RSS Feed

Eight-Nine-Ten! 8/9/10

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

– Luke 12:6-7

How AMAZING is it that God knows the exact number of hairs on our heads?  He cares about us THAT much. 🙂

This goober and I went to church together on Sunday after a WHOLE day together hiking, hitting a family reunion, and taking a dip in some FRESH mountain water!  It was a fun filled weekend.  You can stay tuned for some additional photos in two days on the Wordless Wednesday Weekend Rewind post

I’ve decided to do a post feature one issue I’ve been having lately.  Because of all the craziness juggling my full-time job, gym workouts, class, family events, softball tournaments, & spending time with the boy, time management is SO important.   I’ve been skimping on one of the most IMPORTANT aspects of health…CERTAINLY not eating 😉 However, I have been depriving my body of sleep as of late.  I’m getting to bed no earlier than 12:00 most nights, and I’ve begun to feel the aftermath.

I did some research and thought I’d share with you all 🙂

6 REASONS WHY GETTING PROPER AMOUNTS OF SLEEP IS  CRUCIAL:

  • Learning and memory: Sleep helps the brain commit new information to memory through a process called memory consolidation. In studies, people who’d slept after learning a task did better on tests later.
  • Metabolism and weight: Chronic sleep deprivation may cause weight gain by affecting the way our bodies process and store carbohydrates, and by altering levels of hormones that affect our appetite.
  • Safety: Sleep debt contributes to a greater tendency to fall asleep during the daytime. These lapses may cause falls and mistakes such as medical errors, air traffic mishaps, and road accidents.
  • Mood: Sleep loss may result in irritability, impatience, inability to concentrate, and moodiness. Too little sleep can also leave you too tired to do the things you like to do.
  • Cardiovascular health: Serious sleep disorders have been linked to hypertension, increased stress hormone levels, and irregular heartbeat.
  • Disease: Sleep deprivation alters immune function, including the activity of the body’s killer cells. Keeping up with sleep may also help fight cancer. 
  • [source]

    For my age group, I’m supposed to be getting about 8 hours?!  I KNOW this is rarely the case, unfortunately.  Even when I’m in BED at a decent time, I can’t seem to get to sleep!  SOOO frustrating.

    Anyone else have issues with sleep patterns being disrupted?  Any tips on how you get proper rest?

    Oh  yeah!  AND don’t be afraid to JOIN THE MUSCLE MOVEMENT!  It’s the new “skinny”, after all! 😉

    Only one more day to enter the Crayola Giveaway & the Amazing Grass Giveaway!

     

    Hope you all had GREAT weekends!

     

    XO.

    4 responses »

    1. Ah, I feel you on this. My sleeping sched. has been wack!

      Reply
    2. Yeahhhhhh!
      i ❤ you!
      you and your boy are SOOO adorable!! I LOVE HIKING!

      Reply
    3. If you want to start going to bed earlier just do about 30 minutes at a time. My body can’t go to sleep at 9:00 even though some nights I really want to. My body has learned to get tired and go to bed around 10:30.

      Reply
    4. Great post girl! Love yoooo blog. Sleep is so important but so easy to miss out on…we gotta give our body what it needs! can’t wait to keep reading xoxo Claire

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

