RSS Feed

It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

Posted on

Getting ready for Christmas this weekend was SO much fun.

This perfect wreath now adorns our front door, there are icicle LED lights strewn from our roof, and the trees and bushes in front of our house are gleaming with blue & white.

We even had fun putting them up together.  When I got home from work Friday afternoon, Poppa FF was on a mission to surprise Momma FF by the time she got home from work by having them all lit up.

I got them out of the box, untied them, and handed them to him on the ladder.  It was a good team effort.  Morgy was helping a lot too!

The rest of the weekend was filled with Christmas cookie baking with the family, Christmas parties, and gift wrapping!

After my workout on Saturday morning (insane abs, biking, and ellipticalling), I came upstairs to a house full of people. 

It was like a little cookie making factory! Each person had a different job.  Above, check out the hershey kisses unwrappers 🙂 aka my cousins, Tara & Brooke.

They made SO many different kinds.  Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal Raisin, Sand Tarts, Peanut Butter Blossoms, and more!

I love the smell of cookies baking in a home!  It just SCREAMS Christmas 🙂

I know how I feel after eating high sugary sweets, so I passed on the baked goods.  I had a DIFFERENT sweetie on my mind, so I got a shower and went to visit him instead.

This is Bowman’s touchdown pose 🙂  He is excited to be home for Christmas.  I can tell.  It was completely amazing holding him in my arms for the first time!  I can’t imagine how it must feel as a mother, but I know it must be wonderful.

I couldn’t stay too long, because I had a Christmas party to get to that night and needed time to get ready.

I ate dinner before I left and this was found on my camera, so I’m glad I didn’t completely forget about food photography this weekend!  Romaine, tomato, yellow pepper, black beans, salsa, cukes, and a mashed up baby sweet potato on the side with cinnamon.

The party was a lot of fun…we played games and hung out the rest of the night.  Two of my favorites!  Curses & The Game of Things!

Sunday morning, I worked out and got a shower, then the family went to church together in our Christmas outfits.  I’ll show you those later 🙂

Afterward, I came home, roasted some veggies for lunch and got ready to head out to Morgy’s indoor soccer game.

I used butternut squash, zucchini, and parsnips sliced up, sprayed with PAM, and sprinkled with seasalt, paprika, and chili powder.  Roasted in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  I had a squirt of reduced sugar ketchup for parsnip dippage, too.

When we got to the game, the girls barely had enough to play and the gym was freezing.  Not only that, it reeked like an old, unwashed gym sock.

Gross.  It was still fun to watch, though.  It was extra sweet because they were playing a team that a guy I went out with a few times was coaching.  We won on a buzzer shot 🙂  Haha. 

I got my car serviced, too.  Not exciting, but necessary.  When all was said and done, I had a low key dinner of broccoli slaw, ff cottage cheese, and hummus upon my arrival home from the auto shop.  No photo. Just a food baby resulted.

All in all, a successful weekend.  Productive, active, healthy, and enjoyable 🙂

The countdown to Christmas can be counted on ONE HAND.  It’s officially time to start freaking out about last minute gift ideas.  I’m soon finished though!

What’s your favorite board game?  And are you finished Christmas shopping yet?

XO.

6 responses »

  1. Aw looks like such a fun weekend! I don’t know if I have a favorite board game, but for now going along with the Christmas cookie theme…I’m going to say Candy Land 🙂

    Reply
  2. Your weekend looks jam packed with holiday cheer! Cookie baking always gets me in the mood for Christmas.

    Hmm… my favorite board game is probably Monopoly. And I’m ALMOST finished with my shopping.

    Reply
  3. wow what a weekend! favorite board game is LIFE!!

    Reply
  4. Dude, we totally need more pictures of your face, haha.

    You’re so pretty! =D

    Reply
  5. Pingback: That’s What I’m Doing These Days… « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

