RSS Feed

The Art of The Oatcake :)

Posted on

Many of you have been asking what the trick is to these scrumptious, versatile little treats that I use on a daily basis as desserts, or breakfast components, or snacks.  The truth is…there isn’t one!  Of course there’s a “basic formula” that I use for the foundation of each one, but there really is no limitation to what you can add into the mix!

For example, depending on what else I’m eating and how active I’m going to be, I base my ingredients on those factors.  If my oatcake is going to be a MEAL, I up the oatage to about 1/2 C. but if it’s just a snack, sometimes I stick to 1/3 C. or 1/4 C. depending on what other ingredients I want to use.

Secondly, I almost always use a dash of sugar-free Torani syrup.  It has zero calories per serving and is sweetened with Splenda.  I realize that not many people keep this type of ingredient on hand, but it’s totally interchangeable with Splenda itself or Truvia, too. 

Another thing I’ve been experimenting with is grinding up the oats in my bella blender before I start adding the other ingredients.  It makes for a smoother surfaced result like the picture above…I can’t decide whether or not I’m partial to one or the other…it’s like deciding between chunky or smooth peanut butter…nearly impossible 😉

 

One mix-in that is almost always a component of my oat cakes, is cinnamon.  I don’t know what it is about this spice that drives me to use it so much…I think it’s because I’m a sweets lover and cinnamon really plays up sweetness.  

The rest is completely up to you!  Some of my favorite mixin’s are things like:

  • Raisins
  • Calorie free Walden Farms chocolate syrup
  • Fat-free cream cheese
  • Unsweetened Almond Breeze
  • Fat-free cottage cheese
  • Nut butters
  • Canned pumpkin
  • Sugar-free jam
  • Fruit (cherries, pineapple, apples, banana)
  • Unsweetened cocoa powder

Pick your poison 😉

Many times, I won’t mix anything into my oatcake, and save my mix-ins for the icing instead.  I sometimes water down a little bit of nut butter, combine with some unsweetened cocoa powder, and you have yourself some Reece’s icing!  You can take the easy way out, and grab yourself a container of Pineapple Chobani to spread ontop, too!

 The other necessary ingredients include 1 egg white and a tsp. of baking powder.  Each of these ingredients insure that the oats fluff up in the microwave and have a cake-like consistency. 

You could make savory oat cakes too!  Toppings for those include things like a “fried” egg, hummus, light ragu, smoked salmon & chives, etc

The cooking method is super simple.  All you need is a microwave…although you can make them in the oven, too.  Depending on my ingredients, I ususally nuke mine for about 1:30-2 minutes, but times may vary by microwave wattage.  If you’re choosing to BAKE your oatcake, I’d go with 10 minutes at 375º, but I like mine a little undercooked (so it’s creamy inside).

Any bases that I didn’t cover?  Let me know!

XOX.

14 responses »

  1. DiningAndDishing

    So just oats, egg white, cinnamon and baking powder for the base? It sounds/looks delicious and you know I love anything involving oats!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  2. YUM.. i love simple snacks like these!

    Reply
  3. Wow I love all the options!!! I can’t wait to try some of these. I definitely want to try the reeces frositng 😉

    Reply
  4. Oooh, I love cinnamon! And we have Torani’s SF chocolate syrup and it is SO good! We use it in espresso, but I’ve also used it to make “chocolate icecream”… so yum! 🙂

    Reply
  5. ooo lala ! i want one!!

    Reply
  6. That looks so easy and yummy i can’t wait to try one!

    Reply
  7. Oh I’m SO trying one of these as dessert after dinner tonight. I think I might top mine with raspberries. Nomnomnom!

    Reply
  8. This looks delicious! I used to make something similar all summer long.

    love your blog name! I’m also another fellow freckled foodie- gotta represent!

    Reply
  9. Yum! My apartment just bought a microwave for $10 and it’s kind of a weakling…but I’m going to try one of these soon!

    Reply
  10. Those look so delicious yet so simple! 🙂 I can’t wait to give them a try! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Yay another great recipe that uses basic ingredients! I love it! I don’t have to go get any crazy ingredients from the store for this one… Wil be having this for breakfast soon!

    Reply
  12. For the base do you use any water or milk?

    Reply
  13. Thanks for this!! I made my dfirst one tonight with choco chips and choco surup on top and it was delish!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

