RSS Feed

Game Day.

Posted on

Morning, bloggies.  I’m so glad to see so many of you have entered my Chobani giveaway!  If you haven’t yet, check it out!  There are three easy ways to enter.

My devotional today reminded me of how efficient it was to use an actual devotional book as opposed to reading everything online.  It encourages me to take down notes and reminders and acts as sort of a journal for my spiritual journey!  It’s cool how it relates training and fitness to SPIRITUAL growth in this passage!

Breakfast was simple but tasty never-the-less.  Pepperidge farm 10 grain bread with 1/2 banana & a squirt of macadamia nut butter from Artisana

I woke up pretty hungry since I had a game at 6:30 last night, so I had another slice of bread with fat-free cream cheese & sugar free bloob jelly.

Let’s do a little bit of a rewind to yesterday, since I didn’t get to do a normal post!  I knew I had a game that I wanted to be super energetic for, so I packed a pretty carby lunch.

1/3 C. quinoa with 1/2 small chopped sweet tater, cinnamon, a splash of unsweet almond breeze, and raisins.

This is becoming one of my FAVEE dishes.  I can’t believe it took me so long to try quinoa.  It intimidated me before, but ever since I witnessed it cook in the microwave, it’s not a fear food anymore.  Easy peasy 😉

Speaking of peas, to go alongside my lunch, I had some.

Have I mentioned lately how much I adore canned sweet peas

After lunch, I finished up at work and headed to Dick’s Sporting Goods to find some compression shorts!  I would model them for you, but I think it’d be a bit inappropriate.  Just kidding.  I kinda forgot. 

They basically look like black boyshort undies and I love them for under my white uniform shorts!  I also stopped at Target to restock on my stash of NewTree Belgian Biscuit chocolate.

Dark Chocolate with Golden Flax Seeds ❤

After I was finished at all the stores, I headed to the gym to suit up for my basketball game.  I haven’t mentioned this on the blog yet, but I’ve had some issues with my ribs since Saturday.  I got knocked around pretty good in our game, and they are super sore on the left side.

On the way there, I had part I of dinner.

Meet my friend Mr. Potato head.  Just a simple white potato with forty spices hummus and light ragu for sopping up the starches 🙂

Here I am, all suited up! 🙂  I chose #2 because it was the bestie’s favorite number…she had it in softball!  Coincidentally, it was her husband Jare’s favorite number before they even met, too.  He actually asked her to be his girlfriend on 2/2! I’m sure “lil’ Bo” is going to be #2 as well, so I figured it was only appropriate that “Big Bo” did the same.

IMG_0106

For the record, my teammates are the absolute greatest.  I love each and every one of them.   The game was totally intense.  I got two fouls within the first few minutes and had to sit out most of the first half, which totally left me disappointed.  I prayed that God would keep me positive and there for my team.

IMG_0020

I started the 2nd half and felt great.  Everyone said that the pain in my ribs was probably just masked by my adrenaline, but I don’t believe that for a second.  It was definitely Jesus 🙂  Never underestimate the power of prayer.  He can heal bruised ribs with the snap of a finger!  Sure I’m sore, but the pain dim.

IMG_0125

The intensity of the game was insaneee.  With three minutes to go, we were down by 5 points.  God provided the opportunity for the team to come out on top!  Actually, he provided the chance for me to score! 

IMG_0027

I made a layup with about 1 minute to go and the referee called a foul so I had 2 points plus my foul shot.  I was uber nervous, but for some reason felt at peace at the same time.  God is so cool like that.  Funny how prayer puts you at peace like that.

I’m #31 in this picture because that’s my fave number, but the #31 jersey was too big.  After a thrill of a game and a victorious win, I headed to my car for dinner part II.

A 1 egg + 2 white fritatta with broccoli, onion, shroomies, and nooch with light ragu ontop.  I don’t think there’s anything that light ragu isn’t good on.  I could eat it just like tomato soup.  It’s perfectly sweet and the tomato basil flavors are phenom.

Dessert when I got home was some no sugar added canned mandarin oranges.  I just love canned goods.  Especially canned green beans, canned peas, and canned unsweeted fruit 🙂  Super cheap, too!

Welp, That’s all for now!  Happy friday to you all!  Have a wonderful weekend!

PS- Check out Meg’s PERFECT FOODS bar giveaway! Annnnnd Hill’s Barney Butter giveaway! One more!  Check out Carrie’s giveaway, too!

What is your favorite canned good?

XO.

9 responses »

  1. Wooo action shots!! Love it!! I was always number 10. My fav soccer player wore number 10 and she was as tough as nails (and a christian!!) so I knew I had to get her number!!

    Reply
  2. ahh nostalgia– i miss when i used to play! i know the family feeling it was amazing.
    also… HOW DO YOU MAKE QUINOA IN THE MICROWAVE!!??!?!?

    Reply
  3. How do you cook the quinoa in the microwave? I have some, but I don’t really know how to use it…

    Canned pumpkin — the greatest invention on earth! 😉

    Reply
  4. OMG New Tree chocolate is my fav!! have you tried the one with cocoa nibs?! Unreal. Question time- I usually try to stay away from canned foods, unless I am cooking with them but I love to jazz up a can of chickpeas with some spices and cook them in the oven for a crunchy salad topping or to mix in with a healthy trailmix

    Reply
  5. Mmm favorite canned good? Tuna! Tuna melts my heart 🙂

    Reply
  6. Aww, I love the story of your friends with the number 2… how cute!

    And look at you go, girl! Next time you’re playing in a game just imagine me sitting on the sidelines cheering for you! 🙂

    Reply
  7. i’ve never tried that chocolate or tomato sauce, but they both look like staples! congrats on the win!

    Reply
  8. Whoa! How do you make quinoa in the microwave?! I hate how long it takes quinoa to cook stove-top.

    PS – I love compression shorts too! I wear them all the time when I run – otherwise I chafe. LOL 😉

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Wedding Progress. « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

