RSS Feed

Three R’s

Posted on

I don’t know about you, but for me, weekends are the perfect time to regroup, recoop, and relax.  In that order, actually.  During the week, I sometimes feel like my schedule gets the best of me and I don’t take nearly enough time to stop and enjoy what’s actually going on around me.  OUT of my own little world.

Friday night, my teammate Eryn and I went to the campus cafeteria where the school was hosting a battle of the bands after basketball practice.  It was cheap (only $3 admittance with a student ID), but beforehand, we went to the closest grocery store and got some eats.

I grabbed a container from the salad bar and got to fixing my dinner.  Spinach, cukes, shredded carrots, peas, broccoli, cauliflower, beets, imitation crab, strawberries, cantaloupe, chickpeas, and some fat free Vidalia Onion dressing with a strawberry Oikos on the side.

The bands were all pretty good!   We didn’t stay the entire time, but it only because we were beat.  I walked away with a cute little bowl from one of the vendors at the show!

I’m a sucker for handmade ceramics…but seriously who could pass it up for just $5?  If you could’ve, more power to you.

It’s even dishwasher and microwave safe: WIN!

I crashed pretty hard when I got home that night, but knew the weekend would continue on.  Saturday morning I began with a random, yet mouth-watering breakfast.

It’s so funny that during the week, I read about how bloggers come up with these intricate, delicious breakfasts that I excuse, claiming that I just don’t have enough time in the morning (aka, I don’t want to get up any earlier than I already do).  Truth is, I’m just as content with a waning apple butter jar filled with raw tofu for breakfast.  Weird and random? You betcha.  Delicious and nutritious?  Check & check.

This was absolutely wonderful.  The tofu seriously soaked up all the flavors in the apple butter and cinnamon only infused the flavor even more. Don’t ask me where I came up with this, because I have no idea.  It did, however fuel me through a pretty nice workout on Saturday morning.

Insanity is the second best workout I could get, I think.  First being basketball, of course.  But Shaun T gets my heart rate up in more ways than one if you know what I mean 😉 HA.  Plus, biking and ellipticalling while I caught up on my One Tree Hill episode.  Anyway, 813 calories later, I made some lunch.

Roasted Garlic hummus with black beans, alfalfa sprouts, and baby spinach on a flat out light wrap

I just LOVE natural lighting 🙂  After I demolished my wrap, I made some okra fries in the oven and polished them off as well without thinking twice.

With obligatory reduced sugar ketchup, of course.  It was a big day, and that required big fuel.  We were going together as a family down to Lancaster for my Aunt’s 50th Surprise Birthday party

The party started around 6PM and we got there right around that time.  My Aunt didn’t get there until about 6:30 and we all totally caught her off guard.  Her friends, co-workers, and family all celebrated and I think she really had a great time.

I think it’s safe to say, I get a LOT of my features from Poppa FF’s side of the family.  Freckles, auburn hair, button nose, green eyes…I wish this were a clearer photo, so you could really see the depiction.

I packed some goodies since I figured the selection would be limited.  I ate them on the car ride down for dinner!  Sweet potato slices, cucumber and red pepper spears, snap peas, and a wrap in the aluminum foil made with a Flat Out light, a sonoma jacks cheese wedge and sugar free apricot jam.

It was neat to check out all the old pictures that were displayed in the house!  I love stuff like that.  See the black and white of the two kids in the bottom left hand corner of this collage?  The little guy in the bowtie is Poppa FF 😉  What a cutie!  Haha.

Sooooo that was my Friday and Saturday…Sunday’s post still to come! 

ALSO a reminder to enter my Oh!Nuts giveaway!

4 responses »

  1. DiningAndDishing

    What an adorable little bowl! I absolutely love handmade things like that. So unique! Glad you had a good weekend lady :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  2. LOoks like you had a GREAT weekend!

    Reply
  3. I don’t think I’ve seen strawberry Oikos. They are so weird about what flavors they sell in my neck of the woods… It took me like 10 months to find the caramel (and it’s still sparse!)

    Reply
  4. I’m a HUGE fan of impractical ceramic bowls 😉 I’ve never seen strawberry Oikos!! Looks good 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

