RSS Feed

Wrapping Up 2010.

Posted on

Don’t you just LOVE those mornings you wake up with total exuberance? I honestly think my new matress deserves all the credit.  It’s got a pillowtop!  I have not slept this comfortably since we were in OC, MD on the Tempurpedics in the motel. 

I was in an extremely good mood this morning, and my spirits were only lifted MORE by a new found love.  Arnold, your grainy bread has made my morning an exceptional one.   I had never had their 10 grain before!

1 slice of 10 grain Arnold’s bread + 1 tbsp. fat free strawberry cream cheese

1 slice of 10 grain toast with no sugar added apple butter

and then there was protein.

in the form of a Chocolate Scivation whey almond milkshake, of course.

The sunrise was gorgeous this morning on my walk in to my building….you can’t get a great pictoral of the beauty just from this snapshot, but I couldn’t take the time to get a really good one, being that I forgot my mittens at home this morning, and thus, my hands were like icicles.

Before I knew it, it was 8:30AM and time to leave for practice.

608 calories burned, max hr 180; avg hr 130.

Good enough for me.  I was a little weirded out showering in the locker room where there had been a fire less than 24 hours before…

But, I couldn’t imagine going back to work without a shower, so I bit the bullet and creeped into the sulfur smelling women’s locker room and got the quickest shower of my life.  Our guy coach actually waited for me outside without my knowing 🙂  It was rather sweet of him to do that…making sure no one came in and that I made it out alright.

I ate an apple after my shower on the way back to my car around 11AM which held me over until lunchtime at my desk.  I had a big bowl of steamed shrimp and chinese vegetables waiting for me in the fridge at work!

This meal is seriously one of my favorite ones of all time.  The veggies are PERFECTLY steamed EVERY single time and the garlicky, ginger sauce on the side is sooo flavorful.

Having my workouts in the morning has really helped with my energy level the rest of the day, too!  I’m definitely best in the morning (TWSS?) 🙂

100 calorie kettle corn with cinnamon was snacked on upon my arrival home from work.

I did a bit of ab work on my Ab Circle Pro and then got to researching laptops.  Mine is dying quickly and I can hardly use it to watch my Insanity workouts anymore!  It keeps malfunctioning.  Luckily with the state employees discount, I can buy a new Dell for 30% off!

Next up was vegfest 2010.  Last of the year, most likely 🙂

I roasted a yellow pepper, some baby carrots, a parsnip, some broccoli, and some sprouts in the oven sprayed with PAM and salted/peppered for 25 min. at 370º.  The result was nothing less than delicious.

For dipping, I used 2 tbsp. light sour cream mixed with Pace salsa.  MmmM!

I wanted something sweet afterward, so I whipped up a quick orange creamsicle smoothie for protein since I needed that as part of my dinner anyway. [1/2 scoop Optimum Nutrition vanilla protein + 3/4 C. unsweet almond breeze + 3 ice cubes + 2 clementines]

But the REAL dessert was LAST.  Get a load of thisss.

It was like eating a piece of german chocolate cake only with peanut butter icing.  Seriously. Foodgasm.  And it was HEALTHY?!  1/2 C. oats, 2 egg whites, calorie free chocolate walden farms syrup, and cinnamon microwaved until cake like.  Topped with 2 tsp. maple almond butter mixed with a little water for thinning and 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein.

You will see that again, I can promise 🙂

Hope ya’ll have a very Happy New Year!  Any big plans?  I’m really jealous of any of you who are going to be in Time Square!

Also, what do you think of the new layout?

XO.

10 responses »

  1. Love the new layout! And that was very sweet of coach to wait for you 🙂
    For new years the hubby and I are going out to eat at our fav restraunt with my inlaws then we will probably do what we always do…watch our favorite movies that came out in 2010 until midnight 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the new layout!

    New Year’s plans are to celebrate Christmas with my dad’s side of the family so that should be fun. 🙂

    Cute shot of you! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Was that a jonagold apple??

    Reply
  4. I love how you started with a Psalm!

    Your “German Chocolate Cake” sounds SO good right now!!! I need to go make it right now! 🙂

    Reply
  5. i love morning workouts too!! i always feel like my day is just better. plus its nice getting it done and out of the way!

    mmm all those protein shakes are making me crave one! happy new years!

    Reply
  6. Girl trust me: you do NOT want to be in Times Square. There are so many people you literally can’t move or cross the street!

    Hope you had a great New Year’s Eve, and have a fabulous 2011!

    Reply
  7. Thanks for shaing that devotional! So timely for the new year.

    And what is it with the chinese steamed veg? I share your love and am convinced its a bamboo steamer (or maybe the fact someone does it for me) Always tastes just a bit bettah!

    Happy New Year Beautiful!

    Reply
  8. hehe your apple looks like a heart. Hmm cinnamin on popcorn does sound good. so creative!

    Reply
  9. LOVE the lay out girl!!!
    love steamed veggies!
    make sure you are eating those healthy fats.. it makes such a difference in your skin/hair!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Scivation « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

