RSS Feed

Welcome To The World, Baby Bo!

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“Since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.”

– 2 Corinthians 7:1

I’m apologizing now for not telling you all right away…but there are some things that I just can’t share on the blog right away…As many of you may know, I announced awhile ago that my best friend and cousin, Brandi was pregnant!

We were all a little worried about her because of all the health trials she’s already been through.  Pregnancy is DEFINITELY a miraculous thing that the body handles.  She and the hubs were headed to a wedding in Philly this weekend, when she started bleeding.  Jare (hubs) rushed her to the closest hospital, and there, Baby Bowman was born at 1 pound 10.1 ounces

Needless to say, we were all praying for Bran and Baby Bo the entire time.  I hated that I couldn’t be there for her!  The weekend was JAM packed, but I HAD to see her.

Saturday morning, FF Seester’s birthday, I woke up & ate a lil’ bitta breakfast.

1 Whole Grain, High Fiber Thomas English Muffin with frozen berries heated in the microwave and drizzled with Calorie Free Walden Farms chocolate syrup

Then I headed downstairs to bike for about an hour before the day got started.  After showering, we spent sometime together and gave the birthday girl her gifts aorund 10AM. 

I got her a cute hoodie from Abercrombie,

some Pink body splash from Vicky’s Secret, and some random earring and other jewelry from Claire’s (mostly earrings since she just got another hole!)

And then there was singing…

…and Carvel cake.  Carvel cakes in my family are like Pepperidge Farm Cakes in Kristin’s family.  After the birthday celebration, the rest of the family headed out to a baby shower, and I got ready to make a road trip to Philly with the boy.

Before I left, I whipped up some lunchhhh.

Egg white omelette with spinach, broccoli, red pepper, and onion topped with a dollop of Cedar’s Garlic Lover’s Hommos.

Mmmm.  I also had a green moster on the side made with 1/2 scoop Vanilla Chai AM (I’m trying to make this stuff last as long as possible!!!), 1/2 C. Unsweet Almond Breeze, and 3/4 frozen banana.

I also ate the rest of my shrimpies from the night at Arooga’s.

When we finally got to the hospital, no one was allowed to see baby Bo except the six people selected to be on the list (parents, grandparents, and siblings). 

We arrived around 3PM, and basically waited in the room outside the NICU the entire time so we could see the bestie.  She was in with the baby most of the time while we were there, and I was just happy to be there for her.

Besides the boy and I, the bestie’s sister & her hubs + kids were down along with my Aunt (bestie’s Momma). 

Between us and the kids, we stayed entertained.

We wanted to take the new parents out to dinner somewhere, but we could see that they were exhausted.  We weren’t ready for our time with them to be over quite yet, so we grabbed some dinner at about 6:30PM in the cafeteria at the hospital.  They had quite the selection, and I was pleasantly surprised!

I hit the salad bar and filled my plate with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, broccoli, peppers, carrots, sliced turkey, and a little bit of three bean salad on the top.  I used balsamic vinegar for dressing.

For dessert, I grabbed a cup of Light N’ Fit  blueberry yogurt (which is by NO means Chobani competition, but it was the only option) and a baby pear.

From there, we said our goodbyes and left for home.  I was sad to leave and it felt like the time with them flew by.  I can’t believe they’re going to have to be there until the due date!  (Nov. 16) But at least I know the baby will be in good hands, which is the most important thing. 

I’m thinking I’ll definitely take at least one more trip down to visit!  We even made it back in time to see a movie with some friends!  I’ll tell you what, I was ZONKED by the time I got home at about midnight!

How did you spend YOUR Saturday?

 

XO.

12 responses »

  1. Aw yay for baby Bowman!!
    And those flowers are seriously gorgeous!
    I spent Saturday taking Axell to the vet for her check-up, went to some garage sales, saw The Expendables (so good!), and ate WAY to much sweets!!
    Glad you had a good weekend, and that you’re smiling again (:

    Oh and how is the Walden Farm’s choc. syrup? I’ve tried a few of their products, but never that. I’m always hesitant to buy it- their so expensive, I don’t want to buy it and then end up throwing it out!

    Reply
  2. congrats on bo!!! that’s so exciting 🙂

    and looks like the sis had an awesome birfdaaay!

    Reply
  3. Wow busy girl!! And happy bday to the sister!! I will most def be keeping the baby in my prayers. Babies and children hold a special place in myheart, so little Bo will be in my thoughts and prayers often. Keep us updated on the status!! (if its not too personal of course! Dont want to be all nosy into your life! lol)

    Reply
  4. Awww congrats girl!!!
    that cake looks GOOD! how was it? I LOVE ICE CREAM CAKES!! And im pleasantly surprised with my hospitals cafeteria too!

    Reply
    • thanks katie!! i actually don’t like those cakes. they’re total sugar bombs and make me feel yucky after i eat them. my momma got me a vitacake to sing happy birthday so i had some of that! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Aw I am certainly praying for the little one. I know that he is in God’s hands…and don’t get too busy girl, enjoy life! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Freckled Foodie's Blog

  7. DiningAndDishing

    Aw, I’ll be thinking of Baby Bo and her family!! The support of loved ones is so important during times like this and it’s great that you could be there for them :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  8. lilveggiepatch

    Congrats to Bo and Brandi! So exciting… thinking of them and wish the health and happiness.

    Reply
  9. That is wonderful news! You are an aunt!! What a wonderful day!! I am so happy for you Sammie! You seem so happy lately! It couldn’t happen to a more wonderful and deserving person! Have a wonderful weekend!
    XOXOX
    Barbara
    – I am so happy for your best friend! I am sending her a big hug and a congratulations! Lots of prayers!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Labor Day Weekend Recap #3 « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  11. Pingback: Wedding Progress. « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

