RSS Feed

Breast Cancer & Bands & Baseball, Oh My!

Posted on

Happy Monday, folks.

My weekend left me looking like this on my way to work this morning.  My start time is at 8am, and I definitely didn’t make it in until about 9:30.  The day is just beginning, and I am surprisingly not too tired after being out until 2am…but before I get ahead of myself, let’s start at the beginning…

It started off on Saturday morning with the Walk for Breast Cancer on City Island.  I sported a tshirt that said “Save 2nd Base” 🙂  Get it? 

  

My friend from high school, Mandy and I walked with her Mom (a Breast Cancer survivor, sister, and cousin along with this little lady who got to come along for the ride 🙂

TOO cute.  Her shirt says, “I stroll for my Grandma!”

It was a gorgeous day for the walk (although a bit chilly!), and I originally had plans to meet up with Lauren afterward, but timing was really bad. 

[source]

My group was running late and she had an appointment she had to leave for!

Check out those blue skies!

When I got home from the walk, I passed out until about 2PM.  I was exhausted and not feeling too well.  I think I’ve got a head cold…totally congested! 

Anyway, next I did Insane Abs & biked until I reached these stats.  After the workout, I grabbed a quick bite to eat, a shower, and prepped for the night out with Mandy!

We had tickets to go watch some friends play in their band at a local joint.  We stayed until about 10PM and then came home and hung out for awhile.

This picture isn’t of them, but their band is called “Fight From The Kid” and they’re pretty awesome.  I bought a CD for $5 and we’re going back again on Oct. 30th to their Halloween show!  They will be playing all Taking Back Sunday songs. 

Speaking of Sunday…haha.

It started out with a nice Insanity workout with some biking before church. 

After a shower & some breakfast, I left for the day, not to return until after church, I picked up some groceries on the way home and restocked on my Bare Esscentuals makeup at Ulta.

I will never go back to another makeup after using this stuff.  I don’t buy all of their line of products, but the face stuff is a MUST

Warmth all-over face color and Thistle blush were my purchases.  When I finally got home, I felt like an effortless lunchDr. McDougall’s to the rescue!

Kinda ironic that this is a food & fitness blog and this is probably the ONLY picture of a meal that I have from this weekend.  What can I say?  This weekend was not about the food.  It was about the experiences! 🙂

Although…these stats ARE pretty impressive, along with the BEST ingredients list.  ❤  LOVE this soup.  AND is it weird that I like these soups straight from the box?  Cold and all?  haha.  I had greek yogurt, too.

I did some homework (have I mentioned that I DESPISE functions?)

and got ready for the NEXT event on my Sunday agenda, which involved me dressing in red, white, and blue, cheering like a phanatic, and taking a visit to the city of brotherly love.  Can you guess?

How about now??

YEP!  If you guessed the Phillies playoff game, you’d be correct!  My Godfather picked me up at 4PM with a carload of other guys in our family, and we headed for Philly!

There was an Eagles game that same day, so we left with plenty of time taken into account for traffic.  I packed a sandwich and some veggies to take with me to eat while the guys downed some cheesesteaks 🙂

Tailgates, pregaming, and lots of festivities surrounded the field! 

More important than the excitement of the game, was the company I had along the way!  My Godfather & I don’t get to spend as much time together as I’d like and it was a real treat for me to get to spend my Sunday night with him!

Isn’t he adorable?! 🙂

Soon after this photo, my camera died, so although I made tons of memories, I don’t have documentation.  Sorry!  I did, however get to keep one of the practice balls!  A guy on the field threw it to me!!!  I was super excited. 

How were YOUR weekends?  Food based or experience based? 🙂

XO.

9 responses »

  1. Sooo jealous you went to a game!! I would die to! Although I’mna Giants fan 😉

    Reply
  2. Go Phillies! Go Eagles! You are definitely a lucky gal to have been in Philly yesterday!

    Reply
  3. Sounds like an eventful weekend! Love the shirt btw 😉 I should really buy one of those, but I just KNOW no one would get it, and then I would have to explain to them that it was about saving tatas lol Owell. I still think its cute!

    Reply
  4. Awwww, darling! I am so sorry we missed each other. I feel just awful, really I have been feeling so bad about it for the past few days. I really want to make up for it! We need to reschedule very soon.

    Wow, how in the world do you burn so many calories?? I’m seriously in awe of your ability to have the most intense workouts, no matter what you do. I must have an abnormally low HR because even if I work out for hours and hours, I still can never burn more than a few hundred calories.

    AHHHH So jealous you went to the Phillies game!!!!!! We are DIE HARD fans here. This is by far, my favorite time of year for Philly teams. Much Philly Love! 🙂

    Reply
  5. those soups are soo good. the lentil one is my favorite 🙂

    Reply
  6. DiningAndDishing

    I like to incorporate food into my experiences – I think that combo makes for the best kind of weekend :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  7. LOVE bare minerals! whooo!

    Reply
  8. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.
    Hello. Great job. I did not expect this on a Wednesday. This is a great story. Thanks!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Phillies Phanatic & Pizza Palooza. « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

