RSS Feed

Fresh or Stale?

Posted on

Breakfast : Black Raspberry Cheesecake Oats

(1/2 C. oats, 1/4 C. fat free cottage cheese, 1 tbsp. sugar free blackraspberry preserves, sugar free vanilla Torani microwaved until warm)

Just as my workouts sometimes need to stay fresh and enthusiastic, so does my relationship with my Savior.  It’s easy to just go through the motions and do what you feel you “have” to do, but are we really getting much out of it?  If we fully believe in His word, then we know that He is our strength.  Keeping that thought in the forefront of our minds will make us WANT to draw closer to Him and it should excite us!

I tried to stay focused at work, but I was so enthralled by all the neat stuff we’re going to be doing in my Nutrition class.  I had the first one on Tuesday night, and I’ve been exploring the book every chance I get to take a break at work.

For any of you dieticians or health fielders out there, we started out pretty basic with kcals vs. calories, the different components of foods (carbs, proteins, fats), and basic health knowledge.

I’m really getting excited about the class, now!  Finally, I get to take a course that I’m totally interested in from beginning.  No more algebra and history, although, both of those ended up being way more interesting that I could’ve bargained for.

Anwho, back to the eats.  Around noon I practically skipped to the office refrigerator because I was excited about my lunch.

Diced cucumber & tomatoes, a bed of steamed kale with 1/2 C. brown rice, a grilled chicken breast, and some cucumber garlic Cedar’s Tzatziki for dressing.

Totally delish and wholesome.  I picked up a few more of my books at the campus bookstore after the 1/2 mile walk back to my car after work.  I also sold back my books from last semester for a total of $91.00!  Not too shabby.

There was snackage before practice, too.

1/4 C. fat free cottage cheese, 1/4 C. canned pumpking, + splenda & cinnamon

A tiny, baby naner.

and some healthy fats for good measure 🙂

I hate when I get 1/2 way through a practice and feel like I’ve got nothin’ left to give, so I’ve been making sure I’m properly fueled in order to run up and down the floor like the energizer bunny.

752 calories burned, max hr 165.

I didn’t have a great practice, but I’ve come to realize that not EVERYONE is going to be stellar.  The important thing is to push through and not expect perfection from yourself.  You’re GOING to have off days.  It’s inevitable.

Annnd we all know the greatest perk to working out is reeeeeefueling, right?  Dinner was served when I got home. 

 I had 1/2 of this Dr. McDougall’s Lentil soup box while I was waiting for my veggies to roast in the oven.

 Not the most photogenic appetizer in the world, but it sure is delicious.  Probably my favorite soup in the world, actually.  At 115 calories, 7g protein, and 8g fiber, you can’t argue with the stats either!  If you want to really up the nutrition, you can get the low sodium version…but I’ll warn you, I’ve tried it.  Not even a contender.  I convinced myself that I just sweated a whole bunch at practice, so I could use a little extra sodium. 

 Before I knew it, the oven timer was going off and I had a veggie feast on my hands.  I love the “rainbow on my plate” kind of thing 🙂  Red (bell pepper), orange (butternut squash), yellow (squash), green (zucchini), and ummm white (parsnips)?  Okay, you get the point. 

All seasoned with some NutraSalt Seasalt and pepper.  I used light ragu on the side as a dipper, but ended up eating it more like soup at the end.  The veggies were great all on their own! 

 After dinner, I logged onto my Health class’s website (since it’s a virtual course) and finished up some assignments.  Before too long, I knew it was time for dessert

(1/2 C. old fashioned oats, sugar free vanilla Torani, cinnamon, and 1/3 C. egg whites topped with fat free cream cheese & sugar free black raspberry jam)

Since I hadn’t really had any whole grains with dinner, I knew I wanted an oatcake to hit my sweet tooth.

What’s your favorite post dinner snack?  I like to have carbs before bed most nights because they help me sleep!  I also had a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze with some cinnamon to wash down my dessert!

XOXO.

11 responses »

  1. I start my nutrition class next semester and Im sooo stoked! Even though I have taken one before, I can never get enough of it 🙂 My fav post dinner snack has recently been some frozen yogurt. But not froyo, literally I freeze some yogurt lol It tastes so so good, and I freeze chunks of bananas in it. Yum!!

    Reply
  2. Great food! That oatcake looks really good. 🙂 For my evening snacks, I usually have a bowl of cereal with protein milk (protein powder with almond milk). Sometimes I will make protein cakes, or simple peanut butter and jam toast will satisfy my sweet tooth. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love to eat fruit — like an apple or something. I also sometimes do a Bitter Chocolate Cake. 🙂

    Reply
  4. The Lentil soup seems like something I need to invest in it’s so low in cal and high in fiber and protein! How many small meals do you eat a day?

    Reply
  5. In general I don’t snack after dinner because I’m usually not hungry, but if I am, then I love a little bowl of cereal… yum! 🙂

    Reply
  6. DiningAndDishing

    I always save my daily sweet treat for after dinner. A bit of chocolate, a couple of cookies, a little bowl of ice cream etc. And some tea to help relax me!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  7. oh my gosh look at all that food! yum!!!

    Reply
  8. hmm my nighttime snack always involves nut butter or peanut flour and a fugdie.. or some sort of thang like that.. then usually a bowl of rice puffs too!

    Reply
  9. How exciting about your new classes!!! Hope all is well with you hun!

    Reply
  10. I love that lentil soup! Yum! It’s the best of that soup line in my opinion. And it’s so filling!

    Reply
  11. Where did you get your polar? What all does it do? Tracks calories, heart rate? What about distance?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

