RSS Feed

Extra, Extra!

Posted on

Again…with the weekend, comes some exciting events!  Our boys had a game last Thursday, and the other teams’ coach was none other than the famous, retired NBA player, Darryl Dawkins of the SIXERS!

Of course, I couldn’t miss out on a photo opp 😉

The weekend only got better from here… Before leaving for class at around 8AM, I made myself some breakfast.

(Peanut flour paste – 1/4 C. peanut flour + sugar-free vanilla syrup +water to thin – on top of two slices Pepperidge Farm 14 grain bread and 1 banana)

Class went on until about noon, when I had to be over at the gym for my basketball game at 1PM. 

I knew I’d need some sustenance, so I packed a convenient, individually wrapped energy bar from Granola Gourmet.   It was perfect.  Light, fueling, and yummy.  I also munched on some pineapple at half time for a sugar boost.  D got to see me play basketball for the first time since 9th grade…He came to show some support 🙂  Plus, we had a date after I got home to shower and get cleaned up.

[source]

If you haven’t seen this movie, yet, I recommend you do so.  Ashton Kutcher is, in my opinion, one of the most charming actors and Emma Watson is adorable.  No Strings Attached was playing early evening and our reservations weren’t until 8:30PM, because that’s the ONLY time the restaurant had open!  Crazy, right?

We got there a little early and ordered a few drinks.  Rum & diet for me! 

Patrons relax at the bar

At this point, I didn’t want to ruin the atmosphere by whipping out my camera, and just enjoying the night together, so there are no pictures, but I found some makeshift ones online for your viewing pleasure.

For those of you who don’t know, The Melting Pot is a fondue restaurant.  The place was super intimate with a personalized, four-course meal. 

The decor

[source]

These were our choices for the night and the entire meal was amazing.  D had the idea to ask our server to add chunky peanut butter to our chocolate fondue at the end.  I’m telling you, he’s a genius 😉  It was super indulgent, but totally worth it.  The portions keep you in check there, too.  As long as you don’t over-do your dippage amount, it can be fairly healthy! I had an amazing night with D, to put it simply. 

Another fun thing I did this weekend was BOOTCAMP.

I really love what Jessie did with her studio.  She really made it her own with the paint choices, the decor, and the whole feel of the place.  I never would’ve imagined it as an empty, leaky basement before.

Here are all the torture devices 🙂

We ended up doing the entire workout with 10 pound weights on our ankles which made everything a little bit harder.

I love how Jessie pushes us!  Momma FF and I go together and sometimes she gets a little frustrated with my enthusiasm.  Haha.  I’ve heard a few too many “SHUT UPs” during our workouts together…even if it’s just encouraging…She can’t help it though…she just isn’t a morning person.

Sunday we spent the day with D’s family.  It was perfectly relaxing.  His sweet Mother made us dinner and then we had dessert and watched a movie all together.  ❤

There you have it!  Basketball.  Retired NBA players. Fantastic dates. Family time.  Oh yeah, there was a lil’ bitta this, too.

I’m a satisfied girl right now.  God has truly blessed me 🙂

XO.

SHARE SOME WEEKEND STORIES WITH ME!

12 responses »

  1. wow awesome about the nba player!! and i loveeee fondue!! :D.. 10lb weights? YIKES

    Reply
  2. How fun to have an ex pro as a professional bball coach! I bet those boys are so stoked 🙂 glad you had fun with your man! We have a melting pot near us that I have always wanted to try. Maybe one day! No fun stories this weekend, except I got to play 2 soccer games in the rain!!

    Reply
  3. You met an NBA?!?! Lucky Duck. 🙂

    Reply
  4. So cool you got to meet Dawkins and get your pic taken! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Woah! I’ve never thought about combining my peanut flour with vanilla syrup! That’s such a good idea! (I love using peanut flour in place of peanut butter!)

    Reply
  6. Dang, that guy is huge!! 🙂

    I’ve heard that the Melting Pot is awesome, but I’ve never been!

    Reply
  7. Natalie Portman stars with Ashton. You said Emma Waton!

    Reply
  8. Who did you go on your Date with? is D your main man?

    Reply
  9. Your melting pot meal looks so good – That place is awesome 🙂

    I love your blog – it is so cute! I can’t wait to keep reading… I just started blogging about 2 months ago – it is extremely addicting 🙂 Take a look at it if you get a chance: http://www.oatsandspice.wordpress.com

    Reply
  10. DiningAndDishing

    Sounds like an exciting weekend in more ways than one!! I tried to go see No Strings this Sunday but we got the times wrong – boo! Glad to hear you enjoyed it though – I’ll have to go back!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  11. HOW COOL! So glad you didn’t miss the photo op.

    I’ve heard that movie is good, too! I was surprised because it looks like just another romantic comedy, but I guess not.

    Reply
  12. Girl, I am soooo glad to hear that you had a great weekend! Can we skype soon so I can get an the inside scoop? (Oh, and your mention of pineapple ignited a HUGE craving.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

