RSS Feed

My Body Is My Temple.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.”

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

How perfect is this verse for a foodie blog?  I mean, honestly, I think we lose sight of why we do our best to take care of our bodies, nutritionally and healthfully speaking?  Of course we all want to LOOOK good, but my reasoning goes FAR deeper than that.  My body IS my temple.  I want to fuel it with the best things that I can and take care of it the way GOD wants me to!  This MEANS being STRONG & HEALTHY not skinny and fragile.  Are you part of the muscle movement, yet?  

Before I get started, THANK YOU FOR ALL of your kind comments on the posts lately!  I’m loving hearing all the feedback! XO.  Yes, that was my “littlest” sister who got her 2nd hole piercing this weekend! 🙂

I decided in honor of building more muscle, pizza was in order for breakfast.

1 WW High Fiber Low Carb La Tortilla Factory wrap, toasted in the oven and then topped with plain greek yogurt mixed with SF Log Cabin syrup and cinnamon,

sliced sweet nectarine, Megafruit

baby pineapple

 and a sprinkling of granola.

Pretty epic if I do say so myself. 

Lunch, again was of the packed variety.  Thankfully I didn’t have to pack another dinner because I had a volleyball match and noooo class last night. 

Baby bell peppers, blueberry Chobani, and a veggie and hummus wrap on a La Tortilla Factory WW Low Carb High Fiber wrap.

Wanna take a gander at the goods in the wrap?  Okay, if you insist 🙂

Spinach, zucchini, tomato, onion, and hummus + salsa + mustard.

Along with a shizzzton of water that I drink every single day while sitting at my desk at work.  I found a new love to accommodate my camel-like qualities, too!

It’s as big as my head!  And omg. JUST realized my boob is out.  See the closure on my necklace?  It’s called a boob 🙂

Sun-Flax Raisin - All Raw Organic Bread

Backkkk to the important stuff.  At my desk, I nibbled on a slice of Love Force raw raisin bread at around 3PM. mmmm.

 Next up, dinnah.  The boy came over after work, and I made some Vegetarian Sloppy Joes from Fantastic Foods,

which is EXCELLENT (and SUPER EASY!).  I used Arrabiata Mario Batali sauce in place of tomato paste which ended up being a GREAT decision.  It added a little extra KICK to the mix!  Anddd I couldn’t help but add some sugar free Log Cabin to the mix to sweeten it up because I like my BBQ a lil’ sweet & spicy.  SOOO good!

 With some greens on the side for a lil’ veggie power.  This means, I had 3 total La Tortilla Factory wraps in one day.  Totally NOT uncommon.  I lurrrrrveee these babies.  Between their company and Amazing Grass, I’m not sure who I love more.

Speaking of LOVE!  One of my absolute favorite ladies in the blogosphere sent me this delicious looking package which put a smile on my face for the rest of the night!

The card was SO cute.  It made me giggle for about 10 minutes.  Thank you SOOOOO much, Danica!! ❤ you!!

My volleyball game was at 8:15, so we just relaxed and watched HG TV together until it was time to leave at about 7:30.  For privacy reasons, how about we call him FFBF (Freckled Foodie BoyFriend)?  We ended up losing our match, which means sand volleyball is over for the season!  Everything is coming to an end it feels like.  I’ve got my math final today, too! PLEASE pray for me 🙂

My consolation prize upon my arrival home was this creamy dessert, preceded by FFBF “singing” to me the whole way home.

Cookies N’ Cream Arctic Zero

Three Question Thursday!

1.  What made you smile today?  Great blog friends & packages, the boyyy, God’s messages, delicious eats, and all of you!

2.  Don’t you feel like summer is coming to a quick close??!  What’s one thing left that you want to accomplish or get to do before the warm weather is completely over?  I’d like to kayak on the river!  And maybe take a day trip to NYC!

3.  What is one way you’re “honoring your temple” for God? I treat my body with respect through mindful eating, without being restrictive, and with my MUSCLE movement on the rise!

XOXO.

PS! Start your weekend off right by entering the She Fit Chocolite giveaway!

12 responses »

  1. GOOD LUCK ON YOUR FINAL!!!!!

    hehe i LOVE sheep 🙂
    and i had a huge water jug just like that but i ended up throwing it out cuz i never used it. damn i wish i had it again, theyre massive huh!!

    Reply
  2. DiningAndDishing

    I’m flying home to Cleveland tonight and that’s making me smile all day! Your breakfast pizza looks so delicious. I’ve never made one of those but they’re so pretty! A must, very soon :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  3. love your breakfast pizza! haha way to start the day on an italian note 😉

    i’ll give you an amen to the body being a temple!

    Reply
  4. i LOVE that verse!!! That is one of my FAVS!! It has gotten me through a lot!! 🙂
    love your bfast pizza girl!!! i need to make that, and drizzle PB on it. YUM!

    Reply
  5. Your breakfast pizza is a novel idea!! I am attending the Healthy Living Summit in Chicago this weekend and I think I will make these, roll them up like a burrito and pack in my cooler!
    Love your Bible reference!

    Reply
  6. Omg your eats look so so yummy!! I wish I was more of a water drinker, but I have a baby size bladder lol Amen for our body being a temple. And it is GODS temple, so we need to treat it the best we can!!

    Reply
  7. Breakfast pizza is a genius idea! I need to try it (it sounds perfect for anytime, not just bfast!). My sand vball season is over this week too and I’m bummed. Summer is coming to a close very quickly and quite unexpectedly 😦

    Reply
  8. Oooo…I love the ‘sweet’ pizza idea! I always make pizza’s with Latortilla wraps …but have not tried a sweet version yet! 🙂 Great Idea!

    I got the choc/pb artic zero and the vanilla! I will let you know what I think…I LOVE ice cream..so I know i’ll love it! 😉

    Reply
  9. Love your blog its awesome!!! Hope you did good on your final 🙂 …And totally part of the muscle movement!

    Reply
  10. Hey! I just found your blog and I just wanted to let you know you’re very inspiring to me! I am currently struggling with disordered eating, so it is very refreshing to see this type of mindset! Also I LOVE that verse about honoring our bodies, I am going to try to remember that a lot during my recovery journey! Thanks again, and I hope to get to know you more! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Breakfast pizza = genius!!!!

    I am so glad your package finally arrived – enjoy it all!

    Happy Friday!

    Reply
  12. I love baby bell peppers, they are fabulous! You are so awesome girl! I am honoring my body by tuning more into my self awareness and filling it with whole foods yayy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

