RSS Feed

Rubber-Band Faith.

Posted on

Absolutely LOVED the analogy in the devotional this morning…how true, right?!

Breakfast was a repeat.  I can’t seem to crave anything in the morning other than Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter Banana Oats anymore.  That’s quite a mouthful, huh?

  • 1/3 C. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 C. peanut flour
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 pack of raisins

Kid you not, I could eat this everyday, all day 🙂 

I realized when I got to work that I felt totally achy and beat up.  I’m not sure if it was because of the game the night before or what, but my neck, back, and shoulders were killing me.  I got a dead-leg in the game, and every time I took a step on my walk to my building, I felt a throbbing pain…I know, I know…stop being a baby, Sami 🙂

I dined at my desk for lunch, and incorporated some supplies that I picked up at the grocery store before my game yesterday.

(2 slices 10 grain Arnold bread with 1 Quorn chicken cutlet, steamed kale, and 1 tbsp. Light Zesty Italian dressing with a tub of veggies on the side including snap peas and cherry tomatoes)

I think I may be getting a cold or have some type of viral thing, because not only am I freezing and achy, the soreness in my neck also hurts where my glands are, making it hard to swallow.

I decided that my best bet was to pump up my Vitamin C intake like it’s my job!

Or maybe I just used that as an excuse to snack like a maniac at my desk throughout the day 🙂  What can I say?! I wanted to be properly fueled for my game!  Hehe.

Somewhere in between, I ate this amazing bowl of deconstructed CHERRY CHEESECAKE made healthy – aka, Cabot Low-fat Plain Greek yogurt mixed with sugar-free vanilla Torani syrup and then topped with sugar-free cherry pie filling and fiber one crunchy cereal.

Do yourself a favor and go try this immediately.

The game was a non-conference one, so it wouldn’t affect our top seed position if we lost.  That didn’t change the fact that we wanted to kick some butt! The first half was a bit rough…I think we were worn down from the game the night before because we laid it all on the line.   We managed to pull off a WIN, though!  The final score was 79-59.

After my game, I had Nutrition class! I’m so lucky to have an understanding professor who allowed me to go to my game and come to class a little late.

 We talked about carbohydrate makeup, digestion, fat soluble and water soluble nutrients, and food allergies. 

  1. glucose + glucose = maltose
  2. glucose + fructose = sucrose
  3. galactose + glucose = lactose

Eat food –> Digest to food to nutrients in the GI tract –>Absorb into circulation –> Deliver nutrients to cells

On our break during class, I ate dinner.

1 bag broccoli slaw steamed and topped with 3/4 C. light Ragu & 2 tbsp. Cedar’s garlic lovers hummus blended in

Deep chocolate Vitatop

Plus, I had needed some protein, so I supplemented with an EAS Carb Control drink for just 110 calories and 17g protein.

When I got home, dessert consisted a few chunks of my fave chocolate bar.

I packed up all my stuff for the next day and hit the bed early.  Tonight will be the last time I see D for awhile…his flight leaves tomorrow morning at 8am…Please keep him in your prayers!  I’d love to see him off at the airport, but I don’t want to intrude on family time, so I think I’ll say my goodbye tonight…:-/

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Question: What is something you recommend for the blog?  What would you like to see more of?

XO.

9 responses »

  1. That devotion today is INCREDIBLE thank you so much for sharing! Its so so true that our faith is useless until stretched and tested. We get too comfortable. When we are stretched is when we truly reach for Christ!

    Reply
  2. How was the Carb control shake? We have them at work, but I have been afraid to try them. =P I like the Myoplex Lite by EAS.

    Reply
  3. Wow, what a great analogy! Love that!

    I love hearing personal stories so as much as you want to share about your personal life is good! 🙂

    Reply
  4. ahh love all your eats! and im so jeal of your nutrition class!!! GAH!! i would love to see a post on your take on carbs, fats, and calories!

    Reply
  5. Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter Banana Oats sounds AMAZING!!!! 😉

    I’d love to see what you think of ingredient lists (what you like to see on them, ingredients you don’t like, how long of one you like, etc). 🙂

    Reply
  6. did you add milk/water to the oats too? i can’t enough of peanut flour..soooo good!!

    Reply
  7. Those Vitatops are my favorite thing ever. Ever.

    Reply
  8. DiningAndDishing

    Enjoy your last night with D!! Wishing him very safe travels :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

