RSS Feed

I’m Alive :)

Posted on

It’s been awhile, huh?  Sorry for the brief hiatus.  I have been working on make-up stuff for school and playing catch up for all the things I had missed due to away games for basketball and our Championship travels.

This little article was brought to my attention by a guy at the gym who asked if I had seen my quote yet.  Haha.  I remembered talking to another reporter at some point, but forgot it was for the school’s paper.

The weekend was filled with some of my favorite things…In no particular order of chronology, here are some highlights:

I got to watch my little sis show off her skills on the basketball court.  She’s got game!  I wish I had more time to spend with her working on things and playing together.

I think she’s got a good shot at playing in college as well, if she chooses.  She developed much quicker than most of the kids her age.

Along with athletic events, school work came into play during my leisure time.We had to do expository demonstrations in our Speech Communications class on Saturday morning…I missed two classes already, so I clearly felt behind.

  I was the FIRST person to go, on top of all of that.  I chose to do mine on Yoga positions, with the creative title, “Strike A Pose“.   I began my demonstration on the floor, but was quickly asked to move to the table top so that everyone could see.  I was more nervous about falling off of the table than I was about giving the speech!

Some other topics of choice included “Baby Changing 101“, “How To Fashion a Paddle“, and “How To Avoid A Heart Attack“.  Overall, I was pretty happy with the way things went and I received positive feedback from my professor along with my peers.

You can bet that I had some awesome meals this weekend…a few of the classics, that I can’t seem to get enough of are roasted vegetables,

Squash, broccoli, parsnips, yellow pepper, baby bellas, and cauliflower with reduced sugar ketchup and Cedar’s Cucumber Garlic Tzatziki for dipping.

Spaghetti…squash style 🙂

Salted and peppered, topped with cooked spinach and canned mushrooms, swimming in an ocean of Light Ragu

Colorful salads

Romaine shreds, cherry tomato halves, cucumber, canned beets, orange diced peppers, and Raspberry Balsamic Glazee

And then there were some NEW things that I got to try!

Dr. Praeger’s  Sweet Potato Pancakes

I thought the ingredients list was pretty impressive, as were the nutrition stats.  Plus, anything sweet potato, short of being deep fried, is okay in my book 😉

 

I figured they would be convenient and perfect for quickly packed lunches, but I couldn’t resist trying them out the day I got them.

They’re yummyyy, that’s for sure.  A little on the pricey side, but it’s not something I buy on a daily basis, so I’m okay with a splurge now and then.  I just popped mine in the microwave and nuked them for about 2 minutes!  They would probably have been better baked though, as the edges would’ve gotten crispy!

There were presents received this weekend, too!

Kopali Organics sent me some of their dried mango and chocolate covered dried banana to try out along with this cute green, organic tank.

Sure, the tank was adorable…soft and completely comfortable, but the product was AWESOME. 

I love mango, but it’s hard to get ripe.  I couldn’t believe there was no added sugar to this perfect snack!

Oh yes, and there was another present that I received in the mail…but I’m going to hold you all in suspense and just show you a sneak preview photo rather than get into the details for now.  There will be a review coming soon, but trust me, you don’t want to get me started on these babies, or this post will be a mile long.

See what I mean?  Glorious 🙂

 Of course, along with food comes fitness!  I enjoyed quite a bit this weekend.  There was a workout everyday.  Don’t sweat sessions just make everything better?   Maybe it’s just me, but I thoroughly enjoy a good workout.

Each session starts with Shaun T and Insane Abs…because, well, he’s the best eye candy ever…oh, and he does a job on my abs that I’m sure I’ll be thankful for, come beach weather!

As you can see, I like to stay entertained while I ellipticize by watching episodes that I miss throughout the week of things like One Tree Hill, The Biggest Loser, and Extreme Makeover Home Edition.

Before I know it, I’m down about 2 hours and 600 calories.  Nothing beats a basketball practice as far as calorie burn, but these workouts are nice and leisurely.

You know…they keep me sane.

To top off the weekend, I saw a new flick in theatres with my surrogate.  I love hanging out with her! 

[source]

Personally, I don’t think it’s possible to make a bad movie when you’ve got Jen Aniston and Adam Sandler on the cast.  It was pretty cute…predictable, but cute.

So.  Tell me, what have I missed?!  What’s new and exciting in your lives?

XO.

11 responses »

  1. I absolutely adore roasted vegetables too!! I haven’t tried roasting mushrooms though. I know what I’m having for my snack! 😉

    Congrats on your quote in your school newspaper! How exciting! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
  2. Haha, I feel the need to explain that I’m alive too! SO many of my friends’ birthdays are in the month of February (and most of my class turns 21 this year), and it’s starting to take a toll on me!

    Reply
  3. Look at you being quoted in the newspaper! So proud of you, chica! 🙂

    Cute tank top!

    Just Go With It looks so cute!

    Reply
  4. hey girl! I just stumbled over here. I love it. 🙂

    I am SO into those mangos! did you know trader joes has an awesome version that looks just like that? they’re called “just mangos.”

    Reply
  5. dang you have been up to so much! i LOVE DRIED MANGO- for real.. its natures candy.. besides dates 😀 i been missing your posts!

    Reply
  6. You’ve been so busy, but look at your 15 minutes of fame!!!

    Reply
  7. So glad you had a great weekend filled with fabulous food, wonderful surprises and lots of time spent with loved ones. Those are truly the best weekends!

    Reply
  8. nice article.. leading the pack, huh!? bet you’re fun to watch at the games!!

    i love jen and adam…been dying to see the movie but prob will just wait until it comes out. i tried the dr prager spinach ones and they were so bland, i hope the sweet potato ones are better

    Reply
  9. I’m going to have to look for those sweet potato pancakes at whole foods how were they?

    Reply
  10. DiningAndDishing

    Can’t beat a weekend filled with good food and some good work outs. Welcome back lady! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  11. 1) I remember playing Dauphin basketball… ahhh, the good old days when I didn’t know how uncoordinated I was 🙂

    2) Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Burgers are bangin’… if you haven’t tried them yet, do so!

    3) I looooove you. A lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

