RSS Feed

It Wasn’t Sunday, But I Had One For Breakfast :)

Posted on

“I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining
As the thunder rolls,
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives and takes away
And I’ll praise You in this storm, And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are, No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried, You hold in Your hand
You never left my side, And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm”

Do you find it difficult to praise God and thank Him for what He’s given us even when things aren’t so pleasant?  I know I do!  I was listening to this Casting Crowns song on my way to work this morning and couldn’t help but share it. 

Breakfast, however, I will NOT be sharing.  I think I scarfed it up in about 2 minutes flat.  Who says sundaes are only for dessert!?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Arctic Zero “frozen dessert” with heated mashed banana ontop

The warm, sweet banana gently melted away at the fudge-like peanut buttery ice cream and it tasted just as decadent as it looks.

 I love that I can down a pint of this Arctic Zero for just 150 calories, 0g fat, and 16g of whey protein!  Combine it with the mushy naner and you’ve got a nice combo of protein & carbs to start your day off right.

Lunch & Dinner (part 1) were of the packed nature.  Since I had class (and my exam!) from 6-8, with a workout in between, I knew I’d want something to tide me over until I got home. 

Spinach salads with sliced red, orange, & yellow pepper, cherry tomatoes, carrots, and cukes.  Topped with chickpeas & drizzled with Balsamic Vinegar.

Twin hugh jasses.

You know what they say!  Pair it with a carb, right, Holly? 

1 La Tortilla Factory Whole Wheat High Fiber Low Carb wrap spread with Sonoma Jack’s Pepperjack Cheese & Apricot SF Jam + Fiber

Anddd to eat with dinner’s salad I this beaut was packed up:

1 Lite Whole Grain High Fiber Thomas English Muffin sprayed twice with ICBINB spray + sprinkled with cinnamon & organic zero.

The ladies at work get a kick out of the fact that I bring my HUGE salads to work in old cookie dough containers…I can’t help it they’re the biggest ones I have! 🙂

After work, I hit the gym, like most other Monday’s.

  • 35 minutes Cross Ramp (various intervals)
  • Planks
  • Pushups
  • 5 minutes vigorous biking
  • 5 minutes quick sprint on the dreadmill
  • 10 minutes extra on the Cross Ramp

I made it a quickie since I wanted to get some extra study time in before the big exam.  This week is going to be NUTS.  An exam & a final in a matter of 3 days.

When I got home, I packed up lunch & dinner for the next day, uploaded pictures, and made myself a delicious Vanilla CHAI SmoothieInABowl.

1 scant scoop Vanilla Chai AM, 1/2 c. unsweet almond milk, palm full of frozen spinach, 1 frozen banana, + water

to enjoy while watching the Bachelor Pad.

[source]

Unpictured eats!

Soooo you wanna know who won the AMAZING GRASS GIVEAWAY?!?

Let’s have a looksie 😀

Natalie of A Hint Of Cinnamon!  Congratulations, girl!  Make sure to send me an email with your full mailing address so I can forward the info to Teri to get you your FANTASTIC prize!

Two Question Tuesday:

  1. Do you ever struggle with giving God the glory even when you’re going through rough times?  How do you snap yourself back into realizing all the positive instead of focusing on the negative??
  2. Did you watch the Bachelor Pad last night?! What did you think?!

  3. SPEAKING of Bachelor PAD, my girl Danica (who I always chat with about the shows) is having an AWESOME Sam’s Club Membership giveaway along with $25 from MyBlogSpark!  Make sure you enter!

XOXO.

15 responses »

  1. What a healthy and nourishing day! Esp. love the look of that salad!

    Reply
  2. i struggle a lot with this! sometimes i find religion is soothing during difficult times but then when things are going smoothly i devote less time to prayer/church which i feel is a bit hypocritical. (i also struggle with my religion in general because as a catholic i don’t agree with 100% of what my church does/teaches). however when it comes down to it, i believe in god and the bible’s teachings.

    ps icecream for bfast is genius! i realllllly wanna buy that brand but may wait for a holiday when i get amazon gift cards 😉

    Reply
    • Hey Andrea! I know what you mean. I feel that way many times too, but then again, I think it’s great that we REALIZE it. God is convicting us! 🙂 It’s so neat to hear about how God is working in the lives of those around us as he’s working in us as well. I think no matter how you look at things, ANYONE could be considered “hypocritical”. It’s not that we don’t TRY to follow everything the way we should, but we’re BOUND to mess up. God knows that. If we were perfect, we wouldn’t need his helP! 🙂 You have to let me know what you think if you get to try it! I’m hoping the brand expands so it will be available in stores!!! Xo Have a great day, darling! -Sami

      Reply
  3. It is SO hard to praise God through the struggles. I have had so many times when I have asked God why he is punishing me, but I know that everything is for a reason and it is building me up for Heaven. Everything that I have been through has taught me something, God teaches lessons through pain. He doesnt want to see us sad, but a Father needs to help his children grow. As Casting Crowns say “I will praise you in this storm.”

    Reply
  4. Ha ha! I love it that you take salads to work in old cookie dough containers! That’s really funny and adorable!

    Yeah, I find it hard to praise God when I’m going through struggles but I also find when I do the burden feels so much lighter. I just try to trust that there is a BIG PICTURE and in that big picture my struggle is only a speck. For some reason that brings me comfort.

    Reply
  5. I try to remind myself that he will never lay more on my shoulders then I can handle. Struggles are what make us stronger!

    Reply
  6. DiningAndDishing

    I enjoyed the season finale of the Bachelorette so I admit the Bachelor Pad is tempting! But I don’t think I’ll let myself…I know I’ll get hooked!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  7. why do you tease me so with your arctic zero and WHY won’t they start selling it in stores near me and WHY does it have to be so damn expensive.

    Reply
  8. watching bachelor pad RIGHT now!! woo woo

    Reply
  9. I just finished reading a whole bunch of your posts. I love your blog! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    Reply
  10. This is another sign we were meant to be friends- I have been randomly listening to Castings Crowns as well. I usually leave my radio on all night, and I’ve awoken randomly a few times around 1-3am and there is THIS song always playing. I always meant to write down to words so I could google them later…but always fell back asleep. I finally scribbled some down the other day, and low and behold, it was Casting Crowns If We Ever Needed You. Turns out another song that I had heard repeatedly, but couldn’t remember was by them as well!
    What a crazy week you have! Good luck with all! I’ll be thinking of you! And your BDAY!!!
    So excited for you!!
    Love, Barbara

    Reply
  11. That salad with the chickpeas looks delicious!

    Reply
  12. Cute blog, enjoyed myself, thanks.

    Reply
  13. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    Reply
  14. I love that you eat ice cream for breakfast! 🙂 Where do you get that ice cream!? I thought you could only find it online!? I need to get some of that stat! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

