breaks.  Did I tell you?  I got the 2nd highest grade in the class on my last exam?  😀  My average is currently a 92ish.

When I got home, I had an exciting package awaiting me from AmazonArctic Zero!!!  I know what you’re thinking. 

This stuff is ridiculously expensive, but believe me it is so worth it.  I can eat a whole PINT of “ice cream” for just 128 calories and 16g protein, 0g fat. 

I can’t always afford it, but since I have been doing really well saving money on groceries, AND I just got my annual increase, I figured 1 splurge couldn’t hurt. 

Next up, I packed a picnic dinner for the boy & I.  I had another sand volleyball match at City Island so I packed up the other 1/2 of my sandwich from lunch,

made him a PB&J, packed a salad for us to share (drizzled in balsamic post picture),

and we hit the road. Same thanggg.  Sorry for the meal repeat.  I’m craving turkey for some reason?

Before I knew it, game time rolled around and we lost YET again.  It was fun, though, and I love my team. 

Afterward, we played pick up for awhile and the boyy joined in!  Soon a storm rolled in, and we were ready to peace out.  We got home around 8:40PM, after driving through the insanity of some hard, hard rains.

I whipped up two protein shakes with my Optimum Nutrition Mint Chocolate.

1/2 C. 1% fat free milk, 1 scant scoop protein powder, & ice

We played DICE for about an hour with the FF lil’ sis, and he left for home at about 10:30PM.  I was exhausted!  Before bed, I had some a peach and some baby carrots dipped in some Naturally More.

On that note, don’t forget to enter my Amazing Grass and Crayola Giveaways

Three Question Thursday:

1.  What is your favorite summertime sport? I’d have to go with sand volleyball!  Although I love basketball as well.

2.  Do you let yourself feel guilty about expensive food purchases? I do for a little while, but then I realize, it’s for a good cause!  Lots of things that people spend money on are useless, but nutritious food is at least promoting health, right?!

3.  What’s the most money you’ve spent on a food product? I think these things are the most expensive that I’ve bought.  Nut butters are pricey too, but $46 for 6 pints of ice cream is a little extreme, I suppose? Haha.

XOXO.

8 responses »

  1. The most that I have spent on a food product is $12 on xanthan gum.

    Reply
  2. i’ve never tried raw oats but peach cobler sounds so great i may have to 😉

    congrats on the 2nd highest grade!!! this icecream looks amazing for volume eaters like myself 😉

    Reply
  3. i tend to feel guilty about lots of things but i am learning to just make a decision that i believe in and don’t look back!

    i’ve spent lots on nut butters and whole foods salads, etc.

    Reply
  4. I don’t feel guilty about expensive food purchases, as long as they are healthy. I rarely feel guilty about any purchases if it’s my money I feel like I can spend it where I’d like.
    My favorite summer sport is wakeboarding – if that counts : )

    Reply
  5. i can’t BELIEEEEEEEEEEEVE you got your paws on arctic zero!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i’ve been wanting to try that forever but it’s such a wallet raper! haha thats horrible julie.

    lurv me some vball action girlfran.

    Reply
  6. DiningAndDishing

    The most I spend on a food product are definitely Justin’s almond butter packets! So flipping expensive but I can’t help it! So delicious :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  7. how is that ice cream?!?! ive seen it on other blogs!

    Reply
  8. SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!
    I’ve wanted to try Arctic Freeze since it came out- if only it were sugar free! For now I make my own 2ce a day and they are amazing! I made a new Dulce De Leche Ice Cream that was so good, I honestly nearly died and went to heaven! I also took 46 pictures of it with my cell phone! I have to post the recipe asap.
    Anyways… just wanted to say CONGRATS AGAIN! I’m so behind reading posts, but also happy early BDAY …. 10 days? 🙂

    Love, Your Friend,
    B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

