RSS Feed

Random Acts of Kindness.

Posted on

“I saw a man today, his whole world across his back
A living monument opposed to my success
I tried to look into his eyes as he shuffled past my car
Sweat beading on his skin, his clothes and hair a mess

As the light turned green and I pulled away
He slowly disappeared
Just a memory of another chance
I failed to show Your love here

I wanna love because You loved
I wanna give because You gave
I wanna reach my hand out to the lost
‘Cause I know Your hand will save”

-Only You Can Save by: Chris Sligh

As I listened to the Word FM this morning on my way to work (who’s having their “SHARE-A-THON” right now since they’re ), I thought about the lyrics in this song.  Am I taking every opportunity to show God’s love to othersAm I grate ful for everything I have and give til it hurts, on fire for God?  Some days I actually feel guilty for taking for granted everything I’ve been blessed with.  I’ll bet lots of people would kill for a breakfast like this one.Underneath all the toppings, there was a sliced up piece of Wheat & Flax bread from the Baker, layered with 1 strawberry Chobani, and 1 sliced kiwi (skin on for xtra fiber! :))  Toppings today were 1 tbsp. nanna flakes, a sprinkling of Udi’s Gluten-free Vanilla granola, and a tiny spoonful of NuttZo.

 ❤

Another thing I’ve been thinking about lately is my testimony.  I feel SO convicted when I’m on the basketball court and accidentally take the Lord’s name in vain.  It doesn’t happen often, but when it does, I feel so remorseful.  I mean, I’m there for so much more than to just play basketball again.  I want to be a positive influence on the girls!  I want to show them God’s love.  I feel like a total failure when I let out an “OH God!” at practice…they don’t think twice, because a lot of them have never been told that it’s wrong, but I feel so shameful the rest of practice, like God is tugging on my heart.  If that’s how my teammates see a proclaimed Christian act,  then why would they want to become one?   It’s not any different than anyone else?   I know it’s like expecting perfection, which is impossible, but I am praying that God helps me keep a positive attitude no matter WHAT. 

Morningstar Farms Lasagnaaa; 270 calories, 20g protein, 5g fat.

It was the perfect day for a meal like this at lunchtime.  Rainy, cold and dreary.  Just the recipe for a comforting meal…even if I had to eat at my work desk.

With a spinach salad on the side for some extra greenage (baby spinach, diced red & yellow pepper, carrots, alfalfa sprouts, and apple cider vinegar+sf raspberry torani for dressing)

I was officially offered the promotion at work! 🙂  Which I was really excited about.  I’ll be in classification & placement beginning the 19th!  Which of course means another building change.  Change can be good, right?  We’ll see.  The nice thing is, since it’s within my bureau, I have 3 months to change my mind if I want.  I can bounce back into my old position at any time.

On a random note, I got some much needed new basketball shorts.

Pretty basic, but soooo comfortable.  I got them in lime green, too!

After work, I had a banana for gym fuel.

[source]

He was camera shy, so I posted one of his cousin 🙂  Elliptical & ab work in the fitness center (about 45 minutes), and then basketball practice at 5PM.

991 calories, 2:40: 15, max hr 181

I must be getting into better shape because I can’t get my hr up like I had in the beginning!  Then again, it wasn’t quite as strenuous at practice either.

No class on Thursdays, so I headed home to make a delicious dinner.

SALAD beast with baby spinach, sliced tomato, halved green beans, alfalfa sprouts, 1/4 C. fat free cottage cheese, 1/4 avocado, sliced red & yellow pepper, and fat free Vidalia Onion dressing.

Just 20 calories in 2 tbsp!  Not shabby. 

And LOVE the taste.  It’s creamy, too!

For some carbage, I had two slices of The Baker’s bread + Pecan Pie Butter

Mmmmm.  I can tell already, that this Pecan Pie Butter is not going to last long…*tear*  All I can do is savor it while it lasts! 🙂

Later on, I also had some protein hot chocolate to soothe the soul ❤  Warm, comforting and delicious.  Courtesy of Optimum Nutrition.  It’s amazing what a hot shower and a cup o’ comfort can do for an achy athletic girl on a Thursday night.

RANDO question to start the weekending early:

What’s the last random act of kindness you’ve shown someone? 

Mine was the other night on my way to class.  A little boy (probably waiting for his mom/dad to get done with class) was sitting in the lobby searching on the floors for something.  He couldn’t have been more than 7 or 8 and had the sweetest grin & deep brown eyes.  He was wearing a puffer jacket and I asked him what he was looking for.  Apparently he was pretty desperate for some candy because the M&M machine was calling out to him and he was looking for change 🙂  I offered up 50 cents and his face totally lit up.  It’s the little things!

XO.

4 responses »

  1. Totally understabd what u mean. Everyday I wonder if I am taking everything for granted. I should be thankful I can even walk, instead of being depressed I can only run 1 mile. I should be thankful I have the opportunity to indulge, instead of being pissed I ate too much candy. Sometimes I think we look at life too closely, instead of trying to see it through Gods perfect eyes.

    Congrats on the promotion girl 🙂

    Reply
  2. DiningAndDishing

    That is the sweetest that you gave that little boy money for candy – probably made his day!! 🙂

    Not only do random acts of kindness make other people happy, they are a great way to make ourselves feel good. Win-win!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  3. That salad looks good – especially with the fat free dressing. I wish we could get all these healthy dressings in the UK! xx

    Reply
  4. Yes, my mouth has me saying things that I know I shouldn’t. I appreciate the honesty in your post, and God Bless you in your walk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

