RSS Feed

I Get Down And He Lifts Me Up.

Posted on

I think Audio Adrenaline sings it best…

“All I need’s another day
Where I can’t seem to get away
From the many things that drag me down, yeah
I’m sure you’ve had a day like me
Where nothing seems to set you free
From the burdens you can’t carry all alone
In your weakness He is stronger
In Your darkness He shines through
When you’re crying He’s your comfort
When your all alone, He’s carrying you”

The way to work felt like a tornado, literally and figuratively.  It wasn’t real cold, but it was super windy and rainy, leaving me to arrive at work in a drowned rat fashion since my umbrella wouldn’t go up.  Before I even arrived at my parking spot, I had been through a whirlwind.  I needed to stop for gas on the way there, and upon paying, the wind knocked my credit card right out of my hands, leaving me to scurry across the parking lot feeling like an idiot trying to catch up.  Every time I got close, it moved a little farther in another direction.  People probably got a kick out of this who were watching, but the fury was building quickly.  Next, I got stuck behind the SLOWEST creature in all of Harrisburg.

Even my cereal shake sitting in my tummy was not enough to keep me from being totally irritable.  The positive attitude that I was striving to keep quickly diminished and I’m not proud to say that I was extremely frustrated and grumpy for most of the morning.  Just felt like one thing after another!  In addition, I got to work to find that my dinner had leaked into my entire lunchbox creating a wonderful tomato mess for me to clean up.

To make matters worse, I had accidentally misplaced my Mom’s lunch for today while packing up my lunch and dinner the night before.  No one could seem to find it and I was to blame.  By lunchtime I just felt defeated.

1 Hans All Natural Chicken Sausage with spinach, reduced sugar ketchup, mustard, baby spinach, and carmelized onion on a ww thin bun with green beans, carrots, corn, and lima beans on the side.

The day made a quick turn around when I discovered this email from Oh!Nuts.  They decided to give me a gift certificate as an early Christmas present 😉  Along with one of my fantastic readers! Yes, that means you!

Since the holidays are just around the corner, I am eccstatic to be hosting this giveaway because the site has TONS of options for great gifts.  For example, the CHRISTMAS GIFTS BASKETS would be totall ideal for the foodie in your life:) 

To enter this giveaway, go to the Christmas Gifts Basket page and leave a comment on this post letting me know which product you’d like the most!  They’ve got Hannukah gifts as well, which you could choose instead.  Just be sure to let me know in the comments!

For a second entry, you can go to the Oh! Nuts Facebook page and leave a comment post on the wall with the url and name of your favorite  Hanukkah Gift OR Christmas Gift (be sure to post that you’re there via the Freckled Foodie’s blog ;)) and leave a comment letting me know you’ve done so.  A random winner will be chosen to receive a $25.00 Gift Certificate!!

A third entry would include following OhNuts on Twitter (@ohnuts)  and tweeting about the contest.  Make sure you comment on the post to let me know, too!

EX: ” Win a free Christmas Gift from http://bit.ly/dUpizt Follow @ohnuts & Retweet to enter.  “

This may seem little to you, but for me the email about this neat little contest for the readers was the silver lining I needed.  After work, I had the typical banana & date snack before my workout and practice. 

Took a snapshot when I got to class.  850 calories burned, 173 max HR.

I had a huge test in math that I was also stressing…I finally decided I was just going to do the best I could and forget about it.  Nothing I can do at this point other than that.  Oh yeah, and I ate dinner in my car again.

Eggy sammie with garlic hummus and spinach on a thin bun.  I would’ve loved some onion on this but I was out.

Look familiar?  Yeah, same as yesterday.  Sorry for the repetition!  I wasn’t feeling too creative last night and the canned goods seemed like a good option.  The soup was basically a can of stewed italian tomatoes, a few green beans, some canned corn, and a few lima beans.  It made a big batch, so I took advantage.

When I got home, I crashed and had some protein hot chocolate with a fudgy peanut butter vitatop for dessert.  It was a soothing treat after a long hard day.  You’ve got to get joy out of the little things!

How did God show you the silver lining through troubles this week?  Did you ever have a day that you just couldn’t manage to get positive no matter how hard you tried?

XO.

24 responses »

  1. Great giveaway!! I’d take the Holiday Chocolate Basket!! Anything with chocolate is right up my alley 😉

    Reply
  2. Wow, I’m going to have to say that I love the sound of the Chocolate, Dried Fruit and Nut basket!

    http://www.ohnuts.com/buy.cfm/gift-baskets-by-type/nuts-chocolate-gifts-2/dried-fruit-nut-basket

    Reply
  3. Oh I would definitely get the keepsake tins gift set.. I would love it because after you enjoy everything you can still have the pretty tin =)

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Incase You Missed It… « The Freckled Foodie

  5. victoria lester

    My favorite is the Holiday Treats 4X Gift Basket.
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

    Reply
  6. victoria lester

    I went to Oh Nuts on facebook and wrote I was there via your blog and left favorite item, here is the fb wall post:
    http://www.facebook.com/ohnuts#!/ohnuts/posts/469395997678
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

    Reply
  7. I can’t believe you went through ALL that in a day!

    I hope one day you’ll be able to read this and remember the “credit card” incident and chuckle.

    ~Missy

    Reply
  8. the LG Nuts & Chocolate Line-Up Gift Basket looks soooooooo yummy!

    Reply
  9. http://www.ohnuts.com/buy.cfm/tu-bshvat-gifts-dried-fruit-platters/fruitopia
    OH MY GOODNESS!!! This dried fruit creation is so cool! 🙂 Awesome giveaway, I love your blog.

    -Hannah

    Reply
  10. I LOVED the song you shared with us, Sami!!! Thank you so much, it really brightened and lifted my spirits up.

    Oh, and I want the big bag of pistachios!!

    Reply
  11. I already follow them on Twitter!

    Reply
  12. And I did the Facebook thing! 🙂

    Reply
  13. Oh Sammie!
    I am so sorry you had a crappy day! I hope your weekend was better! You got through the day with your head held high! I know you got an excellent mark on your math test!
    GREAT LYRICS!!
    love you sister!
    Barbara

    Reply
  14. Follow them on facebook

    Reply
  15. Follow them on twitter

    Reply
  16. Pingback: Three R’s « The Freckled Foodie

  17. I honestly cannot even choose – I just sat there for 5 minutes trying to decide. Guess I will be eying the website to decide for a while!!!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Christmas Time’s A Comin’! « The Freckled Foodie

  19. Pingback: Lucky #31 « The Freckled Foodie

  20. Pingback: Sayonara, Finals! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

