RSS Feed

Lundberg Rice Cakes

Posted on

First off, let me start by thanking Ashley and Lundberg for sharing these wonderful little snacks with me.  Rice cakes are not “new” to the healthy living community…in fact, sometimes they’re downplayed for their lack of flavor and substance.  I used to be one of the people who wasn’t a fan, actually.  However, these Lundberg rice cakes really sparked my interest when I discovered the wholesome nature with which they’re made.  Check out this comparison of Lundberg to the leading brand:

Leading Brand INGREDIENTS:

WHOLE GRAIN BROWN RICE, CORN (WITH GERM REMOVED), SUGAR, FRUCTOSE, MALTODEXTRIN, NATURAL FLAVORS, CARAMEL COLOR, SALT, SOY LECITHIN.

VS. LUNDBERG INGREDIENTS:

ALL organic ingredients & more importantly, NO fructose! 

This company is FAMILY owned & operated which I LOVE.  They’ve got some totally unique flavors, too!  Check them ALL out.  There are two different varieties that the company offers, Eco-Farmed & OrganicBrown Rice, Cinnamon Toast, Flax with Tamari, Caramel Corn, Koku Seaweed, Mochi Sweet, Popcorn, Sesame Tamari, Sweet Green Tea with Lemon, Tamari with Seaweed, Wild Rice, Apple Cinnamon, Buttery Caramel, Honey Nut, Sesame Tamari, and Toasted Sesame.

I’d have to say that my favorite of all the ones I got to try, would have to be the Buttery Caramel.  I bet you could’ve seen that coming since I’ve got such a sweet tooth!  It was perfect crumbled ontop of vanilla greek yogurt!  It reminded me of the sweetness of kettle corn

As you probably know, rice cakes are pretty low in calories, but they make great snacks!  Especially to add “crunch” factor.  I also enjoyed the sweet variations crumbled atop my warm, creamy oats for a nice change from granola! 

Second favoriteTamari with Seaweed!   Yes, seaweed.  It’s salty and toasted well.  If you have never tried seaweed, now is the time!  The health benefits are pretty astounding!  Seaweed is known to cleanse the body and remove toxins!  Try them with a smear of fat free cream cheese & then a layer of salsa!

All the stats for the rice cakes were pretty similar, varying from 70-80 calories, 0-1g fat, 1g protein, 1g fiber.

With this company, you KNOW you’re getting the real deal .  They’re even HANDMADEFresh, whole-grain goodness with nearly twice-as-much rice as other brands, they’re flavorful and nutritious!

 You can use their online Store Locator to find out where you can pick some up in your area, or send in this mail in order form!  They’ve even got an online store.  Show your support and become a fan on Facebook!

 

 

4 responses »

  1. I love rice cakes!!! I eat 2 a day when I have them in the house…they r so good. Sweet or savory!!

    Reply
  2. mmmm my new fav snack is pb&j on a plain rice cake! it’s the perfect combo of sweet and salty 🙂

    Reply
  3. I seriously love rice cake. i know people make fun of them as crappy diet food, but I honestly like them regardless of calories. 🙂 I haven’t had them in forever though! I should hunt down the Lundberg brand! thanks for the comparison between the leading brand!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! They get such a bad rap! I love them too. They make a great snack! Ever tried them broken and mixed into trail mix? SO good. Especially the sweet ones like the Caramel Corn 🙂 Hope you can find Lundberg! They’re wonderful. XO.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

