RSS Feed

Christmas Time’s A Comin’!

Posted on

Verse of the DAY:

“Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;”

– John 11:25

I woke up Sunday morning with a craving for ALMOND JOY flavors at breakfast time.  You know, the classic chocolate & coconut together? 

Well, I did one better and had a Triple Chocolate Chunk Vitatop spread with some melted coconut butter.  I didn’t “cook” my vitatop, so it was still frosted and when the warm coconut butter touched it, it began to harden like those “magic shells” that you used to put ontop of ice cream! 

I’m beginning to wonder how I ever went without Coconut Butter in my life until this point.  Artisana saved me and sent me some to try!  I’m completely in love.  It’s one of the healthiest fats you can eat, you know!  Please try some.  I promise you, you will not regret it.  BEST $11 you’ll spend on a specialty grocery EVER.

I juiced through a nice little workout on Sunday morning after my dessert-like breakfast, started off with Insane Abs, followed by some biking, and finished off with some elliptical action.  I watched half of “My Sister’s Keeper” on my laptop to stay entertained.  Holy tear-jerker. 500 calories later, I had a protein shake.

Vega kindly sent me two of their Shake & Go flavors to try out…The Vanilla Almondilla was first to try.  Each packet has got:

  • Two servings of veggies
  • 2500 mg Omega-3-6-9
  • 11 g complete protein
  • Only 100 calories
  • 1 billion probiotics cultures

SWEET.  It tasted delicious, too.  Just like a vanilla milkshake.  Rich, creamy and not artificial tasting.

A little while later, after showering, getting ready, and dressing warm, the family and I headed out to pick out the perfect Christmas tree!

We picked up Subway on the way to the tree farm for lunch.  I got a six inch turkey breast on wheat with lettuce, tomato, onion, green pepper, sweet peppers, and mustard sprinkled with oregano.  It was so-so…nothing great, but it did the job.

 Each year we go to the same place for our tree.  It’s tradition!  They have a huge selection and we love that my poor Dad no longer has to chop it down himself!  Picking out the tree is always a family affair.  We have to all agree on one…although, after being out in the freezing cold field for a little while, compromise doesn’t seem so bad 😉

This is only one side to the farm!  It’s on a hill, too so it’s extra chilly up there.  The wind just cuts right through you! We were all decked out in scarves, gloves, and hats.

How adorable are my little sisters?  I may be a little biased, but I think they’re some of the most beautiful girls in the world 🙂  Must take after Momma FF. 

See what I mean?  Gorgeous.  Not to mention, the most caring woman I know.  She’s always on my side and understands me like no one else in the world.  Anyway…enough of the mushy stuff.  Back to the tree pickin’! 😀

As you can see, we thought this little pony was about the cutest thing ever.  After we found “THE ONE” we checked out the gift shop on the property where the girls had hot chocolate and free cookies.

There were all kinds of trinkets and handmade goodies in the shop that we gandered at while the man with the John Deere cut down our tree for us.  Homemade candles, scarves, and Christmas decorations.

They’ve got a really nice system.  We barely had to do any work.  You just tag your tree with a ribbon and they do the rest!  They even wrap it all up for you!  The only thing Poppa FF had to do was pay and carry the tree back to the car.

This is about the time that it REALLY hits me how close to Christmas we really are.  TWO and a HALF weeks!  Good thing my shopping is almost finished!

Of course, you know what comes next…the DECORATING.  Complete with Christmas tunes courtesy of music channels from OnDemand.  Every year Dad video tapes it.  We’ve got everyone on video from the time I was little.  I wonder if we’ll ever watch them!

Each year my Nanna & TT (the Godparents) give each of the kids a new ornament for the tree.  I’ve gotten several precious ones over the years that I couldn’t imagine ever giving up.  It’s neat to see how the collection grows!

This one has to be one of my all-time favorites.  Totally unique, right? 🙂  This year’s was really special, too. 

It reads, “Connected by love, guided by faith“.

Dinner later involved raw tofu (I’m with you, GC!).  Don’t ask me why, but I absolutely love it.  I buy the “lite firm” from Nasoya which only has about 160 calories per block so I don’t feel guilty eating the whole thing 😀

Carrots, cukes, greens, peppers, snap peas, and anything else I could find in the kitchen.  I love a hearty plate of veggies.  I used some Tribe Forty Spices Hummus + mustard for dressing post photo. 

A little while later, I got snacky while I was relaxing and watching some Sunday night football with the rents, so I had a few handful’s of Hillary’s granola & a square of the dark chocolate she sent me for dessert 🙂

And with that, I went into a coma for the rest of the night.

Have you entered the GIVEAWAY FOR A $25 Oh!Nuts giftcard, yet?! And be sure not to miss out on Chelsey’s Nuttzo giveaway, too!

XO.

5 responses »

  1. I still haven’t tried coconut butter! But I LOVE vitatops, especially the chocolate ones. Yummmm. I might have to get some coconut butter and try that 🙂

    Reply
  2. I amSO jealous of all the goodies companies send you! There is no way I would ever spend $11 on coconut butter, I just cant do it lol Once I get my food processor though I am just going to make my own 🙂

    Reply
  3. I have been trying to remember to use my coconut butter. I know its crazy but I cant really think of ways that I like to eat it. On the vita top sounds like a fantastic way though.

    Aww, what a wonderful tradition. We have a little tree farm around here but I’ve never been brave enough to brace the cold temps to cut down our own. Maybe we should cut it down in July and just have it up all year! 🙂

    Hope you are having a fantastic week girl!

    Reply
  4. I like the idea of you re-upping on the weekends (0:
    (from your last post)

    I also think I would go crazy if I ever head that gadget of yours showing how many calories you burned…that being said? You are an amazing ball of energy!

    Maybe it is all the raw tofu? Which I will need to try, as I have no idea how to cook it “right” so maybe I will start with that.

    Maybe it will make up for the cottage cheese I am avoiding. Love it, but my tummy dud’nt.
    ~Missy

    Reply
  5. I love you and your family! You will be so grateful for those videos when you get older! What a wonderful thing your dad does to capture family memories and love! I always think your entire family is gorgeous! You are such a lucky girl! Have a wonderful ‘rest of the week’!!
    XOXO
    Barbara

    Reply

Leave a Reply

