RSS Feed

Lunch In A Box.

Posted on

I feel like a failure with the Bible Challenge.  Please start holding me accountable, because this weekend I didn’t even TOUCH my Bible.  Talk about a super guilty conscience.

Here’s your verse of the day:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

-Jeremiah 29:11-13

Breakfast, for once was not the most blogworthy, so I don’t have photos.  Basically, it was an egg/oat puff with a protein shake on the side.  What do you think I should start calling them?  Eggoats?  Eggo might get offended.

Lunch however, WAS noteworthy.  Even if it was from a box.

Morningstar Farms Lasagna with Sausage-Style Crumbles.  I’m always a bit sketchy about frozen meals.  Otherwise I’d be eating them all the time due to convenience in the midst of a busy full-time worker, part-time student athlete lifestyle.  I’m sure some of you can relate!

The stats were pretty great, and the ingredients list was identifiable.   20g protein, 270 calories, 6g fiber, and not quite as much sodium as most frozen meals  contain. 

Usually, I worry that if something has great stats like this and comes in a box, it’s going to taste like one…but I gave it a try because Morningstar has never failed me in the past.  See all the veggies incorporated?!  I should’ve known that was a good sign.  It was GREAT.  A true comforting meal.  There was a perfect amount of distributed cheese throughout the dish, not overwhelmed by marinara sauce and piled with onion, kale, carrots, and red peppers

To bulk up the meal, and for some extra greens, I packed cucumber fries and yellow pepper slices.

After work, I headed to the gym at school, where I ate 1/2 of this beastly banana prior to ellipticizing for the next hourish.

After the fitness center, it was time for basketball open gym.  I finished up the banana beast in the locker room and measled my way into the gym.  We played three-on-three from about five til a little after six.

Max HR 184; Cals burned 818; Almost two-hour workout.

This heart rate monitor was the BEST purchase I’ve made for a long time.  Literally, I use it about EVERY day.

When I got home I whipped up a quick dinner.  One of my favorites, actually!  A whole bag of broccoli slaw, fat-free cottage cheese, Forty Spices Tribe hummus, lima beans, and fat-free marinara.

So many different textures from the cottage cheese curds to the starchy limas to the creamy hummus….it’s a party in your mouth, I tell ya 😉

On the side, I had some cooked butternut squash sliced and coated in sugar-free Artista Gourmet syrup & cinnamon

For icing on the cake squash, I mixed in some of the coconut sf syrup with a vanilla Chobani!

FOODgasm.  And yes, I eat the skin of the squashFiber, much?

I also may or may not have eaten a bowl of Oatmeal Squares cereal with a touch of brown sugar later on.  So sad that I waited so long to try them.  Quaker knows what’s up.  There was also an apple & a white peach consumed somewhere along the lines!

It’s already hump day, ya’ll!  Don’tcha love short work weeks?!

XO.

 

8 responses »

  1. That is such a great verse! I hear ya on the bible reading…my mind has been so scattered lately. I really need to just STOP and focus on God. I don’t know why I’m not! That lunch looks so good! I have never tried any morningstar items, but they always look so great!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! Its so silly how we focus on ALL the stuff in life that actually doesn’t mean anything in the scheme of things. It’s hard to keep the big picture in the forefront of our minds all the time. hang in there! 🙂 XO. Sami

      Reply
  2. Girl you are rocking these gym sessions!! What a great way to burn mega calories and do something you love! I wish everyone would find the joy in exercise like you do. 😉

    Did you get my email about Saturday?

    Reply
    • Hey girl! 🙂 I know! Wouldn’t it be nice? I tihnk the world would be a happier place as well, due to all the endorphins! haha. I JUST got it. That sounds like a plan, though! I’ll be looking forward to it!!

      Reply
  3. Sami!
    What a beautiful passage to start the day! Sorry for the lack of posting/commenting! Just know that you are truly in my prayers, and I do think of you as a sister (and I’m not just saying that!)!
    You are beautiful inside and out!
    Lots of love!
    Barbara

    Reply
    • Hey Barbara!!

      I’ve missed talking to you ! No problem at all, I totally understand. Things get crazy sometimes and life keeps you busy! 🙂 You are in my prayers as well! Of course. We ARE basically sisters. I’ve decided that. Haha. You, my dear are beautiful too! God thinks so too 🙂 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. -Psalm 139:14 XOXO. Sami

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lunch In A Box. « Freckled Foodie's Blog -- Topsy.com

  5. Wow great workout you got in! I wish I had a watch that kept track of my heart rate/calories burned. It would be interesting to see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

