RSS Feed

Thank God for Veterans :)

Posted on
Verse of the Day
If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new”
—2 Corinthians 5:17

3/4 C. Fiber select cereal base, 1 fage 0% yogurt mixed with sf raspberry syrup, topped with banana slices, unsweet coconut, 3/4 packet cocoa roasted almonds, and Udi’s gf original granola with fiber select sprinkles

Chocolate-coconut covered, banana-raspberry almond breakfast parfait…and yes, it was as amazing as it looks.

Thank you to all the VETS out there for your service and selflessness.  I had a beautiful day off, and I hope you did too. 

 I even got to enjoy lunch with my favorite veteran 🙂

You guessed it!  Poppa Freckled Foodie was my dining companion.  I spent the morning helping him in the office (he’s a self-employed professional engineer), so he treated me to lunch at our favorite chinese place.

I got the usual…I was CRAVING all the steamed veggies.  Chinese places really know how to cook their veggies.  For real. 

Steamed shrimp & vegetablesss.  Nix the bok choy + extra broccoli, just the way I like it.

Lunch was so great.  I love when I feel like I can just sit back and chat with my Daddy about anything.  Those times are few and far between, unfortunately, but when they DO happen, I’m happier than a kid in a candy store.  Love him so much! 

Afterward, my girl Mandy & I hit the consignment store.  I had some clothes to donate & I cashed in on my last donation, picking up a cute grey, wool dress originally from GAP and a shirt dress that I found in the store from Eddie Bauer! 

I also ate a gala apple & a vitatop along with 2 pitted dates before basketball practice at 5PM.  It was over by 6:45 and I had reached a pretty high max HR again 🙂 

Afterward, I refueled with some dinnerr.

Lox in a vegetable wrap, dipped in light toasted asian sesame dressing. 

Those clear-ish wraps that all the goodies are tucked into were found at the consignment store!  They’ve put in a “grocery section” and I was a little iffy about buying something that was found there, but it was a great purchase!  🙂  The stuff was never actually USED before and the package still had the “safety” label intact.  I actually scored a jar of Barney Butter for $3.50! Can you believe that?

I had a Zone Perfect Oatmeal Raisin bar for dessert before bed.  It was divineeee.  Just like eating cookie dough!

Mandy even bought some goodies while we were out today, and she wanted to show me how she’s used them to incorporate into her lunch today!

Way to go, Mandy!  Super healthy & well-rounded 😉

Before you closeout your computer today, be sure to enter Anne’s AWESOME oatmeal giveaway!  It’s only open til 4PM so get to it!

How was your Veteran’s Day spent?

XO.

14 responses »

  1. Hey lady,

    I didn’t know your dad was a veteran. What was he in, the army? That chinese food looks yummy. I had a great time at the consignment shop with you. 🙂 However, I opened a fiber one bar I got there at part of the chocolate has turned white from being old. 😦 I might try to take them back. The rest of my purchases seem good and I think Evie will love that Christmas book. “Barney Butter for 3 bucks your coming home with me” LOL

    Reply
    • Actually, he was in the Air Force! 🙂 I know! I had a blastt. I’m sorry about your fiber one bars!! I’m sure they’ll take them back. I had a 1/2 barney butter & sugar free strawberry jelly sandwich today with a salad. it TOTALLY hit the spot…<3 did you get to try your crunchy BB yet? xo.

      Reply
  2. Woot go me! lol

    Reply
  3. oh awesome. Go poppa FF! lol its not your fault. I hope to get my money back. That sounds like a yummy lunch too. I tasted a little bit of my crunchy BB on a spoon and I’m not sure yet. lol I think I need to try it on bread to decide. 🙂

    Reply
    • Haha. May I recommend melting it a little firsttt?? It is awesomeee that way…or stirred into HOT oatmeal with cinnamon & bananas…then it really gets melty and delicious. 😀

      Reply
  4. Thanks to your papa for his service 🙂 I have a special place in my heart for men in uniform 🙂

    Reply
  5. i love when i get huge vegetable cravings. its funny how i can buy so many of them and think they will last me forever..yet in not even 2 days all be gone, then back out to the store again lol.

    Veterans day was freeeezing here, but i stayed for 10 min to watch the parade before my frozen toes almost fell off 😛

    xoxo

    Reply
  6. I always think of my grandpa on Veterans’ Day. So nice you got to spend the day with your dad.

    KILLA run! Look at you, lady!

    Reply
  7. Aw! Daddy’s little girl. That just SO warms my heart….your favorite veteran.

    I have a secret belief that the secret to chinese veggies has to do with a steamer basket and it’s on my list to santa. I will let you know.

    Or maybe it just always tastes better when someone else does it. And your in the company of an awesome dude like your dad (and its his treat…LOL)

    Anyways…since you did Asian stylee twice in one post I have to suggest you pick up some Braggs Amino Acids as an alternative to soy sauce. It’s a recent obsession of mine. So nutritious and tastes like … ahhhh…it just works. Like a light soy or tamari with a slight hint of maple syrup.

    ~Missy

    Reply
    • Hey Missy!! 🙂 Yes, it was a great little date with Daddy. THAT is so true. I need to get my hands on a steamer basket too! I hope Santa is good to you 😉 GUESS WHAT? I actually founds bragg’s at my farmer’s market and picked some up awhile ago! I just haven’t gotten a chance to put i tto use yet! I did use it with sugar free syrup & chili powder to marinate my veggies this weekend!! you’ll see in the post later this morning 😉 XO. thanks for the tip! I love hearing about new products! hope your weekend was fab! -Sami

      Reply
  8. That food looks really good.
    Thanks

    Reply
  9. Hey Sami. Just wanted to let you know you won my giveaway 🙂 If you e.mail me your address, I’ll mail your goodies right away.

    Reply
  10. I’ve never had a zone bar before, but are they good? They look pretty good. And tell your dad (and any other veterans) thanks for serving our country! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

