RSS Feed

The Sunshine State: Part III

Posted on

So, day two in Florida was much more laid back and relaxed than the prior.  We slept in, which for me, was staying in bed until 9AM, and then woke up and moseyed around the house after eating breakfast.  I, of course, had to take advantage of the fact that the weather was ideal for running outside.

I stopped at a gas station to use the restroom and get a quick drink of water. *Note to self, do not drink 2 cups of coffee PRE-run, your bladder will probably hate you.

It had been a longgg time since I went for a 10 mile run outside and I think the hills did me in.  It wasn’t bad WHILE I was going at it, but afterward I just felt totally beat.  The hot tub felt amazing on my tired legs.

 I ate some greek yogurt when I got back to restore the proteins that my muscles burnt up and then Momma FF and I did an ab workout by the pool using a video that I looked up on youtube.  A brief swim later, and it was lunch time!

Spinach salad, broccoli, beets, fat-free cottage cheese, and hummus whole grain toast. 

I drizzled it with peach balsamic glaze that I brought along in a travel size shampoo container 😀  Resourceful, right?  Oh yeah, and this hummus rocked.  I never had Athenos before!

My sister’s softball team had a double-header late in the afternoon, so we all got showers, packed up and went to watch that.

After the game, which they won, we were allowed to take my sister out to dinner.  It was nice, because until that point, she had been in a house with her teammates.  We didn’t get to see much of her except at the games.  I may or may not have made a secret trip there on my run just to say “hi” 🙂

The restaurant of choice? Crabby Joe’s.

It was an all-u-can-eat joint, which I tend to stray from, because I usually don’t get my money’s worth, but when you’re dealing with seafood, one plate could cost as much as a meal somewhere else, anyway.

We ended up with a really sweet waitress who kept us entertained the entire time.  She got a kick out of our family’s goofy demeanor.

Yes, I’m the nerd who took a picture of the crab shaped napkin-holder sitting on the table. 

Both of my plates from the buffet looked pretty much the same, and for my phone’s battery sake, I only took one picture.

I had a huge plate of salad with lettuce, tomato, onion, and cabbage, discarding any black olives I found in the pre-made mix (ew!).  As for the seafood, there were crab legs, steamed shrimp, and a few mussels (which I wasn’t a fan of).  The only seafood I really got more of were the crab legs.

After dinner, we stopped by Wal-Mart for some necessities to last us the rest of the week and items to pack for lunches the next day.

The littlest sister and I tried on some glasses.  🙂  What do you thinK? Can we pull them off?

Part four coming up next!

XO.

6 responses »

  1. Looks like so much fun!! Super impressed that you hit the pavement for 10 miles. Your a beast girl 🙂

    Reply
  2. Haha girl, you can totally pull off those glasses! Love it! 🙂 Have fun in sunny Florida!

    Reply
  3. your sis is so cute!! ahd WOW awesome run!!! love that salad!

    Reply
  4. Athenos is the only store-bought hummus I can manage now. I like my own best now. I’m glad you got some seafood when you are here.
    Gotta love Florida, huh?

    Reply
  5. I love Athenos hummus! Roasted red pepper flavor…yum. I’m amazed you can run ten miles; I can’t even manage one 😛

    Reply
  6. squigglefloey

    Hhaha YES you can pull off the hipster-glasses look 🙂 So cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

