RSS Feed

Visual Appeal.

Posted on

Waking up at 5am may sound crazy to some of you.  Especially, just to make it to a workout session.  I however, look forward to it…most days, anyway.

I’m going to go ahead and be brave to show you the effects of a good workout.  The first one was literally taken 5 minutes after waking up.  I just brush my teeth, put my contacts in, and go! 

Before boot camp:

After boot camp:

Invigorating,  I’m telling you!  Starts my day out right.

So, I just realized that the actual class that my Momma & I go to at 5am every morning is actually called “booty camp“.  I think I like boot camp better, though, so I may just keep referring to it as so.

This session started out fairly simple – there wasn’t much cardio involved – but it evolved into a series of ab ripping holds that were tearing me up.  The ladies in the class were all grunting and yelling about how much it hurt, but I still can’t get myself to the point where I’m comfortable verbalizing my agony.  Haha.  I prefer to just keep breathing deeply and staying calm.  Jessie, if you’re reading this, my triceps are SO sore…good job 🙂

A quicky shower and clean up later, I was breakfast ready. 

OREO oatcake 1/3 C. oat bran, 1 Splenda packet, 1 egg white, baking powder, 1 tbsp. cocoa powder, with Fage 0% yogurt icing mixed with another Splenda

I’m going to make a conscious effort to make my meals more visually appealing 🙂 Someone very insightful brought it to my attention that some of my meals just look downright disgusting!  And he was right.  Haha.  I don’t want to discourage people about trying new things just because they see them on my blog and thing “ewww“.

Lunch, for example was kind of artsy.

Part one was a hefty salad with shredded romaine, broccoli, beets, and snap peas.

What better to go with salad than soup?  Especially on a rainy, dreary day like yesterday.  Dr. McDougall has saved me time packing lunch for awhile now 😉

Welp, there goes the visually appealing goal… Ha.

It looks pretty together, though, no?

I had fun dressing up my salad with the Raspberry Balsamic Glaze.  It was like painting on a canvas 🙂

 We’re going a little bit out of order today, since I usually share my devotional first, but I didn’t get to read it until my lunch break today, so I figured I would do things in a chronological manner

How TRUE.  Sometimes I forget how BIG our God really is.  He can do ANYTHING.  I mean, the creator of the Universe can certainly use us in any way He wants to reach others.  I just have to remember to keep myself open to the idea and constantly be looking for opportunities that He presents.  Don’t EVER think that that you are too insignificant for God to use

I love these little mini Larabars for afternoon snacks.  They are the perfect size to satisfy a sweet tooth and give your body a little healthy fat from the nuts, plus an energy boost from the natural sugar in the dates that the bar is based on.

DC white slip-ons

When I got home from work, I had a few presents waiting for me!  Okay…not presents…Ebay purchases.  But they seem like presents when the UPS man delivers them!  🙂

Report sandals

Okay, okay, I know I really need to stop this online shopping thing, but I never get out and about anymore to do any REAL shopping.  Plus, I got both of these pair together for like $25.

Do you enjoy online shopping?  What’s your favorite place to shop?

Do you prefer morning workouts or evening?

XO.

8 responses »

  1. I seriously can’t wait to start morning workouts!!! Were moving so my workout stuff will be in the garage now and ill be able to workout in the morning without waking my hubby. So totally excited!!

    Reply
  2. DiningAndDishing

    I know what you mean about making food look good! I am totally obsessed with pretty food pics for my blog. I think your lunch salad totally nailed it! Gorgeous :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  3. i love online shopping!! your boot camp sounds like so much fun too! and OH DO NOT WORRY! my food always looks NASTY!

    Reply
  4. Love those sandals! They are right up my alley! Many times the Husband looks at me when I’m eating something and is like “really? That looks disgusting.” and my reply is always “well it’s a good thing I get to eat it then.” 🙂

    Reply
  5. working out early is so awesome because you’re pretty much done with your workout before you can even think about not working out!

    Reply
  6. 5 AM is not crazy. I wake up everyday at 4. Start my run by at least 5:30. I’d say waking up at 3 and running by 4:30 would be slightly crazy…but I’m sure I’d get used to that too xP

    Reply
  7. I like working out in the morning — it’s starts my day off right! 😀 Though today I worked out this evening. 😀

    Your Oreo Oatcake sounds DELICIOUS!! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
  8. ooh morning workouts for the win!! my body naturally wakes me up around 530 am so what better to do than work out? haha
    I love online shopping but I never buy anything. so maybe it’s windowshopping online haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

