RSS Feed

Make Me A Blessing.

Posted on

I woke up today and went through the same routine that I do every single other work day.  It’s almost obsessive compulsive(?) , I think.  I’ve got it down to a science and give myself the exact amount of time that I always need, which probably isn’t good, considering, if one mishap occurs, I’m in trouble.

Breakfast today was pretty basic…other than the Pina Colada Protein shake, of course 😉

Just a simple Thomas Lite Whole Grain english muffin sprinkled with cinnamon and sprayed with ICBINB.

At work, I had an apple for a mid-morning snack around 10am while I was reading my devotional. 

SDO- Dancing Apple

[source]

It got me to thinking…I’m SO blessed.  I should be blessing others more often.  God has given me a stable job, an amazing family, and the ability to go back to school and do something I love.  I think it’s time I start being more appreciative on a DAILY basis. 

 I mean, somedays the only interaction God and I have is a simple “hello” or a quick prayer request for a friend.  What kind of relationship is that?  No wonder I feel like I’m in a spiritual rut!  I love when I feel totally on fire in my relationship with Him.  How can I keep the flame burning!?   I want to be a blessing in others’ lives.

Lunch rolled around and it was time to break out my leftover Ruby Tuesday’s salad 🙂  In the magic orange bowl, we’ve got baby spinach, cukes, carrots, broccoli, peas, chickpeas, zucchini slices, and some beets.

All assembled:

I topped the bowl with 1/2 C. fat free cottage cheese and a dressing made from beet juice and 1.5 tbsp. of fat free vidalia onion dressing.

Nom, nom, nom.

I knew I’d need some carbs in me before practice, so around 3 PM I ate this snack:

Another Thomas Lite english muffin with fat free cream cheese and sugar free boysenberry preserves 🙂

Practice was pretty laid back today.  We didn’t get to play much since not many girls were there..  Sorry for the shotty lighting in the HR monitor picture.  It was taken while I was waiting after practice for my physical to be done.    210 max hr, 579 calories.

They only did the basics…checked my blood pressure, heart, lungs, etc.  The nurse said that my blood pressure was a little low, but that it was okay being that I’m an athlete and a health conscious person.

On my way home, I called my buddies at the Great Wall and ordered up my fave chinese dish for dinner!  Betcha can’t guess! 😉

Steamed shrimp and vegetables with lite garlic sauce.

Mmmm. Crisp, yet tender steamed vegetables like broccoli, green beans, carrots, green peppers, and baby corn are like total comfort food to me…especially when I don’t have to make them myself!

After dinner, I realized my meal was lacking in the whole grains department.  I would’ve ordered brown rice to go with it, but the Great Wall doesn’t have it. 

I had yet another lite english muffin dipped in fat free strawberry cream cheese…I still don’t understand how they’re only 100 calories.  So fluffy and perfect!  That makes 3 in one day! Haha.  Now if only I could get some fat free pineapple or fat free pumpkin cream cheese!

After dinner, I went back to get ready for my shower and realized that my webcam had finally come in the mail!

I immediately downloaded Skype to my laptop and played with it for awhile. 

A little later, I munched on some sugar free Jelly Bellys as a snack…

And by “some”, I mean the whole package minus the black licorice ones. ICK.  It’s okay though.  Jelly Belly’s are fat free and only 160 calories in a bag.

Just before bed, I had some cocoa roasted almonds and some frozen cherries with lowfat milk as well.  Fat and carbs help me drift to dreamland quickly.  🙂

How can I be a blessing in your life?  Any prayer requests out there?

XO.

7 responses »

  1. You ARE a blessing in my life!! Seriously your blog makes me want to be BETTER. The way you are always striving to be close to God. With my life being so busy right now it is so easy to forget God until I need him, which is sooo NOT how it should be!! The first thing I do when I open my eyes in the morning should be PRAISE HIM!

    Reply
  2. Girl, I gotta say, you are already a blessing in my life. I know I haven’t known you long (like what, 10 days? haha) but already your blog and your encouraging words on my blog have been such an encouragement. I can’t even tell you how much I appreciate our friendship even though it’s so new.

    I understand your longing to be a blessing. That word (blessing/blessed/bless) is so important to me. I need to blog about it sometime. Recognizing how much I have been blessed gives me that desire to pass on the blessing. You opening yourself up to God and to others to bless them… oh it will happen. Opportunities will come. So many of them. Love ya, girl. Thanks for being a blessing to this girl. 🙂

    Reply
  3. i really think we forgot how God has blessed us in life too – its the little things that He does for us that really adds up 🙂 His love is everlasting.

    delicious stirfry – thats my favorite thing to order at chinese restaurants too!

    Reply
  4. I didn’t know they had pineapple and pumpkin flavored cream cheese!!! DELISH!

    I am so grateful for all that God has done for me and my family. He is always there, ready to lift us up if we fall.

    Reply
  5. oo i must try lite english muffins!! i have my mornings down to a T. i know exactly how much time i need!

    Reply
  6. DiningAndDishing

    I’m with you on being in a very set routine!! I’d like to make it a goal to snap out of routine and take time to appreciate the moment a little more :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  7. Oh girl send those liquorice Jelly’s my way 😉 Haha!

    I completely agree that we need to appreciate our blessings DAILY. I lay in bed sometimes at night and get all emotional thinking of how blessed I really am and how much I should recognize those blessings. Amen!

    Love!
    Meg

    p.s. I love the apple picture bahaha 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

