RSS Feed

A Man In Uniform.

Posted on

I had been dreading the day that D would be gone again since the first day he was home on leave.  I know he was really excited about it, so I did my best to be happy for him instead of being selfish. 

(1/3 C. oats + cinnamon + 1 egg white + 1 tsp. peanut flour, sugar-free vanilla Torani, & fat free cream cheese)

I had to work all day, and wouldn’t see him until after practice.  I wanted him to be able to get some good rest before the big day, so we decided that I would only stay for a few hours. 

(1 handful frozen spinach, 1 scant scoop vanilla whey protein, 1/2 C. frozen pineapple, 1/2 packet of Superior Oranges)

Work kept me busy and my mind off of the fact that soon I wouldn’t be able to talk to D on a whim.  He won’t have his phone over there, but he will have computer access which means lots of Skype dates in our future.

(1 end piece of Arnold 10 grain bread + sugar free apricot jam & 1 sonoma jack’s light pepperjack cheese wedge)

(Steamed kale, 1/4 avocado, cherry tomatoes, and sliced orange pepper with peach balsamic glaze for dressing)

(3/4 C. low-fat Cabot plain greek yogurt + sugar-free vanilla Torani & cinnamon)

Truthfully, this was the first time in a long time that I just didn’t feel like eating…My glands have been swollen and I’ve had a sore throat for the past two days.  I’m achy all over and tired, so don’t think I’m just being dramatic about D leaving 😉

(1/4 C. peanut flour, 1 tbsp. unsweet cocoa powder, & sugar-free vanilla Torani mixed together for some dreamy chocolate peanut butter along with baby carrots for scooping)

As you can see, I did stomach quite a bit of food, it was just on and off throughout the day…Besides, when you’re sick with a temperature, your body is fighting off infections and viruses, so it is expending more calories.  I made it appoint to fuel properly so that I feel better faster!

(Deep chocolate Vitatop)

Practice was only an hour and 1/2 long because there was a playoff game for the 4th seed in our conference.  We had to be out of the gym by 6PM, which was perfect for me because it meant that I would get to see D sooner and for a longer period of time (sorry, no picture of the HR monitor, but I did burn 400 calories).  I showered at the gym and hit the road.

(1 bag broccoli slaw, 4 meatless Quorn meatballs, 1/2 C. light Ragu + 2 tbsp. Cedar’s garlic lovers hummus)

Eating dinner while driving probably wasn’t a great idea, but I managed.  My time there felt like a whirlwind.  It was here and gone before I knew it.  I did get to stay until about 12AM – unlike I planned – but it didn’t feel like enough time even then.

These two handsome guys got dressed up to take some pictures together before the big day arrived.  I totally lit up when I saw D in his uniform for the first time.  How can you not? I mean, look at him.

He and his father are a lot alike.  I could tell they were both swelling with pride, which I found completely adorable.  They should be proud.  They are amazing guys.

Of course, after a family photoshoot, I got an opportunity for some pictures with my Army guy as well.

I’m pretty sure the ones that his Father took came out a lot better than the ones on my phone, so as soon as I get them, I will post! 

I did pretty well when the goodbye part came… I didn’t even let him see me cry, which I was pretty proud of.  I saved the tears for the drive home.

My belly was growling when I got home (yes, at about 12:30AM)…not sure exactly why, I basically ate all day…but I obliged in the best comfort a girl could as for…

Please pray for a safe trip to Germany for D.  I would really appreciate that!

I know he will be safe in God’s hands 🙂

XO.

 

13 responses »

  1. he is so so handsome! you are soso lucky and he will do great!!! all of your eats look fantastic too!

    Reply
  2. Let me just say, theres something about a man in uniform that steals my heart. If I werent such a selfish person, I would let Ninja go into the service. Now that we are married though, I refuse to let him go. Unless God calls us there, but right now, I just cant let him do it. You are a brave woman 🙂
    P.S. I think those hats are the cutest thing ever!

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh I’m literally eating arctic zero right now! I always get chocolate though 🙂

    You guys look so cute together!

    Reply
  4. praying for you, sweet girl! I’m glad to know you have placed it in God’s hand cause thats all we are capable of doing 🙂 Hope you get to feeling a little better and that many skype dates happen over the next stretch of time before seeing him again 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hey foodie, praying for a safe trip to and home again. He is a cutie. enjoy reading your posts. some of those things look good.,maybe will have to try some of them.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Aunt Joyce! 🙂 I really appreciate that…I think it’s his brown eyes and dimples that do me in 😉 Haha. I’m glad you’re finding the food interesting enough to possibly try! It’s even BETTER than it looks 😉 xo. love you! thanks for commenting again! It makes me smile when I hear from you!

      Reply
  6. He looks so magnificent in his uniform! 🙂

    I’m sorry that you’re not feeling well. Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
  7. I’ve never heard of Cabot yogurt what ethnic type of yogurt is this?!

    Reply
  8. Always praying for him. Hang in there girl. Your man will be back in your arms in no time. 😉

    Reply
  9. I”ll be thinking good thoughts for the both of you!
    You two are so, so cute together. 🙂

    I love your blog, I don’t remember if I’ve introduced myself before…

    I’m also jealous of your arctic zero, I’ve always wanted to try it!

    Reply
  10. He is in my prayers, as are you! I can definitely relate as someone I loved very much left for Iraq. You are amazing! FEEL BETTER OK!! Sorry for not commenting as much- I’ve been sick too- but you’re always in my thoughts and daily prayers! Promise!!!!
    XOXOXO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

