RSS Feed

Operation Florida, Underway.

Posted on

Boot camp was AWESOME today.  We “played a game” that involved drawing popsicle sticks from a baggie.  Each stick was coded with a different colored marker, and each color stood for a different exercise.  There were different circuits so that people couldn’t cheat and we continuously changed them up.  Some of the moves were burpees, weighted frog hops, planks, clam shells, weighted moon flowers, push ups, jumping jacks, etc.

 326 calories, max hr. 162

The fun thing was, after each “task”, we had to run upstairs to get to the bag of popsicle sticks again and then back down the other side where the spiral staircase was – Have I ever mentioned that bootcamp is held in the basement of a spa?  The first floor is gorgeous!  I LOVE the decor.

Straight from boot camp, we had to pick up some doughnuts that we sold as a fundraiser for our trip to the Women of Faith Conference that we attend every year.

Momma FF and her friend, Bonnie sat down for breakfast together and took advantage of the fact that we had freshly baked goods in our house. 

^She’s going to kill me for this!

Doughnuts were their choice, but personally, I think mine was more indulgent 😉 

Oat bran bake with peanut butter-banana frosting & cinnamon sprinkled ontop!

1/3 C. oat bran, 1 egg white, Splenda, pinch of baking powder, 1/8 C. peanut flour; icing- 1/8 C. peanut flour mashed with 1/2 banana

Holy awesomeness. All I had to do was pop this baby in the microwave for about 2 minutes in a mug, wait for the timer to ding, and plate then icing it!  Beats a doughnut ANYday.

The walk to work was a snowy one.  I’m SO sick of wearing boots!  I want to start sporting flip flops and pedicured toes! Each time it starts getting nice outside, out of no where, a blizzard surfaces.  It’s such a tease!

During my lunch break, I watched the Governor’s budget address

I’m not going to get into politics on the blog.  Let’s just say that I found his speech…interesting.

I had a flat out + flax stuffed with canned wild caught, pink salmon and mustard with baby spinach and pineapple salsa.

Innards 🙂

On the side, there was a Christmas-colored veggie party.

See?  Christmasy.

Snap peas & red pepper slices.

Another exciting transaction took place while I was at work.  I had been planning on visiting Denmark, where my friend Lyndsie was studying abroad, but plans fell through because the only times I could go, she was touring another country.  The downside?  I won’t get to see D…or Europe.  The upside?  I’ll have vacation time to take and can join my family on their trip to Florida next week. 

They’re driving down on Friday, but I have to be around for my Speech class on Saturday, so I will be flying down by myself from Baltimore on Saturday night.  I love flying!

What’s your take on flying?  Does it freak you out?  What’s the longest flight you’ve ever taken?

XO.

5 responses »

  1. Soooo not a flier!! I avoid it at all costs. I’d rather drive the 6 hrs to my daddys house than take a 45min flight!! Haha I just hate planes!!

    Reply
  2. ooo florida will be fun!! that workout sounds KILLER!! and id take your oat bran cake over a donut too!

    Reply
  3. I’ll hopefully be visiting Denmark in the future! My mom’s side of the family is Danish, and I have some third cousins there. My roomate also just happened to study abroad there, so we have lots of Danish decor in our room 🙂

    And I don’t even know what half those exercises are, but they do sound pretty!

    Reply
  4. Your Oatcakes are SO much better than any doughnut! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
  5. Ahhh, I miss you and still wish you could visit 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

