RSS Feed

First Day Alone.

Posted on


Pretty soon, you’re going to be tired of seeing the same old combination for breakfast.  I’ll apologize ahead of time, because I just can’t foresee anything looking more appealing to me in the morning than this combination.

(1/3 C. oats, 1 mashed banana, sugar-free vanilla Torani, cinnamon, pinch of salt, and 1/4 C. peanut flour)

The thing is, I learned something.  You MUST add a hint of salt to the peanut butter mix.  It takes things to a whole new level, which makes sense, since the best peanut butters I’ve ever tasted have a little added salt.  I used my Nutrasalt, which was the perfect addition.

I ate 1/2 of the mix at home and saved 1/2 for when I got to work…kind of glad I did since the lighting is so much better 🙂

I got a text from D with a timestamp of 7:43AM:

“Hey gorgeous, I’m at the airport, all settled in to wait.  I’ll text when I get to my connection. 🙂  Thanks for coming over last night”

It’s amazing what kind of comfort a text message can provide.  A little while later, around 10:30, I got a message from him again letting me know he made it to Charlotte.

4 meatless Quorn meatballs, 1 tbsp. Cedar’s garlic lovers hummus, & light ragu.  The huge side salad had a base of steamed kale, sliced yellow peppers, snap peas, and cherry tomatoes and peach balsamic glaze for dressing

Digging into lunch around 12PM was the only thing keeping me sane.  While in Germany, D won’t be able to use his phone, so communication will be limited.  He will, however have his computer.  I’m hoping for a Skype date this weekend…I’d like to see him on Valentine’s Day, but I don’t know how that will work, if at all, since the time difference is six hours.

1 slice Arnold 10 grain bread + 1 sonoma jack’s light pepperjack cheese wedge & sugar free apricot jam

Work dragged on as usual, and by the time 4PM rolled around, I was more than ready to get my butt in gear to hit the gym. 

Exercise is such a release for me, so I was really looking forward to meeting up with a girl on my team in the fitness center before practice at 5PM.

Dethawed, frozen pineapple pre-gym was necessary for a little natural sugar boost.  I also picked up some cherries walking back to my car from work since I go right past the farmers’ market.

Just as I finished up my 20 minute quickie on the Cross Ramp, my phone lit up…not that I was staring at it the entire time…:)  At 4:45PM, I got a text that read:

“Hey baby, I’m gonna get on the plane to Germany in a minute.  I’ll talk to you as soon as I can, honey.  I miss you already! Good luck this week with your games!”

My heart totally melted and I felt a sense of total peace after I said a prayer asking God to keep him safe.  He just has a way with me… I don’t know how else to describe it.

By the time practice was over, I’m pretty sure I had the whole team saying a prayer for his trip 🙂  Oh yeah, and I had burned 870 calories.  As soon as I got home, I was craving something cool and refreshing.

(1 handful frozen spinach, 2/3 C. almond breeze, 3/4 C. canned pumpkin, sugar-free vanilla Torani, 1 scoop vanilla whey)

You see, dinners for me consist of a mish-mosh of different cravings.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  While my veggies were roasting in the oven, I nuked a little cheesecake oat muffin.

(1/3 C. oats, 1 tbsp. fat-free cream cheese +1 tsp. peanut flour+sugar-free vanilla Torani)

I actually ate a spoonful of fat-free chocolate fro-yo with this and it was like chocolate cheesecake!  It held me over quite nicely until the rest of my meal was ready to eat!  One thing I realized, is that I can really make a mess in the kitchen.  I re-use as many dishes as I can while I’m preparing things, but I ended up with a lot of clean-up!

Totally worth it, though, am I right?!

2 Parsnips, green beans, baby bella mushrooms, sliced zucchini, and broccoli with a little dipping trio on the side of light ragu, Cedar’s cucumber & garlic Tzatziki, and Cedar’s garlic lovers hummus

A good old veggie roast was just what the doctor ordered to replenish my body …in fact, a food baby was born.

Don’t worry, though, there’s still room for dessert…especially on my first night alone :-/  Chocolate was definitely in order.

Now that I was aware of how vital salt is in my peanut butter creations with peanut flour, I couldn’t wait to try out some more.  It makes a WORLD of difference, I’m telling you.

I made little peanut butter/chocolate sammies, which were divinee ❤  Check out the little flax seeds in the chocolate!  Outstanding.  Newtree Belgian Biscuit chocolate + Peanut flour paste (made the same way as in my breakfast bowl) is my favorite dessert.  It even overrides Arctic Zero ice cream.

I think my first night on my own wasn’t too bad.  I was happy with the way we left things.  We had an awesome night together before he left.  I completely adore his family and cannot wait to visit them again…oh yeah…and to visit him!  Only a couple of months and I’ll be on a plane to Denmark!

Thanks so much for all of your supportive comments and prayers for D.  I appreciate them more than you can imagine!  Blog friends are best friends, and I love each and every one of you 🙂

XOXO.

11 responses »

  1. 😦 this post makes me kind of sad. Is it weird that my heart ached for you a bit each time you shared those texts? I go to my daddys a lot, so I spend almost a week without Ninja. I wait by the phone like you, and it makes my day when I hear from him. Obviously, not as drastic as your situation, but I still know what you mean girl. Hang in there 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m sorry, dear! I didn’t mean to put a damper on your day! I know what you mean…that’s exactly how I felt. Like I said, I’m actually doing fairly well…I know it will be harder the longer it goes that I can’t see him, but I’m totally optomistic about the situation. I think we’ve got what it takes 😉 xo.

      Reply
  2. that is such a sweet text!! and WOW great workout!!!!!!! LOVE your pb sammies 😀

    Reply
  3. It is funny how salt can take something from bleh to AWESOME. (The first time I Tried almond butter it was unsalted and I thought it was gross. Turns out it just needed some salt! haha)

    As Averie would say, it’s not a food rut, it’s a food grove 😉 And when you have something good going, why change it??

    Reply
  4. Ooh, the oat muffin sure looks good and so does dinner, yum!

    Hey, what’s that link to where you order your peanut flour? I think I’m going to buy some! I know you posted it once for someone else, I can’t find it though! Thanks!

    Reply
  5. You’re headed to Denmark?? How perfect! I so hope you get your Valentine’s date, girl!

    Reply
  6. Girl, your eats are always SO amazing! Are all of these recipes on your recipe page?

    Reply
  7. hello! great workout sweetie! i sooo wish we could get PB flour over here!

    Reply
  8. All of your eats loook great for the day! Im glad you got such a sweet text from your man!

    Reply
  9. You’ll be all right! Time will fly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

