RSS Feed

Lucky #31

Posted on

#31 has been my “lucky number” since I decided as a kid that it would forever be my basketball jersey choice, taken after my Daddy who had always been #31.  I was actually sort of obsessed with it through Middle School and High School, sometimes really believing that it was LUCKY.  The most points I had ever scored in a game was 31.  For awhile, every time I looked at the clock, it was something 31 (1:31, 12:31, 4:31, etc).  When leaving the gym and driving by the bank, the temperature read 31 degrees (during basketball season, it’s Winter, duh!).  I didn’t believe in LUCK, per say, but it was just little reminders here and there from God that He had my back 😉 Being blessed is more like it.  It had been awhile since I had thought about my “lucky number” until I received this exciting email the other day from Justin at Marx Foods!

A little confused at what I had actually won, I clicked over to the post

WHAT ARE THE ODDS?! Seriously.  I SAW how many people entered this contest.  I mean, what kind of foodie wouldn’t go “gaga” to try and win some delicacy truffles valued at $95!!  Note:  I said, “Thank the LORD” in my comment to win them 😉  He comes first! 😀  Anyway, my comment was #31 and chosen by a random integer drawing.  Thanks, God 😀  You brightened my day.

Anywho.  Back to the normal post.

Breakfast was inspired by pineapple upside down cake flavors

3 canned pineapple rings microwaved until warm and tender, mashed together with a Golden Corn Vitatop and cinnamon.  Divine.

I also had a yogurt for some protein as a mid-morning snack when I got to work, but ya’ll know what that looks like 😉

Lunch was a mish-mosh of ingredients thrown into a tupperware container and eaten at my desk at work.

Whole wheat couscous (Fantastic Foods!) with kidney beans and some Forty Spices Tribe hummus with almost a whole can of green beans on the side.

This may be terrible for my sodium count, but I’m really digging canned veggies right now.  Beans, beets, etc.  I just chug some more water and “call it good”, like JG says.

I took advantage of my free time in the afternoon at work and studied for my last map test of the semester!  Then, I froze my butt off walking the 0.6 mile back to my car after work.  As if the temperature wasn’t low enough, the wind decided to pick up as well, cutting through me like you wouldn’t believe.

pre-workout snackie: pitted dates

I had a nice 35 minute elliptical session followed by basketball practice for 1/2 hour.  I hate having to leave early, but student comes before athlete!  I had forgotten my HR monitor, but I figured I burned about 450 calories or so. 

Afterward, I had this lovely, ruby-red tupperware container waiting for me in the car.  Justin’s, you and your almond butters are my muse ❤  More on that tomorrow 😉 THANKS SO MUCH, Lauren!  I took this photo at work, obv. because car lighting in winter time sucks.

 This dish was second in the dinner line up and contained a sun-dried tomato chicken sausage, sweet peas, and more organic ww couscous.

I was seriously STUFFED after this and went to class with a fiberific food baby 🙂  It probably wasn’t good that I felt so full when we were learning about WWII and all of the concentration camps in Germany at the time.  I started feeling a little nauseous after watching a video of the terrifying conditions that some of the Jews survived. 

When I got home, I had a strawberry chobani with a tsp. of Chocolate Scivation whey protein powder mixed in for a chocolate covered strawberry effect 🙂  Mmm.  As if I wasn’t feeling lucky enough, I got a picture on my phone last night….GUESS WHO MADE IT HOME FROM THE HOSPITAL!?! 😀

PS- DON’T FORGET ABOUT THE OH!NUTS GIVEAWAY!  Want a $25 gift card?  Click here to enter!

XOX.

 

6 responses »

  1. Yum!!! Looks like some tasty goods! If you’re worried about sodium in canned veggies, you can rinse them, and that helps cut out some of the sodium! (I guess it wouldn’t work for every veggie, but I do it with beans, chickpeas, etc.)

    And I looove Justin’s nut butter!

    Reply
  2. oo those truffles sound yummy. Baby bo came home?? That’s wonderful news Sami! I’m so glad he is ok now.

    Reply
  3. Wow, that’s so awesome that you won!!! I feel super unlucky most of the time, but I definitely have my lucky numbers. I like to place these numbers on the roulette table. They have yet to hit it big but I won’t give up! 🙂

    Aww, YAY for Bo being home!!!!!!! God is good! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Chocolate covered Strawberry CHO? Yummo! Thanks for snackin’ with us!

    Emily
    Chobani Greek Yogurt

    Reply
  5. That’s so awesome. Isn’t it so great how God intercedes in our lives? People call it coincidence when things like that happen. I’m pretty sure we baffle God just a bit when we expect miracles and lightning strikes when He interjects all the time 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Justin’s Eulogy « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

